A Big Day for Dolly Deliveries

So, yesterday saw three arrivals at my door.  First, with the mail came a little packet containing the other Blythe dress for Pyrrha, the one coming from Japan.  But when I took it out of the package, I became a little concerned, because it looked much too small for her.

Pyrrha's suspicious of that tiny thing...
Pyrrha’s suspicious of that tiny thing…

And guess what?  It was much too small for her!  Now, part of me just wants to say “well, it’s just because she doesn’t have a default Blythe body, and this BJD body is bigger.”  But the dress she’s wearing was sold as a Blythe dress.  It was being modeled on the seller’s page on a default Blythe body, so her BJD body is obviously pretty close to a default Blythe body in size.

So I’m thinking that the pretty dress I bought over Amazon for $20 from the seller with the fractured English was actually a Middie Blythe dress, not a Neo Blythe dress. 😦  Worse still, it was kind of poorly made, especially considering its price.  The top is an elastic-like material, and so you just stretch it out to get it over the doll’s body; there’s no fastening device of any kind.  Like the stubborn idiot I am, I still tried to get it onto Pyrrha, and ended up partially bursting a seam.  (And I wasn’t really applying enough pressure that seam-ripping should have taken place, lemme tell ya!)

In the end, I was able to squeeze the dress onto my Dal Tinkerbell, replacing the Bratz and Monster High outfit mash-up she had been wearing.  I had liked the way that looked, but she’s going to be wearing this instead, ’cause after I paid that much for it, someone’s darn well gonna wear it!

Tink in the new dress
Tink in the new dress

I need to get her a new hair ribbon and some new shoes now, though.  The shoes didn’t match the hair thing to begin with, and pink doesn’t go with black and bronzish-gold.  Black shouldn’t be too hard to come by, particularly for ribbons.  (In fact, for ribbons, that’ll be downright easy-peasy.  Shoes in Dal’s size will be a bit trickier, but…yeah, I’ll figure something out.  Actually, she can kinda-sorta wear Barbie shoes, and I literally have a whole lunch box full of those, so that’s no problem.)

Anyway!  Later in the afternoon, the doorbell rang.  It was UPS, delivering my two packages from Groove.  (They totally ignored my e-mail asking that the packages be shipped together.  I don’t see why they ignored it, when it would have saved them time and money, but…whatever.)

First to come out of her box was coincidentally also the first one ordered…

Tiny Wonder Woman box
Tiny Wonder Woman box

So, I’ve never bought a ComicCon Pullip before.  Are they always in these efficient but uninteresting packages, or was this a special box because it was one of Groove’s extra dolls for display purposes?  Either way, I was surprised (and honestly, a little disappointed) by the tiny, plain box within the shipping crate.  But it’s not the box that matters, after all…

...it's what's inside that counts!
…it’s what’s inside that counts!

It took me a while to figure out how to get the box to open, since it wasn’t the usual box, and the whole time I was fighting with this new computer, trying to get it to behave itself and work (please, don’t ask, just offer sympathy and/or money 😛 ), and getting more and more frustrated, between the computer refusing to work and how incredibly hot it was in this room, and then I finally get the box open and…ahhh!  Everything was suddenly so much better!  I went from “Argh, you stupid computer, why won’t you work?!” to “Whoa!  Her hair’s actually sort of a deep blue!  That’s so awesome!”  Of course, I kept having to struggle with the computer and the heat, but…things were definitely better. 🙂

Wonder Woman Pullip
Wonder Woman Pullip

If there’s anything at all to be said about her that isn’t positive, it’s that maybe she could do with a tiny bit more hair.  It seems like it uses wildness to cover up for lack of fullness.  (Perhaps that’s just typical, now that I think about it.)  That and that her lasso is just a bit of gold-colored cord, so it’s not really, well, a particularly functional accessory, unless one happens to be adept at tying cord into a lasso without wrecking up the cord.  I tried it, and the cord started to part out in the center (you know what I mean?) so I quickly stopped.  Her cape is only fastened by means of a hook that fastens onto a thin piece of thread, but if the thread snaps I think it could be easily re-sewn.  (I don’t usually think of Wonder Woman as wearing a cape, personally, but the doll does look a bit naked without it.)

...
<clever caption not found>

I actually forget why I took that photo, but I like it, so I had to share it.  Because this is a gorgeous doll.  On the whole, the superhero genre tends to be an “I can take it or leave it” type genre for me, so it’s all about the quality of the individual product, which makes it all the more impressive that I’ve fallen so completely in love with this doll.  (Admittedly, I fall in love with dolls pretty easily, but I’ve seen the Harley Quinn Pullip in person, and I didn’t fall in love with her, even though I absolutely adore the character of Harley Quinn.)

Ready to deflect some bullets!
Ready to deflect some bullets!

I still think it’s pretty awesome that her arm guards deflect bullets.  I bet I really loved those scenes when I was a kid.  (I know for a fact I had a Wonder Woman swimsuit when I was a little girl.  I’ve seen the photos of me wearing it.)

"Is that someone in trouble?"
“Is that someone in trouble?”

I told you at the time that Rena’s sunglasses made me think Lynda Carter, didn’t I?  Of course I had to put them on Wonder Woman!  (BTW, you can’t really tell in the photo, but I used her lasso to tie her hair back (loosely) into a ponytail.)

"Wonder Woman to the rescue!"
“Wonder Woman to the rescue!”

Okay, I know, opening the shirt is Superman, not Wonder Woman, but do you have any idea how long it would take to animate her twirling around to transform from her civilian disguise into her Wonder Woman costume?  Even if I had the set-up to do it properly, it would take a lot longer than I had to spend yesterday and today.  (Especially since I had a dentist appointment today.)

Now, that being said, I totally want to do that.  Once I figure out the best way to do it, I really do plan to do an animated .gif of my Wonder Woman Pullip spinning out of Rena’s original outfit into her Wonder Woman costume.  But who knows when that’ll be.  (If anyone has any suggestions about the best way to go about the process, please feel free to make them, btw.)

But now, on to the final delivery yesterday, the doll who has been something of a grail doll for me for some time now:

Megurine Luka in her box
Megurine Luka in her box

She was actually the first full-size Pullip I ever saw, in the hands of a twelve year old girl (or thereabouts) at an anime convention.  At that point I already had Zephyr, my Hestia, and I think I may have had my mini-Taeyang Sebastian, but I’d never seen a full-size Pullip before, and I was struck by how beautiful she was.  But at the time I wasn’t really able to do on-line doll shopping.  If I couldn’t get it in person, I couldn’t get it, unless I could convince my brother to order it for me and pay him back, which wasn’t an option on a doll that cost over $100.  $20-$25, sure, maybe even as high as $35-40, but much more than that and forget about it.

So the window to get this beautiful Vocaloid doll closed on me, and by the time I was able to do my own on-line shopping, she cost a ludicrous amount of money.  To make matters even worse, by now I’ve become hooked on the Project Diva games, which only made me want her more.  So even though I’d already bought the Wonder Woman Pullip literally the day before, when I saw that Groove had her available as well, I had to buy her.

Luka with her signature tuna
Luka with her signature tuna

Why is Luka’s signature item a tuna?  I guess it has something to do with the Japanese word for tuna…?  Many of the Vocaloids’ items mystify me.  Leeks, tuna, ice cream, tangerines, bananas, sake, carrots, eggplants…yeah, apart from a few of them being color-coded, I just don’t get it.  (There are probably lots of Vocaloid wiki sites that explain these things, but I’m too lazy too look them up. 😛 )

Backstage Preparations
Backstage Preparations…

This is, of course, Luka preparing for her famous song “Megane“. 😛  (I tried having her wear Rena’s sunglasses instead of Namu’s glasses, but they looked ridiculous on her.  Though these kind of make her look mean…)

"Come here, my small-headed little Miku-chan..."
“Come here, my small-headed little Miku-chan…”

You know, I think Luka’s dress may be made of real leather.  It doesn’t like to sit down, and it was not reacting well to her stand, either.  (In fact, I’ve got her in a generic doll stand, rather than the stand that she came with, to protect the dress.)

"My cute lil' Append-chan..."
“My cute lil’ Append-chan…”

Okay, okay, yes, I kind of ship them….

"Crystal Miku-chan is almost too tiny and precious..."
“Crystal Miku-chan is almost too tiny and precious…”

C’mon, it’s an officially recognized pairing!  Just look at the official DLC of “Magnet“!

Ahem.  Yes, moving on.

Luka's guitar solo
Luka’s guitar solo

I actually bought the guitar for the Kagamine Rin (Meltdown ver.) I’m eventually going to make out of a Make It Own kit, but I figured Luka could use it for now.  (The guitar is from the Beatrix Girls line.  Not a doll line I find appealing, but the guitars seemed like useful props, so I picked this one up on clearance at Toys R Us.)  The guitar will eventually get a paint job, presumably to a black and white color scheme to match the Meltdown outfit.

I was really worried about how much I spent in such a short amount of time on these two dolls–especially compounded by having to buy a new computer immediately afterwards–but now that they’re here, I feel like it was totally worth it, because I love them both.  That’s the good side.

The bad side is that I have to stop buying dolls.  Well, toys in general.  In fact, I have to pretty much cut my spending wherever I can.  I’m trying to go on a massive diet as well, so hopefully my food spending will also go down, but…the only thing I know for a fact I can cut from my budget without causing any harm to anything is my toy collecting habit, so it has to go for…I don’t even know how long.  Possibly the rest of the year.

Of course, there are bound to be exceptions.  My brother has not just spent a thousand dollars (well, nearly) in the last week and a half, so he’ll likely still be going to the used stores, and if he asks me to go along, and if I still do, and if I see things that are likely to vanish quickly–as they often do–I may still buy them, as opportunities that will never knock again.  (Like how you know that fourth Doctor doll wouldn’t still be there if I hadn’t bought him and went back to that store today!)  And maybe if I’m having too many withdrawal pains I can go to Tuesday Mornings and maybe find a Monster High doll for $10 or something.  Something inexpensive to dull the craving a little.

More importantly, even when I start buying dolls again, I think I need to stop buying Pullips, at least for a while.  I’ve bought too many; they’re too addicting.  I used to focus on trying to have all sorts of different types of dolls, and I need to go back to that, I think.  So I should be saving up to get a real Blythe, and to get different types of BJDs, not thinking about which Pullips I want that I don’t have.  Because there are so many Pullips, and they put out so many more all the time…it’s a never-ending stream of “I want.”

The one exception to that, of course, is that Make It Own kit to make the Meltdown Rin doll.  Because I am determined to do that.  It is happening.  Period.  It’s just a matter of timing.  Specifically, the timing of when I feel like I can spend money again, and the timing of PullipStyle getting in MIO kits again.

2 thoughts on “A Big Day for Dolly Deliveries

  1. Olive July 28, 2015 / 9:19 pm

    nice doll haul! i’m not all too informed on vocaloids, but i recognize our new girl, and her comical tuna ^^. I’m also trying to curb my hobby spending, but it’s really hard i know. also, I’m sure you’ll figure out your new laptop soon. I loathe the idea of having to buy a new laptop, so I’m hoping that it’s only my charger that’s broken.

    Like

    • 39yearslame July 29, 2015 / 7:58 am

      I used to only know a little about Vocaloids, via the animation program MikuMikuDance (which I don’t even use anymore), but then I got into Project Diva, and now I’m hooked on the music as well. (Since I already liked anime music, it’s not that big of a leap.)

      Chargers are much cheaper and easier to replace, so I hope that’s the case, too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

