Gnawing at me…

Blogging about my doll collecting is really making me conscious of just how addicted to it I really am, because this blog has been a constant stream of “look what I just got!” with the occasional post of “I’m gonna talk about something I already had” to break up the monotony.  Even worse, I’ve got a bunch of pictures stored up of things I got while my computer was broken that I just haven’t posted yet.  (Well, okay, only about two, maybe three posts’ worth.  Some Monster High and some Lotties.  Nothing huge, but still!  And, actually, one of those sets of Monster High doll photos was pre-computer break-down, and was just waiting in the wings for a good lull.  And another set of photos is also waiting that wasn’t connected to a doll acquisition.  At least, I don’t think it was supposed to be connected to a doll acquisition…)

That wasn’t even supposed to be the point, anyway.  The real point is that I’m supposed to be on a spending freeze, because of Luka and Wonder Woman and the new computer, and yet I bought the new Dal that hasn’t even arrived yet (should be here by Thursday) and the two Little Pullip+ sample dolls from PullipStyle, and there’s another purchase that’s itching at me, begging me, clawing at me.

JPGroove has been having a sample sale for some time, as you’re probably aware.  Most of them are long gone by now, but they still have a few left.  I was looking at what they had left today, because I’m a glutton for punishment (or something) and among the remnants are both Kagamine twins, and a couple of really cute Byuls.  (And that photo contest is really teaching me to appreciate Byul a lot more than I did before, let me tell you!)

I know I’ve been saying all this time that I want to make my own Rin out of a Make It Own kit because Rin shouldn’t be pouting.  But the thing is, I have zero skill.  If I make a Rin, she’ll look awful.  And I already calculated that a MIO kit Rin would cost me, minimum, $70.  The sample Rin is $72.  So I could have a professional, proper Rin for the same price as one I made that looked awful?

So part of me is saying “Just go ahead and buy her.  You’ve got more money in the bank than you thought you did.  Call it an early birthday present.”  And another part of me is saying “Don’t you have any willpower at all?!  Not to mention that there’s zero reason to celebrate turning 40.”

Obviously, the easiest solution is if I go back and find that someone else has bought her in the meantime.  Not necessarily the solution I want–definitely not, in truth–but definitely the easiest.

7 thoughts on “Gnawing at me…

  1. kewpie83 August 10, 2015 / 11:21 pm

    I know what you’re feeling! I’m definitely going to be covering a lot of stuff I currently own for a while, because I really shouldn’t be buying anything new. (The curse of only finding part time work!) I just splurged on a new MIO kit, Isul, in hopes of making him Henry in my Once Upon a Time series and I have a bunch of auctions I am in the middle of, but I definitely see myself cutting back for a while. It can be very tough! (The birthday gift idea is fun, but being December born, I can’t really play that card until October!) Nothing is wrong with turning 40, btw!!!

    Like

    • 39yearslame August 11, 2015 / 8:29 am

      I love Isul’s face; every time I see a MIO Isul kit, on PullipStyle or wherever, I wonder if I could think of a reason to get it, and then I smack myself and say “what’s the matter with you?!”

      I know what you mean about December birthdays; almost everyone in my family has a December birthday other than me (most of them within days of Christmas, in fact); I’m the odd one out, the lone summer birthday in a family of winter birthdays.

      It feels like I’m still in the “waiting for my life to start” phase I was in high school, though, which makes it more than a little awkward that I’m also a week away from 40. It’s like “wait, wasn’t my life supposed to have started twenty years ago?”

      Like

  2. Taswegian1957 August 11, 2015 / 12:32 am

    Murphy’s Law of Doll Collecting states that the minute you put yourself on a spending freeze dolls that you just have to have will start appearing everywhere. And there are plenty of reasons to celebrate being 40. You are still here aren’t you? I always like to celebrate zero’s and fives.

    Like

    • 39yearslame August 11, 2015 / 8:33 am

      Murphy must have been even more right about doll collecting than about everything else; seems like things have been showing up with even more regularity since I tried to stop buying than they normally would. In fact, as far as I can tell, if I had looked at Groove’s sample sale when it first showed up, I would have found a lot of dolls I really wanted, which I have now missed forever. 😦 (On the other hand, at least now I still have the money I would have spent on them, so…I suppose that evens out a little bit, and for the most part I don’t know they were there, so I’m not *too* tormented by it.)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Olive August 11, 2015 / 7:00 am

    I think it’s okay to splurge and treat yourself on your birthday! I deal with the same problem where the amount of what I have starts to overwhelm me. I think getting the MIO kit is a solid idea, especially since you can always remove the face up and keep practicing until you’re satisfied with your Rin.

    Like

    • 39yearslame August 11, 2015 / 8:45 am

      I wasn’t nearly as worried about the face-up as about the clothes, truth be told. I can’t sew except by hand, and that only very badly. (At one time I used to know the basics of using a sewing machine, but I’ve forgotten how, and recently my mother tried to re-instill the basics so I could hem up a shirt sleeve where the hem had come undone. The result was that her sewing machine nearly ate my sleeve (the one I was hemming, not the one I was wearing). I don’t even know how that was possible.) The clothes were going to look hideous, even though I was going to go ahead with the simplest version of the Meltdown outfit, which is a one half black, one half white sleeveless sheath dress.

      That, of course, was probably only about half the reason I broke down and made the order this morning. I was looking around at a couple of other places last night, and I saw that PullipStyle no longer had the Kagamine twins at all, and…I don’t know. I just…it’s hard to explain, but I just felt like I was going to regret it if I didn’t make the order.

      I may still do the MIO kit thing later anyway, of course. Or I could try to sew the Meltdown outfit for the Dal version of Rin and see if it looks even halfway decent and then decide if I want to try the MIO kit for, say, her Future-style self or something…I dunno.

      I think part of it was that this is going to help restore a little balance to my collection. It’s become very Pullip-heavy. But this order was two Dals and a Byul, so now the Pullips don’t outnumber the Dals quite so badly. Which sounds kind of moronic when I say it like that.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. dannyscotland August 11, 2015 / 12:13 pm

    No reason to celebrate turning forty? What??? Of course there is! Think of the alternative! 🙂

    I commiserate with you on that and the doll thing as well. I didn’t collect dolls when I was younger; I was into stuffed animals and My Little Ponies. Now that I have daughters, I seem to be gravitating more towards dolls. My mom collects dolls, and I never understood it; now I do! I have been obsessively collecting 11 1/2 inch fashion dolls to turn into characters from Once Upon a Time for myself and my oldest daughter. That is so much fun, but now I am always, always scouring ebay and thrift stores for them and clothes and shoes. But my mom always says, life is short, why not enjoy it?

    (I’ll be 40 in February)

    Like

Leave a Reply

