My Wonderful Package!

The order I shouldn’t have made has arrived!  And it is wonderful!  I’ll share the contents in the order in which they came out of the box…

Brand New Purezza
Brand New Purezza

When I took this doll out of the box, my first thought was a panicked one that they had sent me the wrong doll.  The photos I had seen online made me think her hair was lemon yellow, yet it turned out to be creamsicle orange.  Also I didn’t notice–at first–the table and chairs in the box with her, because I didn’t realize how small they folded up.  Once I noticed them, then I realized it really was the right doll, and the hair was just a totally different color than I had thought.  Which wouldn’t have been a problem at all if I hadn’t been planning on turning her into Kagamine Rin. 😦  Now I’m going to have to buy another doll to make into Rin.  I already had my heart set on having a Pullip of Rin’s Meltdown outfit, though, so I am not giving up on that!  (I think I’ll save money by going the Make It Own route, though.  That’ll also prevent further SNAFUs like this one.)

Alice du Jardin
Alice du Jardin

This beauty was the next one out of the box.  And obviously I loved her even more in person than I had in the online pictures!  (Because who wouldn’t?!)  I–along with, it would seem, about half the population of the world–adore Alice in Wonderland, and I also love many of the myriad ways it’s been re-interpreted and re-invented over the years.  (Not all.  I’ll never go that far.  But many.)  At this point, I have five of the Little Pullip Alice in Wonderland-themed dolls (though sadly not Alice herself), but Thursday marked the first arrival of a full-sized Alice-themed Pullip in my collection.  But she didn’t arrive alone…

The coveted miko outfit!
The coveted miko outfit!

But before I get to the third doll in the box, the outfit I got for free turned out to be the miko outfit I had really wanted!  Yay!  I am so going to have to keep giving PullipStyle a ton of my business.  (Like that’s going to be hard to do.  If I was rich and had more space in my house, I could so easily spend several thousand bucks there.  If I was rich and had more space in my house.)

Mad Hatter du Jardin
Mad Hatter du Jardin

I hadn’t been entirely sold on Taeyang’s Mad Hatter du Jardin based on the photos I saw online, to be honest.  So why did I get him?  Well, it’s complicated.  As I started the order, I nearly got Pullip Kore and Taeyang Steampunk Pluto instead of Alice and the Mad Hatter.  But I came to my senses because Kore’s stock is very simple considering her price tag (which is admittedly slightly less than Alice’s) and Pluto’s stock would have been entirely removed to be replaced with a simple black chiton for him to become Hades to match Kore’s Persephone.  Which would have meant I was paying nearly $100 for just the naked doll.  On top of that, I still wanted Alice du Jardin, so I would have had to hope that they didn’t sell out of her in the mean time.  So I realized it made much more sense not to do the Persephone/Hades couple (after all, if I really wanted that pairing, I could do it myself more cheaply with Make It Own kits, right?) and decided right away that Alice du Jardin had to be one of the three in the order.  (If you’re not aware of it, PullipStyle’s having a deal right now that you get a free outfit–a miko outfit, a police outfit, or a waitress outfit–if you get three full size dolls in a single order.)  As I see it, there are three cheapness levels of Pullip dolls:  the cheapest level of under $80, the medium level of between $80 and $100, and the highest (or rather the standard) level of over $100.  Brand New Purezza just barely squeaked into the cheapest level, but Alice was in in the highest level (though not by all that much, really; she was very affordable, I’m just somewhat on the cheap side), so I would have liked to find another cheap doll to round out the order.  But none of the other under $80s really spoke to me.  However, there were a number of Taeyangs in the medium level, including Mad Hatter du Jardin, and since he matched Alice and all…it was honestly a bit of a gamble on my part to order him, but I’m glad to say it paid off, because I love him! 😀  (Oh my god…my fortune cookie came true again…that is so spooky.  Now if only I could get a fortune cookie that would say “A handsome man will fall in love with you!” and have that come true…)

Ahem.  Anyway, I’ve gotten a little off topic here.  I’ll just move on to the unboxed dolls now, shall I?

Sitting at the table...as best she can...
Sitting at the table…as best she can…

One problem with the table and chairs that Brand New Purezza comes with:  her head is so heavy that she falls over backwards if she tries to sit in her chair.  The table can stop her from tilting over, but can only do so reliably if there’s something heavy on it.  (Thus the kokeshi doll on the table, which is surprisingly heavy.)  I was surprised at how baggy her jacket is, like it was made for a larger doll.  But I was also impressed that everything is fastened with snaps and hooks, no velcro.

Curly!
Curly!

They may be the wrong color, but I do love those curls! 😀

Greatest sunglasses ever?
Greatest sunglasses ever?

I love her sunglasses.  I have absolutely no idea what doll to give them to, but I will find a use for them someday!  Because they are wonderful!  Unfortunately…they make me think of Lynda Carter for some reason, but the Wonder Woman Pullip is too expensive now, so I can’t buy her and give her Brand New Purezza’s outfit as her “secret identity” costume.  (Though if I had the money I totally would, because that would be awesome.  Plus that doll is gorgeous.)

Pullip is ready for her close-up
Pullip is ready for her close-up

I really like her eye chips.  They’re not terribly realistic, but they’re quite charming, and a pretty shade of blue.  The way her lips match her hair is nice, too.  (And one of the two reasons I quickly abandoned all thoughts of trying to remove her wig and get her a blonde one to still make her into Rin.)  There’s one problem with her eyes, though:  like Namu, she’s old enough that the eye mechanisms hadn’t yet been developed to the point where her eyes can remain shut when you let go of the control.

But now let’s jump ahead and see her modeling the miko outfit!  (That’s jumping ahead because I photographed the other dolls before I changed her into the miko outfit.)

Pullip the miko
Pullip the miko

She’s not holding the purification wand (sorry; I’ve forgotten the exact term) because I could not for the life of me figure out precisely how to assemble the thing, as the instructions were written in Japanese, and the illustrations weren’t terribly informative.  (Also, I doubt those hands are capable of holding that little stick even if I’d been able to assemble it.)  I may not have put it on quite properly, but I think I got it basically right; it looks pretty good on her, anyway.  Surprisingly good, in fact, as I had expected her hair to clash with the red cloth, but they compliment each other fairly well, actually.

Geta!
Geta!

This is such a delightful touch, even having matching shoes.  Er, sandals.  Slippers?  Footgear.  There.  Footgear definitely covers it.  They don’t really stay on the doll’s feet all that well, though.  Given all the separate packages–and the promotional image that accompanied them–apparently all the different pieces originally had to be ordered separately.  That must have been a bummer.  (And I suspect must have led to the outfits selling well and the shoes and accessories not selling so well.  Particularly the wand and hairclip pack in this case, as the hairclip is hardly necessary for the look, and the wand could be easily made with ordinary paper and a small dowel.)

Speaking of the hairclip...
Speaking of the hairclip…

You would not believe how difficult it was to pull her hair back into that ponytail!  (Okay, maybe you would, but still!)  I think the result was worth the effort, though.  It looks really nice.  The hairclip is really snazzy, but I don’t remember seeing any miko in anime wearing such fancy things in their hair.  Maybe I just wasn’t paying enough attention…?

pilluP
pilluP

I don’t know why, but I thought it was pretty cool that the metal stand reflected the light up onto the skirt of her outfit, meaning that the place where the name “Pullip” was written on the stand was also reflected up.

Wrist problem
Wrist problem

This doll has one serious flaw, though.  An actual flaw, not a misunderstanding like the one about her hair color, I mean.  I don’t know if you can tell by looking at the picture, but her wrist joints are basically fused.  They can’t really be moved at all without risking damage to the doll. 😦

Anyway, final verdict on this doll is that although she’s not what I was expecting, due to the different color of hair, and she can’t be who I wanted her to be, I really am pleased with her, so happy endings are still in order, just not the originally planned happy endings.  She’s a miko instead of a Vocaloid now, so she needs a new identity.  Can anyone think of an anime or video game character who’s a red-haired miko with long, curly hair?  I can’t think of any off-hand.  (But the miko outfit is way better than her original stock, so she’s keeping it.)  If there aren’t any convenient characters, I’ll have to make one up, but that’ll take more effort…

Alice du Jardin Mint
Alice du Jardin Mint

She is officially my current favorite doll.  This is perhaps not surprising. 😛  Who wouldn’t love her?

Those curls!
Those curls!

The official promotional shots naturally show a perfect row of curls all lined up at exactly the same length, but I actually like them better this way, uneven.  I think it has more character this way.

Alice's shoes
Alice’s shoes

Ironically, in looking at her promotional shots, her shoes looked so fantastic that they seemed like a selling point.  Seeing them in person, the shoes seem like her weak point.  (And in fact the rose already fell off one shoe…although that was actually my own fault…but I did re-attach it with some putty, so I hope it’ll stay on…)  But those stockings…she’d better look out for Dororthy’s house if any tornados pop up!

The Pink Rabbit
The Pink Rabbit

I would speculate that Alice followed a Pink Rabbit into this garden, only Isul’s rabbit is wearing a blue furry suit, so presumably she followed a Blue Rabbit…?  I don’t know…it’s almost midnight, so I’m starting to get weird.  Uh, weirder than usual, I mean.  But I don’t want this post to wait yet another day!

The ribbon to end all ribbons?
The ribbon to end all ribbons?

That is one serious ribbon!  I love it! 🙂  Even though I’m not usually into frilly and rosette-covered stuff.  It just all works on Alice for some reason…

Alice
Alice

Her face-up is very delicate, and I really like her eye chips.

Mad Hatter du Jardin
Mad Hatter du Jardin

That corduroy jacket makes him really hard to pose.  It looks great, but it’s very stiff.  As is his hair; stiff and not very pleasant to touch. 😦  But he has all sorts of details!

A dropped ball if ever I saw one.
A dropped ball if ever I saw one.

Okay, yes, the card on his hat is hard to see, because it’s largely obscured by the rose leaf.  I admit that freely.  But still!  That is not what the card on the Mad Hatter’s hat is supposed to say!  It is supposed to say 10/6!  It’s a hat size, not an advertisement!  :<  Um, that said, I do like the cloth in the hat band.

A hat charm
A hat charm

A charm unique to his hat, showing the Gryphon and the Unicorn and I think that’s supposed to be a really tiny version of the coat of arms of the British Royal Family, but it’s hard to tell on account of the tininess.  And the aforementioned tiredness.  Moving on.

The charms on his coat.
The charms on his coat.

Two of these charms on his coat (which I think I meant to show before the one on his hat, since these are also on his hat only larger) probably represent Alice’s heart and the key to same?  But I have no idea about the dice.  I’m not familiar with the Mad Hatter ever being associated with gambling…

Mad Hatter's medal
Mad Hatter’s medal

It looks like an Air Force medal of some sort, doesn’t it?  It’s hard to imagine what a Wonderland Air Force would be like, though.  Juju Bird Riders?  Wait, that’s not right, is it?  Uh…jubjub!  That was it, the Jubjub Bird!  Jubjub Bird Riders, then.  Er, anyway…

Mad Hatter's close-up
Mad Hatter’s close-up

My fading sense of sanity notwithstanding, he’s still a gorgeous doll.  (And fading sanity is appropriate for Wonderland, after all.)  And I’m not sure how well it shows up in the pictures, but his eye chips are slightly different shades; one is more blue and the other is a bit purple.

Anyway, there’s one more doll who seemed to me to have something in common with these two.

A family portrait?
A family portrait?

I don’t like Ever After High, but I do have just this one doll from the line, and although I had re-christened her Madeline Dupres to be the daughter of Blood Dupres from Alice in the Country of Hearts/Clover/Joker/Diamonds, she doesn’t exactly share any physical features with Blood, whereas one of her hair colors is very similar to these two.  So I think I need to re-re-christen her Madeline du Jardin, and make one of my other mad tea party dolls come from the QuinRose Wonderful Wonder World games/mangas instead. (Though I’m not at all sure which one!  I’d say the March Hare, because I based her costume on Elliot March’s, but I used a La Dee Da for the doll, and that’s just totally incompatible with the standard manga head size, you know?  That kind of only leaves Alice herself, though, if I want to match head sizes…)  Um, anyway, getting back to the photo here, I wanted to have Alice sitting in the chair and Madeline sitting on the table between her “parents,” but Alice’s froofy, loli-dress wouldn’t let her sit down very well, and that’s when I broke one of the roses off her shoes by trying to use the table to stabilize her, so I gave up and had her standing instead.

Daddy's little girl...?
Daddy’s little girl…?

Yeah, that picture turned out way creepy.  Sorry.

Anyway, given the weakness of the chairs, it turns out I can’t have Pullips sitting at those chairs full-time like I had hoped when I cleared out the space I used for these photos (the reason that my dollhouse wasn’t in the background of these shots) so I’m going to have to hope I can think of some other use for them…

*wink*
*wink*

No, seriously, I’ve already got a J-Doll sitting at the table. 🙂

Marche Street
Marche Street

She had previously been sitting on a shelf somewhat precariously on top of a few other dolls, so it was a perfect choice, but unfortunately, she turned out to have some cracks in her arm–the same arm that’s up on the table–so as I was trying to pose her the cracks widened and now I need to glue her arm back together before her hand can fall off. 😦  (The same thing happened to Zephyr, my Hestia Isora.  Well, the same cracking problem.  The precise circumstances that precipitated its activation as an issue were different, but…I ran out of big words to finish the sentence with.)

Ooh boy…past my bedtime…I apologize if I’ve left any errors in here, but it’s too late tonight to proofread.  I’ll come back and get ’em tomorrow if there are any major mistakes or other gibbledy bits…


EDIT:  OMG, I forgot how I wanted to end this post!  I wanted to end it by saying how not long after I received this wonderful package and the delightful dolls within, I ended up going out for a while with my brother, and one of the places we went was Best Buy.  (Weirdly, we were there to buy printer paper for our parents.)  I happened to spot a little device, a white rectangle that was about, I dunno, maybe six or seven inches tall and perhaps three or four wide.  Its sole purpose was to sit there with pictures scrolling up its not very wide screen.  And it cost just slightly more than this entire package.  So while I totally should not have spent this much money on these dolls, at least I feel like I didn’t waste the money the way I would have if I’d bought something like that.  At least these dolls are something inherently beautiful, something tangible, and they make me smile just looking at them.  (And I can’t stop looking at them, of course!)

So I’m glad I bought them.

I just have to stop spending money for the next bijillion months.

Oh, I also forgot to provide a link to the rest of the photos!  Man, I was really tired last night!

2 thoughts on “My Wonderful Package!

  1. Olive June 20, 2015 / 10:24 am

    I love the mint color schemes of your pullip Alice and taeyaang! I was actually very tempted to get the pullip and dal that are coming out (…may have come out? I’m not sure) for the steampunk Alice release. Pullip stock clothing are so intricate and pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 39yearslame June 20, 2015 / 5:36 pm

      Yeah, the Steampunk Alice and Mad Hatter dolls coming out (I think later this summer) both look really nice. That’s the trouble with Pullips: too many of them look wonderful! I don’t have the money (or the space) for half the ones I’d love to have!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

