Lonely Dolls

Another long over-due post, with photos I took before my old laptop went down.  This time, the post is about dolls in my collection that are in some way unique in my collection; dolls that are the only ones from their series that I own…and probably going to stay that way.  (Um, more so with some of these than with others.)

Now, I have a lot of dolls that are “lonely” in the sense that I don’t have any others.  Pyrrha’s my only Blythe (clone), but I totally plan to get more (and I have tons of the LPS mini-Blythes), and I only have the one Tangkou, but I might get more, and besides I just posted about her not that long ago.  I’ve got a single Nancy Ann Storybook doll, but how much is there to say about that?  (Besides, I might do a post at some point about dolls older than I am.  That would also cover my solitary Liddle Kiddle, too.  Though I would totally snap up more Liddle Kiddles, if I found ones I wanted at prices I was willing to pay.)  And I have a few other “unique” dolls whose exact origins I don’t know, or which were hand-made, or whatever.  So I thought it was best to limit to more or less recent, and very much established, known dolls.  And, of course, this is just a random sampling anyway. 😛

Well, let’s start with the oldest, shall we?

Golden Girl (NRFB!)
Golden Girl (NRFB!)

I’ve always written off Galoob’s Golden Girl as basically a She-Ra clone (and yet I forgot to include her in “Send in the Clones!“) and yet she has a copyright date of 1984, the year before She-Ra came out, which I find curious.  I ought to put in some research on how that’s possible, but…yeah, too lazy.  I found this one at an antique mall some 15 years ago.  I had a number of these dolls back in the day, but never this one.

Back of her box
Back of her box

So, the ones I had were Jade, Onyx, Dragon Queen and Wild One.  I know this because I still have their die-cast shields.  Also their capes and helmets.  (Except Wild One’s helmet.  I don’t have that one, which is a pity, seeing as it’s all, you know, Viking and stuff.)  But look at those fashion packs!  (Seriously, follow the link and check out the full-size picture.  Awesome stuff there.)  Why did I not have any of those?!  Seriously, what was wrong with me?  I had one She-Ra fashion pack–which I lost along with Perfuma when I moved here, of all the annoying things–but that was a pretty lame fashion pack, unlike most of the fashion packs pictured on this package, which are freakin’ sweet.  Man, I can’t believe I didn’t own every single one of those.  If I had a time machine….!

Uh, anyway.  Sticking with the ’80s theme…and yet also not…

Moonglow (?)
Moonglow (?)

I didn’t much care when they decided to try re-inventing Rainbow Brite a few years back, because I had been just old enough that the original had been too childish for me, so what they were altering was not a treasured part of my childhood.  (This does not hold true for the various other 1980s iconic properties that have been re-invented lately.  Well, okay, for some of them I don’t care, one because I had bought into social gender norms at the time, and was a little too old for another.)  Uh, point is, I didn’t mind the changes that many people slightly younger than myself were horrified by, and thought this doll was sort of cute, so I picked her up when she got cheap.

Okay, past this point it gets harder to say how old the dolls are, so I’m just going to try to put them in roughly the order in which I got them.

Hi-Glam
Hi-Glam

I mentioned this girl before, way back when I was talking about Hasbro’s 1972 Leggy line of dolls.  She’s from MGA’s similarly long-legged, and similarly short-lived Hi-Glam line, though she’s currently wearing clothes belonging to a PlayHut MystiKats doll.  (Part of the outfit she came with is currently being worn by my kuchisake onna Monster High custom doll.  Not sure what happened to the rest of it, but it’s around somewhere.)  I need to put some shoes on her…

Zephyr
Zephyr

This is Zephyr, my Hestia Isora.  Okay, yeah, so maybe Zephyr shouldn’t count, since she’s a Groove doll, and I’ve got oodles of those.  But I don’t have any other Hestias!  I’ve got Pullips, Dals, Taeyangs, Isuls, Byuls (well, one here, and one in transit, due to arrive by Wednesday), J-dolls, and two BJD Ais, but she’s my only Hestia.  (I’ve also only got one Yeolume, but…they only released two of those, so that’s a little different.  And oh…man, would I like to get a Blackberry!  She’s so cute!  Or, actually, I wish they’d done Sailor Chibi-Moon as a Yeolume.  I don’t even like Sailor Moon, but that would have been so perfect!  Although the Dal version is almost criminally cute already, so maybe they thought a Yeolume version would be lethally cute…)  I changed Zephyr out of her original outfit into this high-end Barbie dress because I really didn’t like her stock.

Zephyr's face
Zephyr’s face

Just a close-up to show you her face better.  Because.  The head-on shot doesn’t really do her justice.  Her eyes are strongly domed, and that gives a heightened illusion of reality to them.  (Rather like with J-Dolls, in fact, only a bit more so, since these eyes are bigger.)  I came across Zephyr at Tuesday Mornings a number of years ago–the first Groove doll I ever saw (in fact, I hadn’t even heard of Pullip yet)–and after getting her home and out of the box, I raced around to all the other Tuesday Mornings locations in the area, but no one else had any.  For some time after that, I watched the stores like a hawk, but after a while of nothing turning up, my attention started to drift, until hearing about the full-size Disney Pullips turning up, at which point I started watching like a hawk again (which paid off in full!) and I’ve been sort of an on-and-off hawk ever since. 😛  They’ve been relatively dry of late, apart from the Little Dal+ White Rabbit about, what, a month or two ago?

Fairy Tale High Cinderella
Fairy Tale High Cinderella

So, I bought her on clearance at Toys R Us as an experiment to see if her clothes would fit Monster High dolls.   They did, but not terribly well, and it occurred to me, after the fact, that it hardly mattered even if they did, because I didn’t actually like the clothes the other dolls in her line were wearing anyway.  Still, her clothes looked pretty good on the Create-a-Monster gorgon girl, so for a long time this girl was wearing Clawdeen’s cast-off swimming cover-up.  Eventually, largely due to not being able to think of any other doll to use, I came to the tentative conclusion that I should use her as the daughter of the Dodo for my mad tea party–if I ever get back to working on that–and in taking her back out of the doll storage thingy, I decided I needed to find her something less transparent to wear.  But while Monster High dolls can wear her clothes, she can’t wear Monster High clothes.  Or Bratz clothes.  Or Bratzillaz clothes  But she can wear Liv clothes, which is what she’s wearing now…and the pattern on that shirt has me wondering if she should be the daughter of the Caterpillar instead of the Dodo.  (Though I was going to use an LPS mini-Blythe for that, all decked out in a caterpillar suit, if I ever managed to make it…I really gotta start working on this thing again…)

Hujoo Freya
Hujoo Freya

And speaking of the mad tea party, here’s the daughter of the Cheshire Cat, my Hujoo Freya.  Who I’ve shown before, so I shouldn’t show her again, but I’m showing her anyway, ’cause I want to.  Because I like her. 😀  I know I probably ought to give her a face-up, put some color on her nose and in her ears, but…I don’t know, I think she works as is, and I’d only mess her up, you know?  Still not sure about the dress, though…

Zeenie Doll Leena
Zeenie Doll Leena

Zeenie Dolls are eco-warriors, which is cool.  Made with bio-degradable materials–which is both cool and a little unsettling (I’m not sure I like the idea of dolls that will just decompose if you leave them outside too long)–and with less anorexic proportions than the standard fashion dolls on the market.  The eco-conscious materials are kind of a double-edged sword, though; they feel a little strange to the touch, and it turns out that whatever their faces are made from collects dust like nobody’s business; Leena here had more dust on her face than any other doll on the shelf, including ones who had been sitting there two or three times as long.  (Yes, I don’t dust clean my house nearly as often as I should.  Despite that I’m asthmatic and allergic to dust.  My house is a recipe for disaster in all sorts of ways.)

Leena's close-up
Leena’s close-up

Ability to hold dust not-withstanding, it’s a nice face, though the lips are a bit odd.  She has glass eyes, which is something I always like, though I notice that–like many other play-line dolls with inset eyes on the domestic market–her eyes simply stare straight ahead, somewhat soullessly.  (Bratzillaz and Novi Stars sometimes avoided this pitfall.  Sometimes.)  For inset eyes–or really, any doll eyes–a slight angling of the gaze can really help liven the doll up, you know?

Greta Vendetta
Greta Vendetta

This is a BeGoths doll called Greta Vendetta, part of a sub-series called “Silent Scream,” inspired by classic Hollywood.  To be honest, I still have no idea how I feel about this doll.  I found the doll line on Amazon, in the “people who viewed this item also viewed” bar below some Living Dead Dolls I was looking at, and clicked on it out of curiosity, because it looked like a Bratz head on a Barbie body.  When you see the doll in person,  she doesn’t look quite so much like that as she does in the photos, but the general idea isn’t as wrong as I might like it to be, either.

Side view
Side view

Her body proportions are similar to Barbie’s, but she’s thicker all around; Barbie clothes would never fit on this gal.  (She and Leena might be able to share clothes, except for the general dissonance of styles, and the fact that her bust is about twice the size of Leena’s.)  Her head is about as much larger in comparison to her body as a Bratz head is to a Barbie’s body, but the head itself is much more round in shape than a Bratz head.  The face-up is similar to a Bratz face as well, though a bit more refined, and with less gaudy make-up.

Absurd footwear
Absurd footwear

Aside from her big, honkin’ boots (with high heels, no less!), her dress would probably say “Morticia Addams” to most people.  (It certainly does to me!)  But I think we’re supposed to think more along the lines of “Vampira,” given the deathly white skin she’s sporting, not to mention her bat-shaped tattoo:

Bats!
Bats!

I like the bat tattoos.  That’s fun. 😀  Not fun are the stains on her hand. 😦  They look like bruises, don’t they, as if she’s just been in a big fist-fight.  I’m sure there are ways to try to remove them, but since they’re only on her hand, and she’s not exactly the star doll of my collection, I’m not sure it’s worth the effort.

And that’s the last of ’em.

So, in summary, let’s look back over them, and see how many of these dolls I’d like to make less lonely in the future, if I could.

  • Golden Girl:  if I found an opportunity to get more of these, I so would.  Especially if they still had their wonderful accessories.
  • Moonglow:  Uh, no, not likely.
  • Hi-Glam:  yeah, if I could find one that wasn’t too expensive, I would definitely get more.  I’m very fond of this girl, and I’ve often regretted not getting more of them when they were still around.
  • Zephyr:  if I could get another Hestia without having to pay more than $50, I would, but I don’t think I’d pay more than that.  (And yes, I know I couldn’t get one for less than that.  But I just don’t like them enough to pay more than that.  Well, maybe $60, for one with really good stock.)
  • Fairy Tale High:  nope.
  • Hujoo Freya:  yeah, I’d love to get another Hujoo, though I’m not sure which one.  Probably not another anthropomorphic doll, though.  I don’t usually like that, but Freya’s special.
  • Leena:  hmm, not sure.  Depends on what the next set of Zeenie Dolls looks like, what they’re going for–if I find them on sale, like I did Leena–and so forth.  I’m certainly not opposed to the idea.
  • Greta Vendetta:  highly unlikely.  Apart from the “Silent Scream” series, most of these dolls aren’t to my taste at all.  (Actually, they’re much like the Living Dead Dolls in that respect; the only ones of those in my collection are Frankenstein’s Monster, the Bride, and Dracula.  Not sure if I’m going to get the Creature from the Black Lagoon or not.  It doesn’t quite have the same charm as the other three Universal licensed dolls.)
6 thoughts on “Lonely Dolls

  1. Olive August 16, 2015 / 10:48 pm

    I really wanted a hujoo nano freya (and may still nab one at one point). I have a weakness for anthro cat dolls. Also, because they’re not as expensive as resin bjds, i would feel more inclined to experimenting with her.

    Like

  2. Blackkitty August 17, 2015 / 1:35 am

    If you decide to get rid of Greta, talk to me first. I’d love to get my hands on a BEGoth doll.

    Like

    • 39yearslame August 18, 2015 / 8:39 pm

      I don’t have any plans to get rid of her at the moment, but if that ever changes, I’ll be sure to let you know.

      Like

  3. kewpie83 August 18, 2015 / 2:11 pm

    Greta is too cute! She reminds me of a cartoon version of Morticia from The Addams Family.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. aikifox85 March 30, 2016 / 12:26 am

    Comment in stages as I read the various sections:
    1) I was not aware of any kind of Rainbow Bright reboot (beyond RB tees at Hot Topic some years back). I *loved* RB and even had an RB plushie doll and RB birthday cakes 😀 I will have to look into these further. (Oh the power of the Nostalgia Dollar and the commercial investment all these companies put into us as children, damn if it didn’t pay off for them)
    2) I would like to get the Zeenie dolls myself. Oddly, I don’t know what I’d do with them as I prefer my dollies to not be overly cartoonish. They look too different from the Barbies, Lammily, and Mixis that I have that I don’t know how I’d work them in.
    3) Will also need to look into these BeGoth dolls. They remind me of my high school years. I might have to get one just for display purposes.

    Like

    • Iphis of Scyros March 31, 2016 / 8:28 am

      If you’re fond of Rainbow Bright nostalgia, have you seen what the Hallmark stores have right now? They’ve done a reproduction of Rainbow Bright, her white Twink, and kind of a reproduction of her horse. The horse is the only thing I had as a kid, so I was horribly disappointed by *that* reproduction, as it looked nothing like what I remembered. I liked the Twink, though: pictures will show up some Sunday. 😀 They’ve also done “Itty Bitty” versions of a huge number of Rainbow Brite characters. (Now if only they’d license a few other choice ’80s properties…) Anyway, that reboot doll I have is actually pretty old now, so even though it was unpopular, they’re pretty expensive if you can find them. (Always the way with things that don’t last too long…)

      The big problem with Zeenie dolls is that they’re expensive. 😦 I got mine for $20 on a special sale, but their list price is more like $50. (Or was it $40?) $20 is about the right price for them, so their list price feels like daylight robbery, or it does to me, anyway. (Hence the reason I still only have one. Though they did send me a sale code back around Thanksgiving, which I ended up not using, ’cause I was spending so much money on other stuff…)

      There are still a few BeGoth dolls on Amazon that aren’t too expensive…I think. Actually, it’s been a while since I looked at their prices, since I was sort of on the fence about the one I got. It’s certainly an interesting doll to have as a window into the evolution of the non-normative fashion doll.

      Like

Leave a Reply

