Queen of the Seven Seas

(Or Something)

This is a looooong over-due post.  Quite a while back–like before my computer broke–there was a special on Amazon that if you bought three Lotties from the Amazon page of their manufacturer, you would get one of them free, and I took advantage of that.  (Little knowing that I would, within days of the order, spend a ludicrous amount of money first on a couple of Pullips and then on a new computer.)  Aaaaanyway, moving on (and trying not to think about how much I spent yesterday on a new water heater) let’s get to this long over-due post.

First off, someone at Amazon had a twisted sense of humor.  The shipment was three Lotties, right?  Lotties are these cute, sweet dolls, right, like this:

Pirate Queen Lottie
Pirate Queen Lottie

…and there were three of them in a single order, right?  Well, someone at Amazon had decided to include a single doll out of another order in that shipment, so when I opened the box, I also found this doll:

"Once Upon a Zombie" Beauty
“Once Upon a Zombie” Beauty

Uh, yeah, that really fits in a shipment of three Lotties.  (Sigh.)  The rose she’s holding actually came with a Monster High doll, btw, but I thought it was more appropriate with her.  (Not sure which one.  Amanita Nightshade, I think.)  I need to do something with her hair; those curls are too tight and look horrible right now.  But this post is supposed to be about the Lotties, so back to them!

I love the packaging for the Pirate Queen Lottie, so here’s the back of the box:

Back of the box
Back of the box

In fact, all three of them have really nifty packaging.  (I’ve included photos of all three sets of packaging in the gallery, see the link at the end of the post.)

Queen of the Seven Seas
Queen of the Seven Seas

The arms are a bit rubbery, and don’t really bend at the elbows, but the knees click the way Barbie knees used to (I love that clicking, it’s nostalgic) and the clothes are quite detailed and well made.  Lotties have a straight body shape–like Skipper used to when I was a kid–no discernible waist at all, like a child who hasn’t hit puberty yet and is just a normal, healthy kid, neither under- nor overweight.  The face shape is a little puffier than I normally like, but the facial features are charming enough to overcome that.

More so than most of the dolls in my collection, Lottie feels like a doll meant to be really played with.  So I’ve indulged in a little subdued playing here:

"Get te work, girls!  Find that tresur' an' we'll all be rich!"
“Get te work, girls! Find that tresur’ an’ we’ll all be rich!”
"Cap'n!  I found it!"
“Cap’n! I found it!”
"Boo!"
“Boo!”
"Silly humans.  What did they think they were going to get from a ghost treasure?"
“Silly humans. What did they think they were going to get from a ghost treasure?”

Okay, yes, that got silly.

But at least I didn’t add Captain Hook to the mix!  (Nor did I add all my other nautically-themed Monster High dolls, of which there are many, particularly when you count my OC customs.  So it could be worse.)  Anyway, the photo gallery with the shots of the Lottie boxes is here.

(BTW, I only used two of the Lotties for this, instead of all three, ’cause the third isn’t nautically-themed.  Lighthouse Keeper Lottie looks like she could easily be a sailor, rather than a lighthouse keeper, so she was okay to use for the little sketch.  The other one…not so much.  Sadly, the Lottie I really wanted, Stargazer, was not available… 😦  )

5 thoughts on “Queen of the Seven Seas

  1. Olive August 14, 2015 / 9:29 am

    I wanted the back to school Lottie girl, but I never got around to purchasing her. Would you mind trying your Lottie clothes on a dal? Or your Blythe girl? Im curious to see how they fit, because I think Lottie also has separate fashion packs.

    Like

    • 39yearslame August 14, 2015 / 9:44 am

      They definitely wouldn’t fit Pyrrha; Lotties are way too small. (There *are* separate fashion packs, some extremely cute ones, in fact. There was also a code for buy 2 get one free on those, and I would have used it, if I hadn’t then spent so much money on Luka, Wonder Woman and the new computer.) The clothes might just barely squeak onto the Dal/Byul body, but only just barely. I don’t want to take that dress off Tink yet, as I only barely got it on her in the first place, but I’ll try the Lottie clothes on the Byul Humpty Dumpty when she arrives, as her stock is definitely coming off anyway. (Cute doll. Weird stock.)

      Liked by 1 person

    • 39yearslame August 14, 2015 / 10:05 pm

      On further reflection, despite what I said earlier today, I’m thinking that there’s probably no way Lottie’s clothes would fit on a Dal, either. (I’ll still try them on Byul Humpty Dumpty when she gets here, out of sheer academic curiosity, but I think it’s a lost cause.) They might fit on Yeolume, perhaps, but Lotties really are quite small; I mean, I didn’t even think I could put their clothes on Monster High dolls. (I should try them on my Yeolume as well, while I’m at it. If they do fit her, some of those Lottie fashion packs might look really terrific on her…)

      Like

      • Olive August 15, 2015 / 1:21 am

        I’m wondering if Lottie clothes will fit on Middie blythes. If they fit on Yeolume, then they may fit on middies ^^.

        Like

      • 39yearslame August 15, 2015 / 8:10 am

        That seems possible, but I’ve yet to see a Middie Blythe in person, so I can’t be sure. I’m not even sure if they’ll fit Yeolume; I’ve only held up a dressed doll in front of Yeolume as a comparison, and it’s hard to tell what the volume of the two sets of outfits is, y’know? (Not going to bother doing the attempted fitting until the other doll gets here; may as well do both attempts at once.)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

