Rapunzel and other tiny dolls

I ended up going to the Disney Store on the way home from class on Tuesday, because it was only a little bit out of the way, and I didn’t feel like going straight home.  I wasn’t planning on buying anything, per se, but…sometimes stuff happens. 😛

Animator's Collection (mini) Rapunzel
Animator’s Collection (mini) Rapunzel

I’ve never cared for this line at its 16″ size, but the mini versions are quite cute, and yet this is the first one I’ve been like “ahhhh, I’ve gotta get that one!”  It may have been the little guitar that pushed this over the “must buy” threshold.  Or the plushie-style Maximus.  Or more likely a little of both.

De-boxed
De-boxed with all her stuff

The plus side of these little ones is that they come with a bunch of stuff, plus a nice hard case that you can use to hold the stuff, and/or whatever else you might want to store in them.  The down side is that they actually cost almost as much as the 16″ version.  (Seriously, this one was $19.99, and the 16″ version is like $24.99.)  The irony is, when I was answering the receipt survey (more on that below) I was like “yes, this was a good value for the money” because I was comparing her price to the price of the other dolls I’m about to compare her to:  I was comparing her to dolls intended for adult collectors, instead of dolls intended for children.  LOL, of course she seemed like a bargain!  Despite being adorable, I wonder if these actually don’t sell that well, because they’re actually somewhat expensive for their size?  Then again, you do get a lot of accessories, so maybe parents feel that makes up for it.  (Beats the smeg out of me; I’m not a parent.)

Random photo
Random photo

Is that a cute face or what?  But you know, I never see kids looking at these when I’m in the Disney Store.  Admittedly, I don’t exactly hang out in there, but when I’ve seen kids looking at the toys in there, they’ve tended to look at the normal dolls (I believe they call them the “Classic” line) or the stuffed animals or the action figures.  These pudgy child versions of the princesses–whether in adorably tiny versions or 16″ versions–do not seem to attract the attention of the average child visitor to the store.  Or maybe I’ve only been in at misrepresentative times.  I dunno.  Might be interesting to see some sales figures, though, for curiosity’s sake.

Another angle
Another angle

Yep, I had to take lots of photos, because I actually managed to get the paintbrush touching a bit of “picture” that was about the same color as the tip of the brush. 😛  The hard part, though, was just getting Rapunzel to stand up.  She’s not well-balanced for standing.  Though her head isn’t as over-sized as, say, Pullip’s, it’s still much too large for her body, and when you combine the weight of the head itself with the weight of all that hair…she does not stand up well, not at all.  (Probably the others in the line stand up better, having much less hair.)

Maximus, plushie-style
Maximus, plushie-style

Of course, as a child, Rapunzel had no idea Maximus existed–actually, what’s the life span of a horse?  Would he even have been born yet?  Well, regardless, I’m willing to overlook all that, because OMG, this little guy is so freakin’ cute!  I’d probably be happier if he wasn’t sparkly, though.  But not enough happier to bother de-sparkling him. 😛

The rest of her accessories
The rest of her accessories

The guitar is definitely the highlight here.  I suspect I’ll be using that in a lot of photo shoots for BJD Ai dolls, and any other tiny BJDs I might acquire in the future.  (I have a sudden desire to acquire many of them, btw…)  Pascal is adorable, but why is he sparkly?  Did she just dump glitter on him or something?  I guess they think it makes him cuter, but…chameleons are not sparkly.  They’re a lot of things, but sparkly is not one of them.  Anyway, Rapunzel has one of the best sets of accessories in this line, by far.  (I’d say Snow White’s the only other really in the running, in fact.  She comes with a table and a little stool.  I may have to get her for her accessories more than for the doll! 😛  Although the doll is cute, too…)

Anyway, from the word “go” (actually, from the word “guitar”) I wanted to see how she compared to various other small dolls in my collection, so I had to get out a number of them for some comparisons.

"Have a nice nap..."
“Have a nice nap…”

The concept of Rapunzel patting Hacinth on the head was better than the execution of the photo…but I had to try it anyway.  (Hacinth?  Really?  It’s like they left out a letter, y’know?  I’m just going to call her Ai-chan from now on…)

Side by side comparison
Side by side comparison

Rapunzel’s a bit smaller than Ai-chan, as you can see, but not so much smaller that Ai-chan–or some other BJD Ai or similarly scaled doll–shouldn’t be able to use Rapunzel’s guitar.  (Yes, I was totally serious about that.)  Then I got curious about more nitty-gritty scale for clothes sharing and stuff, so I decided to compare them with their dresses off.

I, uh, I’d never undressed either of my BJD Ai dolls before.

Undressed comparison
Undressed comparison

I know people always say that BJDs are anatomically correct, but I hadn’t really processed the fact that that included BJD Ai.  That seemed just a wee bit wrong to be right next to a Disney Store doll, so I put a slight modesty patch on the photo. 😛  (Normally I wouldn’t care, it being the photo of a doll, for cryin’ out loud, but next to a Disney Store doll?  That’s when it starts feeling wrong, y’know?)  Aaaaaaaaanyway, as you can see, Ai-chan is actually significantly stockier than Rapunzel, so there’s no chance she could wear Rapunzel’s clothes, but Rapunzel could wear Ai-chan’s clothes, as long as she didn’t mind them being crazy baggy.  (But now that I’ve put Ai-chan’s clothes back on her, I am not removing them again unless I plan on giving her an entirely different outfit, because her left hand did not want to go through her sleeve.  At all.  It was positively nightmarish, trying to get that hand through that sleeve.)  Oh, and this photo also shows you that Rapunzel has jointed knees, even though she does not have jointed elbows.  I’m not sure why that is.  The doll would be much better if the elbows were jointed as well, in my opinion; the arms get awkward pretty quickly.

Anyway, moving on to other small dolls….

With little Dal+
With little Dal+

They make a good match, color-wise, don’t you think?  Anyway, Rapunzel’s body is much bigger than the Little Pullip/Dal/Byul dolls, so there’s certainly no hope of clothes sharing there!  (Well, unless you want to put Rapunzel’s clothes on the Little+, but why would you want to?)  But the guitar might be an okay prop to go with them.  Ooooooh…..I just thought of a great use for it…hafta wait until October, but….yeah, that’ll be good…

With one of the LPS Blythes
With one of the LPS Blythes

Since the Petit Blythes (and by extension the simplified Littlest Pet Shop versions that were released in the US a while back, of which I have a surprisingly large number) are about the same size as the Little Pullip/Dal/Byuls, it comes as no surprise that Rapunzel’s bigger than this LPS Blythe, too.  I grabbed this one somewhat at random, but I’m a little worried by the dark circles above her eyes.  They look more like staining than eye-shadow, don’t they?  I need to look up some photos and see if this is what she was supposed to look like.  (She was from a Target-exclusive set with all black and white stuff.  The outfit came on a different LPS Blythe…)

With an Angel Dal
With an Angel Dal

Now, my Angel Dal, Candy, is much larger than Rapunzel, but her torso looks about the same size, which may mean that Rapunzel here can wear the clothes of both vintage and modern Strawberry Shortcake (Candy’s dress is off a modern Strawberry Shortcake doll) and Bratz Kidz clothes as well.  That will open up a a world of clothing possibilities for her, which is good, since the outfit she comes with looks rather more like a sparkly nightgown than a dress, per se.

Seated on the shelf
Seated on the shelf

Unfortunately, the way her joints are structured, she can’t sit in a ladylike fashion.  In fact, it’s actually very hard to get her to sit up at all:  she tends to pitch over backwards.  In this case, it’s okay, because the chair is heavier than she is, and holds her up, but otherwise…difficult.

She looks a bit frightened by her new location.  I guess she’s afraid Lottie’s going to hold her to ransom, but she needn’t be:  pirate or no, Lottie’s a good girl.  She ought to be more afraid of the zombies hanging out behind her. 😛  (Though she ought to be grateful that I don’t have the Once Upon a Zombie version of her, considering the very strong basis on the Tangled Rapunzel in that one.  Fortunately, I found that one unredeemably creepy, and didn’t buy it.)

(Album link.)

Anyway, the sales receipt had one of those “go to this web address and fill out a survey, and we’ll give you x% off your next purchase” things on it, right?  (In this case, it promised 10% off a purchase of $40.  Not the greatest deal in the world, but since I was thinking of getting the Snow White of these, that’s already a $20 purchase right there, right?)  So I went to fill out the survey, and it was a particularly annoying one.  Things that didn’t need a “don’t know” option had one–like how long it took sales people to notice you (they can’t have gone without noticing you at all, or you couldn’t have bought something)–and things that did need a “don’t know/not applicable” option didn’t have one, like how well sales people were able to help you find what you were looking for.  Because apparently they assume that it’s a physical impossibility that anyone could walk into a store like that without a) having one particular item/character they’re looking for and b) being utterly incapable of finding it without assistance.  (And yet, on the question “What brought you to the store today” one of their pre-defined answers was “Just browsing.”)  Not only was it annoying and internally inconsistent, it didn’t even ask some of the most basic questions that you’d expect it to ask from a store like that:  how many kids you have, what ages those kids are, whether you were shopping for a boy or a girl, et cetera.

So I go through this annoying process to get the coupon, and finally get the coupon, and it had expired the day before.  Seriously, I made the purchase on September 1st, filled out the survey on September 1st, and the coupon was good for the entire month of August.  Many very filthy words flooded forth from my mouth on seeing that.  But I figured that there might be a chance that it would at least still work online, so I went to the website and looked around and found $40 of stuff–the first $39.95 was easy, but after that it was annoying trying to find something really cheap to get it over the $40 without going too high over–and fortunately the coupon did in fact still work, at least online.  And I ordered a doll I’d never heard of before–it’s apparently usually only sold at the Disney parks–that looks interesting, so it worked out in the end, I suppose (except I’m already regretting my choice for the cheap final item) but man, was that annoying.  Especially since the code I had to type in to start the survey in the first place was like 25 digits long.  They actively didn’t want me to take that survey. 😛

So, there you have it.  An impulse purchase that has now set me on a path towards wanting to acquire as many tiny/nano BJDs as I can, just because they’ll be so much fun to have interact with each other.  Like I need more things to spend money on.

*Sigh*

Random photo
Random repeat photo to remind me how cute she is.
Leave a Reply

