Byul-tiful Photo Contest, week one, part two

Okay, so I don’t feel like the photos from last time are going to cut the mustard.  So far, only one person has posted their entry for the first week, right?  As a reminder, the theme was simply “Beautiful,” which we can interpret in any way we want.  Well, the person who’s already posted went for inner beauty rather than outer beauty, which kind of ups the ante for everyone else, y’know?  ‘Cause now it’s like we’ve gotta do both.

Or that’s how it feels from here.

So “blowing kisses from the roses” isn’t gonna cut it.

Therefore, I tried to do some more photography with Tiger Lily today.  Of course, my place is a sty, and I have no garden, so I had to take her elsewhere.  I tried taking her to my brother’s place, hoping there was someone at his condo association with a garden I could use, but at the last minute I chickened out, unwilling to plop my doll down in a total stranger’s personal flower bed without permission and figuring that knocking on a stranger’s door to ask permission wouldn’t do any good in the middle of the afternoon on a weekday, as they’d be out at work, so I had to try taking pictures inside his condo, which is at least cleaner than my house.

Tiger Lily and the story book
Tiger Lily and the story book

I love this picture, but it totally doesn’t fit the theme.  Maybe there’ll be a theme later in the month this will fit.

Then I had the idea of having the movie play on the TV and have Peter Pan reflecting in Tiger Lily’s eyes.  To test if that would work, I held the doll up next to the TV while it was showing whatever the heck was showing (weather channel, I think) and took a couple of photos, just as an experiment:

With flash
With flash
Without flash
Without flash

So it actually kind of works without the flash on.  But that doesn’t really fit the theme, though, so I didn’t bother trying it.  (Also, it turned out that because I put the Blu-ray into the player instead of the DVD, it did annoying things if you tried to pause it instead of just, you know, pausing.  Because heaven forfend that the movie should just sit there and wait for you.)

Finally, I went with my last resort, the “I forgive you” shot of her patting the Angel Pullip not-really-Tinkerbell on the head.  Which is from an awkward angle because there weren’t a lot of places to set them up so as to have a clean background.  There are three versions that kinda-sorta work.

Version 1
Version 1
Version 2
Version 2
Version 3
Version 3

Unfortunately, version 3 is kind of the best one, except that you can see I left her moccasins at home, in that I didn’t want to lose them on the way over.  (Dang things don’t really fit, y’know?  And they’re more like clogs than moccasins, but that’s neither here nor there.)  Also in that shot it looks more like they’re watching He-man than Peter Pan, but…they really are watching Peter Pan.  That’s the cave where Hook has Tiger Lily tied up, honest!

The photos are all still kind of awful, aren’t they?

I don’t know.  Anyone have any thoughts?  Do I need to start over, yet again?

Anyway, in other news, Pyrrha now has a kimono:

Kimono, kimono!
Kimono, kimono!

It’s a bit big for her, because it’s actually a Barbie kimono, but the color scheme is just perfect.  I’ve had that Barbie sitting around for quite a while now, and today I finally got around to opening her and seeing if the kimono would fit Pyrrha, though I felt a little awkward about opening a twenty year old collector’s Barbie.  (I know; someone, somewhere, just burned me in effigy, I’m sure.  But the box had been beaten to crap!  And it was just a Dolls of the World Barbie.  And I still have one in a decent box.  And I’d gotten her for $5.  At the time, I’d planned on putting the kimono on an Abbey Bominable to make her into a proper Yuki Onna, but this is a better use for the kimono.  Though if I ever do manage to get my hands on a clear Obitsu, I may put it on that instead of on Pyrrha, ’cause that’d be freakin’ sweet, too.)  I love the way the kimono looks on her, and she’s going to keep wearing it for a while, but it really does make her look like she has an entirely different personality, doesn’t it?

Eventually, like once I feel like I’m no longer cursed, I really need to give Pyrrha a haircut.  Her hair’s too long right now, and she really needs bangs to hide the fact that her scalp’s not quite the same color as her face.

I also splurged(?) while I was buying myself some school supplies at Target, and bought Pyrrha a car:

Vroom, vroom!
Vroom, vroom!

It must be very eco-friendly, since it’s made of cloth. 😛  It was on hyper-clearance, so I figured it was okay for me to buy it, even though I’m not supposed to be buying anything other than daily necessities right now.

3 thoughts on “Byul-tiful Photo Contest, week one, part two

  1. Olive August 5, 2015 / 8:39 am

    The clones have that issue where the scalp doesn’t match the face plate perfectly. Luckily, there are quite a few tutorials on how to cut bangs.
    What about taking your byul out to a park? And try getting a photo from a closer, and lower angle? Also, you should play around with filters if that’s allowed in the contest. I use Pixlr sometimes – it’s free and handy.

    Like

    • 39yearslame August 5, 2015 / 8:48 am

      I don’t think the contest lets you use filters. Well, it might let me use a light filter while taking the photo, if I had one, but that’s another matter entirely, since I don’t have one. 😛 It said that the only photo editing that was allowed was cropping and removal of stray hairs. Oh, wait, it did say “lighting” so maybe that means filters? Hmm. Not sure about that. I’d rather get it right in camera, though.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Olive August 5, 2015 / 8:51 am

        Yeah it doesn’t sound like they’ll allow you to use filters. But since she’s tiger lily, maybe you can try taking a photo where there’s natural light and her standing next to a tree or somewhere with nature?

        Like

Leave a Reply

