My Tonner Lady

Because I am officially an idiot, I have added another doll to my collection.

Okay, let me rephrase and explain that.

On Saturday, I made an order I should not have from PullipStyle, taking advantage of their “buy three full size dolls to get a free outfit” deal.  (Admittedly, one of them was downright inexpensive for a full size Pullip, but still…I should not have made that order.  But…but….but…I just HAD to!  (They won’t have Alice du Jardin Mint forever!)  Though I’ll probably still feel a bit gypped if the free outfit isn’t the miko outfit…)

So the last thing I should have done on Monday was buy another expensive doll.  But that’s what I did.

Y’see, one of the Toys R Us stores in my area is closing.  And they’re using the store closing as an opportunity to get rid of some collector merchandise they’ve decided they no longer want to sell.  And by Monday night, those collector dolls were 60% off, and I’d never had a Tonner doll (apart from a Little Mismatched, which is rather different) and I just couldn’t resist this one:

The box calls her "Fierce"...
The box calls her “Fierce”…

What really spoke to me about this one is how 1960s her outfit is (I love the ’60s), and since it’s also pure white, I’ve decided to call her Emma, because she makes me think of the character in X-Men: First Class, even though she was a blonde, and wore considerably more revealing outfits.  (I didn’t say it made sense that she makes me think of the character, just that she does!)

Emma
Emma

When I first found out the Toys R Us was closing–about a month after it started closing its doors (so most of the merchandise had already left 😦 )–I was already tempted by the collector dolls, but they were still only 50% off, and I was still hesitant to buy this lady at that price, even though I knew it was a good deal.  I contemplated another Tonner I knew of in the area:  a store near here has had the Tonner doll of the princess from the Prince of Persia movie for ages, and I’m pretty sure the last time I was able to see her price tag, she’d been reduced to less than what I eventually paid for Emma here.  So I went to have another look at the princess, but…something about her head scale just felt wrong to me, presumably because of the fairly realistic headsculpt of the real person.  I don’t know.  She not only didn’t scream out “buy me,” but actively was screaming “go away!”  Emma here, on the other hand, wanted to go home with me.  It’s as simple as that.

Emma's profile
Emma’s profile

Emma didn’t actually get to come to my house until today, though.  Because I was cat-sitting for my parents.  So all these photos (apart from the shots of her shoes below) were taken at my parents’ house.  (Which is why there’s no clutter of dolls and dollhouses in the background. :p )

At first, I wasn’t sure I wanted to drag my camera (and more dolls 😛 ) to my parents’ house for a photo shoot, but I did try to do some photos of Emma using a free iPad app I’d just downloaded for kicks that lets you insert one of about a half dozen models of Vocaloids into your photos.  (Yeah, I’m into Vocaloid.  This should not surprise anyone who was around during my A-to-Z.)  The lighting wasn’t very good for it, but this one turned out kind of fun anyway:

Emma and Miku pose for the camera
Emma and Miku pose for the camera

(Seems to be Appearance Miku.  I went with Yuki Miku since I named Emma after Emma Frost, of course.)  Anyway, you may notice in that photo some odd little bands around Emma’s ankles.  I have no idea what’s going on with those.  There are these extra straps on her shoes, is all I can call them.  They’re too long to have any function going in front of or behind her feet, but not long enough to loop around both front and back.  After getting her home today, I took a couple of shots of her feet to see if anyone has any insights on the subject of those loops.

Shoes 1
Shoes 1
Shoes 2
Shoes 2

The loops aren’t a problem, as such, but they do look a bit odd.  Any Tonner doll owners out there know what they are or what I’m supposed to do with them?

Anyway, I’ll post the rest of the photos I took at the parents’ place at some point.  I don’t know when, because that PullipStyle order should come tomorrow, and it’s going to take priority, naturally!  (Unfortunately, there also aren’t as many photos as I’d like, because the light wasn’t very good, I forgot to bring my lighting equipment (a.k.a. a powerful lamp), and it was too hot and rainy for outdoor shooting.)  Oh, the rest of the Emma photos (what few more there are) are here.

2 thoughts on “My Tonner Lady

  1. Blackkitty June 18, 2015 / 12:03 am

    This is your doll: http://www.tonnerdoll.com/precarious/fierce I’m eyeing a couple from this series myself, the sculpt is so beautiful! Of course, they are way out of my price range. You can see in the last pic how the shoe strap is crossed in front and goes around the ankle. I once made a pair of shoes with a similar strap design, the key is to cross it first and pull the loop as big as it can go, insert the foot as far as you can and then gently ease the back of the strap and the crossing point onto the foot until everything is in the right place. Tell me how it went!

    Like

    • 39yearslame June 18, 2015 / 8:38 am

      I got them on right now, thanks! 🙂 I know what you mean about price ranges; I’d never have gotten her if she hadn’t been 60% off. (And I still shouldn’t have, but I knew I was never going to see a doll like this for $80 again, you know? Technically a few were even cheaper (James Dean was like $32, but I didn’t want a doll of James Dean) but this was the one I wanted…) The scary thing is that the company seems aware of the fact that their dolls are prohibitively expensive, given that their official page you directed me to had a layaway program offer on it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

