Angel Pullip and Bratz Kidz: A Comparison

I put up a little bit about the similarities between these two before, when my first two Angel Pullips arrived, but now I wanted to go all out and really write up the similarities, including a striking detail I hadn’t noticed yet when I posted before.

The trio in question
The trio in question

So in the middle we have a Bratz Kidz doll, and the Angel Dal was released under the name Ciel (LOL, this was the year before the first Pullip/Kuroshitsuji dolls hit the market) while the Angel Pullip was released with the name Becky.  I’ll probably be giving them new names eventually–particularly in the Angel Dal’s case!–but for the moment, I haven’t thought of names for them yet.  (FYI, my earlier Angel Dal, released as “Biccy,” is now named Candy, and the Angel Pullip, originally “Cindy” is now Tink, or sometimes mini-Tink, since my Dal Tinkerbell is still called Tink, even though she’s long since abandoned that role.)

For the purpose of the following comparison shots, I have the Angels standing on things to even up their height a bit, since the primary difference in heights between them and the Bratz doll is the length of their legs.  (However, the height correcting items are not exactly the right height to make them correspond perfectly, since I was just using whatever I had handy.  So there’s still discrepancies.)

Front of face comparison
Front of face comparison

There are some differences–Becky’s face is a bit taller, and her lips aren’t so prominent–but the similarities are also quite striking, I think. (Wow, and that direct light makes the slight difference in color between the vinyl and plastic parts of the Brat really stand out.  (Well, Bratz is plural, so…yeah, I should look up her name….okay, looks like her name is Yasmin.  We’re going with that, even if it isn’t, ’cause it’s less awkward.))

Profile comparison
Profile comparison

The similarities are less striking here, though I should have pushed Yasmin’s hair aside to show you her ears, as they have the same shape as Becky’s.  I tried to do a profile comparison with Candy, too, but her bangs really obliterated most of her profile, so it didn’t work out very well.  (I had used her instead of Ciel because I thought her Candy’s bangs would be less intrusive…)

Arm comparison
Arm comparison

Their arm shapes are so similar that I’m surprised MGA didn’t sue.  (Bratz Kidz debuted in 2006, and Angel Pullip/Dal was in 2008.)  Though you notice Becky doesn’t have detailed fingernails and Yasmin does.  That’s sort of surprising; you’d expect a Pullip/Dal to be more detailed than a Bratz sub-line, wouldn’t you?  But the Angel Pullip/Dal dolls were sort of the “budget” line from Groove, so I suppose that’s why.

BTW, you’ll notice in this shot, too, that Becky has a bit of a stain on her arm.  Both she and Ciel had some staining issues, particularly on their legs; the ties holding them in their boxes had left rust-like marks on their legs.  Not entirely surprising, I suppose, since they’d been in those boxes since 2008, and yet how did a plastic-coated twist-tie leave rust marks?  There’s no connection between the metal within and the doll’s leg, and in Ciel’s case it went through her leg-warmers.  (Maybe the staining was actually from the leg-warmers?)  Not to mention the fact that Candy and Tink have no such staining issues.  It’s odd.  (This particular spot on Becky’s arm is probably due to the pom poms she was “holding” in her box…)

Feet, part 1
Feet, part 1

This is what I hadn’t noticed until long after I’d made that previous post.  The Angel Pullip/Dal line have removable feet with a plug shaped almost identically to the one on the Bratz Kidz line.  However…

Feet, part 2
Feet, part 2

While Becky was able to wear Yasmin’s shoe, Yasmin couldn’t wear Becky’s.  The plug and hole are slightly larger on the Bratz Kidz dolls, and their shoes are made of a vinyl with some give to it, whereas the feet on the Angel dolls are hard plastic, and have no give whatsoever.  The Angel dolls’ feet presumably were not intended to be swapped by the consumer, and were only manufactured in this manner in order to allow the painted-on shoes to have some individual shaping, but without forcing them to make different leg molds.  (The stain you see on Becky’s leg here is probably also from her pom poms.  In the box, one was hanging down towards her legs.)

Ciel's mis-matched feet :P
Ciel’s mismatched feet 😛

As you can see here, the Bratz Kidz feet are significantly larger than the Angel Dal feet, to the extent that the lip around the top of the foot is very noticeable on Ciel, much more so than it was on Becky.  (And yes, I realize that it might have looked better if I had been using a Bratz Kidz doll with skin color closer to that of the Angel dolls.  But I don’t have one.  This is the palest one I’ve got.)

Anyway, that’s enough about feet.  (Except to say that MGA’s thing about swappable feet to prevent the loss of shoes, while a good idea in theory, was not a good idea in practice:  you can find old Bratz dolls being sold sans feet because the owners lost all the feet.  A barefoot doll is definitely more appealing than a footless one.  Not to mention there’s all the additional problems with skin tones making it impossible to put some shoes on some dolls.)

Body shape comparison
Body shape comparison

As you can see, Yasmin’s torso is more slender, and a bit more developed:  she has the beginnings of breasts (despite being a “kid”) and a more slender waist.  Her painted-on panties look more like panties and less like a block of color, too, but that’s irrelevant.  Also you may note that even in this size, Dal is smaller and more slender than Pullip.  Why they bothered making her more slender as well as shorter is beyond me, but that’s neither here nor there.

Another comparison
Another comparison

While I was at it, I thought I’d also compare Dal with modern and vintage Strawberry Shortcake dolls, since the modern doll is the one who contributed the dress Candy is wearing.  (And let me tell you, it looks a lot better on Candy!)  As you can see, when I was setting up this photo, the 35 year old rubber bands in Blueberry Muffin’s hair decided to give up the ghost and disintegrate. 😦  Anyway, the thing to notice here is that Ciel is a bit more trim than the modern Strawberry Shortcake doll (who I identified earlier as Cherry Jam, but she might actually be Raspberry Torte or more likely Plum Pudding; I’m not sure) and a lot more trim than the vintage doll, whose body is shaped much more like an actual child’s.  The other thing, of course, is that neither of those dolls have the meaty forearms of Bratz Kidz and Angel dolls, which made me decide not to attempt any further clothes swapping between Strawberry Shortcake dolls and Angel dolls:  the dress on Candy only worked because its “sleeves” were basically just puffs at the shoulders, and even then it was such a bear to get it over her forearms that I decided I was never, ever going to take it back off her again.

As to clothing swapping between Bratz Kidz and the Angel dolls, I was briefly stymied in any attempts, as all three of the Bratz Kidz dolls I have were ones that came with plastic snap-on clothes, like Yasmin’s shirt in the photos above.  (I can’t imagine why they had her wearing cloth tights/pants with a plastic shirt, though.)  Those obviously weren’t going to work.  But it turned out that some Bratz Kidz clothes could still be had from Amazon at very reasonable prices.  (Seriously, $4 per.)  So I picked up three outfits that seemed like they might look good on Ciel and Becky:

The outfits in package
The outfits in package

But before I get to those, let me show you the results of some other experiments with doll clothing of a similar scale, as I tried to determine if any other dolls’ clothes would fit the Angel dolls.

(Please disregard the clashing feet.)
(Please disregard the clashing feet.)

The Pinkie Cooper dress Becky is modeling here is what I put the modern Strawberry Shortcake doll into after Candy appropriated her dress.  It does fit Becky slightly better, but…it’s not really very flattering on either of them.  (Somewhere, I have a second of these dresses, but I couldn’t find it, which is somewhat alarming.)

La Dee Da
La Dee Da

Yes, La Dee Da clothes are actually too wide for them.  These clothes are too narrow for normal Monster High dolls, but they’re too wide for the Angel dolls.  Wow.  Though that red jumper looks kind of cute on Becky despite being too big for her, I think.  (Helps that it matches her shoes, of course…)

Isn't she cute?
Isn’t she cute?

I’ll be honest:  I’m not sure where, exactly, this dress came from.  It’s got a Barbie tag in it, but it’s much too thin for Kelly, so I don’t know who the dress is actually for.  I have a number of small Barbie dolls that are fairies and mermaids, some of them being simply miniaturized Barbies, and others being more child-like, so I think this dress probably came with one of those, but I’d have to try it on all the different body shapes (I think I could easily find at least three body shapes among those dolls, probably more) to get an idea which one it actually came with.  Regardless, it fits Ciel perfectly, and matches her shoes to boot.

Kelly dress
Kelly dress

The Kelly dress, on the other hand, is a bit large for her in terms of width, but also quite short.  Still looks pretty cute, though.

Chelsea dress
Chelsea dress

This one looks pretty good, too, and even matches her shoes!  The doll this came on was a Target Valentine’s Day doll, and in my mind she was always “that larger Kelly” but the name “Chelsea” was printed on the back of her painted-on undies, so I guess I was always wrong about that.  (I only pick up the super-little sisters when I see one that’s really cute, and I tend not to pay much attention to their names and other fiddling details like that.)

In the Bratz Kidz outfits
In the Bratz Kidz outfits

I thought this way would work nicely, because the coloration on the blue skirt goes well with Ciel’s eyes.  And technically it also matches her shoes, but you can’t see them because the skirt is so long.  However, the feet that came with the other dress are pretty badly mismatched with Becky’s legs, in terms of skin tone, and the gap between the legs and the feet is jarringly obvious, but because of the colors of the dress, having her wear her own red shoes would look hideous.

Swap!
Swap!

So I switched them.  The skirt mostly hides Becky’s shoes–the ones that came with this outfit–so even if you see them, it’s only brief glances of the toes, and not enough to highlight the fact that the skin color doesn’t quite match and that the feet are too big for her legs.  This outfit looks much better on Becky than the other one did, but unfortunately I feel like it looked better on Ciel, too. 😦  Still, the heart-print dress is fairly cute on Ciel, so it’s not a total loss.  But I’ll probably change her clothes before I’ll change Becky’s.

Speaking of Becky’s outfit, though, I have to say that I was very disappointed in MGA.  It’s a very shoddily manufactured outfit:  the edges of both the shirt and the skirt are neither hemmed nor treated with anything to stop them from fraying.  In consequence, the shirt was already fraying before I even removed it from the package.  I need to pick up something to treat both halves of the costume to keep it from getting worse.  (But first I have to make time to go to Jo-Ann’s or someplace like that; I doubt the grocery store would have anti-fraying sprays.)  The strange thing is, it’s only the one outfit:  the other two are well manufactured, with hemmed, serged or trimmed edges all around.  (The third outfit is now on Yasmin, because her leggings/tights/pants/whatevers absolutely refused to go back on her legs.  It didn’t seem worth fighting with them, especially since I had a brand new outfit just sitting around.  It looks much better on her than the one she came in, and the shirt is close enough in color that she can wear her own shoes, which is good since the ones that came with the outfit were intended for a much darker doll.)

Since I had all these clothes sitting around, I thought I’d indulge my curiosity about how they’d fit another doll:

Rats.
Rats.

Ciel’s shirt looks adorable on mini-Rapunzel, but the skirt was way too small for her.  Like vintage Strawberry Shortcake, or like Kelly, mini-Rapunzel has a chubby tummy, because she’s supposed to be a little kid, and that makes it much harder to fit her with clothes for other dolls.

With Kelly and Chelsea
With Kelly and Chelsea

See, doesn’t Chelsea look like she’s just a bigger Kelly?  I’m not sure what happened to Kelly’s shoes, btw.  She’s been around a while; the copyright date on her back was 1994, and I likely bought her not too long after that.  (I had a very Barbie-heavy period around 1997-1999.  A lot of my Barbies were bought in those years.)  The important thing here is that while their heights are radically different, all three of these girls have very similarly shaped and sized torsos.  (I wonder why Chelsea is holding her stomach, though.  Does she think she’s Napoleon?)

Big sister's dress?
Big sister’s dress?

The Pinkie Cooper outfit is much too big for Rapunzel, which is a pity, since it matches her lips so well.  On the other hand, a little kid in a dress that’s too big for her gives the impression of playing dress-up, so that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  (Though I certainly can’t see Mother Gothel wearing this style!)

Chelsea's dress
Chelsea’s dress

Chelsea’s dress fits her pretty well, with the added bonus that she can wear Chelsea’s shoes, too!  (I need to find a Kelly who still has her shoes on so I can see if she can also wear Kelly shoes…)  Of course, the bright red is not a good color on Rapunzel here, but I also have a pink version; that would probably look quite good.

Kelly's dress
(Please ignore the dust/lint jutting out across her arm…)

Kelly’s dress looked so good on Rapunzel that I decided to let her keep it.  After all, it matches her eyes so nicely!  The one down side is that it’s quite short on her, so she can’t sit down in it without her unladylike sitting pose flashing her painted-on purple panties at all and sundry.  She’s now standing on the chair she was sitting on earlier, which at least makes room for Pascal to join her on the chair.  (But why is he glittery!?)

Swap!
Swap!

Since I gave Kelly’s dress to Rapunzel, it was only fair to give Rapunzel’s dress to Kelly, right?  It looks even more like a nightgown on Kelly than it did on Rapunzel.  (It, too, is glittery.  Why is everything from the Disney Store glittery?  I don’t get it…)

There’s gallery of all these pictures (and a few I didn’t use) here.

Leave a Reply

