Pyrrha!!

As I was getting ready to go to a movie this afternoon, there was a knock on the door.  I thought it would be the package from Amazon–nothing major–but I was surprised when I had to sign for something, which turned out to be Pyrrha’s hand-made dress, which turned out to come from Thailand.  The other package wasn’t from Amazon, though.

And when I checked the return address, I saw it came from China.  It was Pyrrha herself, here already!  I was so excited I wanted to open her before I was even ready to go to the movie!

Pyrrha!
Pyrrha!

Since my computer is still in the shop (I had to go to the library to upload the picture files to WordPress at all) the pictures are only available in thumbnail form right now.  Once my computer is fixed (or replaced, if need be, and I hope that doesn’t have to happen, ’cause that would suck) then I’ll be able to upload the full size pictures to Dropbox so you can see her in all her glory. The computer has now been replaced, and Dropbox functionality is returned, so the pictures now have links to the full size pics. 🙂 Anyway, I was surprised, ’cause her hair isn’t really the color I saw on the website.  There it was a brilliant dark red and a deep yellow, both very much the color of flame, hence her name (from the Greek root pyr-, fire), whereas this is more of a pomegranate deep pink and a natural deep blonde color.  Still very pretty–probably prettier, in fact–just not what I was expecting.  Actually, this will definitely match a lot more doll clothing, come to think of it.  😛

Risque shot
Risque shot

I definitely like the fact that she’s got a fully poseable body right from the start.  That’s a great plus.

Finally dressed!
Finally dressed!

I was right on the money when I thought this dress would be her style. 🙂  It looks even better on her in person than in the photo.

And with the hat!
And with the hat!

And the hat it came with is the perfect finishing touch!  I think I may eventually want to remove the shine from her face–I prefer a matte finish, to be sure–but for now, she’s fine as she is.  Her face paint isn’t anything remarkable, but it certainly isn’t bad, and at least her lips match her hair.

Moving on, there was, as I mentioned before, another doll in the order, a Tangkou.  (Tang kou?)

Tangkou box
Tangkou box

One thing I can say for absolute certain is that I don’t like the style of the box art.  Irrelevant, perhaps, but it needed to be said, none the less.  (BTW, by now, the library is closed, and I’m back to fumbling around on my iPad, so I apologize if I start making enormous gaffes.)

Tangkou in her box
Tangkou in her box

When I got to this point in the process, I started to worry, but it may be hard to see why in the picture.  The next one will make it more clear.

Yikes...
Yikes…

Yep, wig and scalp were disconnected from the rest of the head.  And as to the rattling sound I could hear from inside the box….

...ouch...
…ouch…

…it turned out to be her feet.

However, apparently her scalp had never been glued down in the first place, and once I managed to get her shoes off, her feet snapped back onto her ankles, so it actually all worked out all right in the end.  It was just a bit panic-inducing.

Tangkou Loli
Tangkou Loli

She’s a pretty doll, over-all, very Pullip-like, for the most part.  The highly decorated eyelids are a nice touch, although I’m not sure why they’re blue strawberries.

Side glance
Side glance

Like Blythe, Tangkou has four eyechips, rather than eyes that can be turned to look in different directions the way Pullip’s can.

Violet eyes...
Violet eyes…

They both have front-facing purple eye-chips, but they’re not quite the same shade.

The wig has issues.
The wig has issues.

Can you see how thin the hair is at the part?  It’s a pretty color wig, but…rather thin right where it needs to be thickest.

I think the headband needs to go.  It’s not my style.

Anyway, bottom line here is that Tangkou is a lot like a Pullip, if not quite as nice–and certainly not available in as diverse a catalog–and costs about a third as much.

And I think Pyrrha is getting jealous because I’m writing about another doll instead of her…

4 thoughts on “Pyrrha!!

  1. Olive July 21, 2015 / 10:12 pm

    You got a girl with the articulated body! And that order came fast! Was it like two weeks? Pyrrha looks so pretty, but yeah that color isn’t exactly like in the stock photos. Mattify ing her face should be easy if you have mr super clear (though I hear they changed the formula and the cans that say “Matt” instead of “Flat” have issues). She looks like she’s be a lot of fun to dress and pose, and still quite firey ^^. It’s a shame that the tangkou doll didn’t come perfectly, but I think Ali express works similarly to Amazon if you have issues with your order. Also, if you’re into hats, I think Blythe heads measure similarly to American Girl heads just FYI.

    Like

    • 39yearslame July 22, 2015 / 8:52 am

      Yeah, the order was incredibly fast! I wasn’t expecting her to arrive fir another two weeks. (But because of my computer issues, I can’t even go leave positve feedback yet for the speedy delivery. 😦 ) For the moment, I’m not going to try doing anything to Pyrrha’s face, not even the simplest thing, ‘ cause too much has gone wrong lately, and I would end up causing more harm than good. (Seriously, I woke up this morning and found that a screw had popped out of my glasses overnight. Then I dropped and lost the screw in the bedsheets. Fortunately, there was a spare in the repair kit in my purse, but….)
      As to the Tangkou, I was able to pop her back together, and her box wasn’t damaged, so I think it was just one of those “contents may shift during transit” things. But it was definitely panic-inducing. She seems not to be actually damaged, though, so there’s no need for me to hassle them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kewpie83 July 22, 2015 / 3:35 pm

    I plan on ordering a factory Blythe soon. Some of them are really cute. Yours is adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

    • 39yearslame July 25, 2015 / 6:00 pm

      I’ve really been enjoying her. 😀 There’s a joy in the factory Blythe, like having a Barbie back in the day; because she doesn’t come all fancy and special, I can dress her up however I want without feeling like I’m “ruining” an expensive doll, the way I would with a Pullip or a regular Blythe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

