Boo York Cleo and Deuce Two-Pack (100th post)

Well, I wanted my 100th post to be a little more significant than a Monster High review, but I don’t have time to take photos right now, and I’ve had these sitting around since…um…July, I think.  (It was before my old laptop broke.)  And this being October, Monster High seems particularly apropos.  So, much delayed review.  (After this review had been delayed about a month by broken computer and inrush of new, more exciting dolls, I started planning on waiting until I had photos of all the Boo York dolls, but I don’t quite have all of them yet, and I haven’t photographed the other three I do have, so…)

The (un)happy couple
The (un)happy couple

The first thing you notice about them in the package — both in the dolls themselves and in the drawing on the box — is that Cleo seems to be pushing Deuce away.  (Apparently her sister is trying to break them up in the direct-to-DVD CG movie these accompany.  I purposefully avoid such things for fear of them reducing my love of the dolls I’ve spent too much money on, so I can’t address that any further.)  Anyway, the important thing here is the dolls themselves.

Cleo in charge
Cleo in charge

They’ve gone with a bronze theme here, which I very much like, though it’s not very Egyptian.  (Unless it were weapons and armor.  That was bronze.  Depending on the time period, anyway.  Egyptian culture went from the Bronze Age into the Iron Age relatively undisturbed, after all.)  Her dress has a semi-batiked look, with mosaic-like blue and purple squares.  (Accompanied, as always, by mummy-wrapping-like swathes of other colors, which in this case is bronze-colored.)  Again, it’s not very Egyptian, but very attractive.  The bronze “wrappings” continue up her arms, with black mesh between the “bandages.”

Close-up for jewelry
Close-up for jewelry

Her headdress (which I totally failed to get a good picture of 😦 ) features the goddess Isis, with her wings outstretched, an appropriate goddess indeed for a living mummy:  Isis is perhaps best known for having reassembled her dismembered husband Osiris after his brother Set (also sometimes spelled Seth) tore him to pieces in order to take his throne.  (She couldn’t find one of Osiris’ parts…and yet managed to get pregnant with Horus anyway, which is a good trick, considering how vital that particular part is to the whole pregnancy thing!)  Her earrings are more bronze bandages, and her eye make-up is more outspokenly Egyptian than usual.  (Though, again, I stupidly failed to get a good close-up of the side that’s got the more interesting eye make-up.  Once I have time, I’ll get a better shot of her face and put it up here.  Something head-on, instead of three-quarters profile.  (What was I trying to do, Amarna-style?  If it’d been full profile, I’d get it, but three-quarters?  Weird.))  Her hair is a very dark blue, with some black streaks, and a few strands of bronze metallic thrown in.  Most strikingly, she’s got a decided metallic shimmer to her skin, which is new to Cleo, though Nefara had that metallic sheen from the beginning.

Bandage or shawl?
Bandage or shawl?

Just a close-up to show that the loose bit does go all the way around behind her.  It connects to both her wrists.  It’s interesting to look at, but it’s hard to find an “in world” justification for something like that; it would get in her way if she tried to do almost anything.  (Please disregard the rubber band on the top of her shoe.  I always worry that if I take those bands off, whatever they’re holding in place will fall off, get limp, or otherwise be messed up.  And given the way the snakes are trying to slip down despite the rubber bands, I think I’m justified in leaving them in place…)

Fabulous footgear
Fabulous footgear

Pharonic bronze sandals, with snakes winding up her legs all the way to the knees.  There is so much to love here!  (While I never wanted to go into Egyptology, I’ve always loved the look of ancient Egyptian art.)  Like the dangly bandage, they’re terribly impractical if you think about what they’d be like if you tried to wear them for real, but they’re wonderfully fun to look at on a doll.  The heels are also neat-looking, but don’t photograph well.

Deuce, all dressed up
Deuce, all dressed up

(Please ignore the different background.  I forgot to take a picture of him by himself when I did the first photo shoot, and had to grab this one the next time I did a photo shoot, which was on a different piece of furniture.)  Overall, I really like the look of this Deuce; he’s definitely the favorite of the ones in my collection.  I’m all for the snake-inspired shirt, and the bronze boots.  As to his pants…well, wait for the close-up…

He fed sedatives to his hair!
He fed sedatives to his hair!

I’m so glad they finally decided to re-use this alternate hair mold for him!  I missed out on the Dawn of the Dance Deuce, so I didn’t have this hairstyle represented in my collection at all.  I note that he, too, has some shimmer to him.  (Uh, Deuce, dear, applying shimmery body powder is not terribly masculine…)  I really appreciate the serpentine eyes…but why are his eyebrows brown?  Shouldn’t they be green?

Those pants...they aren't...you DIDN'T...!?!
Those pants…they aren’t…you DIDN’T…!?!

Why in the name of all the gods on Mt. Olympos would a man with snakes for hair be wearing snakeskin pants?!  I mean, did he skin his relatives?!  Eeew!  His mom ought to petrify him a while to punish him for that.  Or remind him, in front of his friends, that one of his half-brothers is a horse. 😛

(Though I’d like to have it explained to me how Medusa “got better” after having her head chopped off.  And did she ever tell Deuce that his elder brothers were born out of the severed end of her neck?  For that matter, who’s his father, anyway?  Somehow I doubt it’s Poseidon again…)

Bronze shades
Bronze shades

On the other hand, I really love his shades.  This whole line has a very metallic theme to it (Nefara, in fact, is genuinely wearing armor!) and so he has bronze sunglasses with a pebbly texture, very like the texture of the stands.  Though, as usual, I prefer to have Deuce not wear his shades.  My dolls know better than to look into the eyes of a gorgon… 😛

Gladiator boots?  Sandal-boots?
Gladiator boots? Sandal-boots?

I think now we know the real reason Cleo was pushing him away in the box:  his open-sided boots were releasing his manly boot stank. 😛  Okay, no, really I think they’re very interesting; an attempt, I suppose, to give him vaguely ancient Greece-inspired footwear.  (I’d like it better if they just went ahead and gave him actual sandals, of course…)

This photo lets you see the unique bases of the Boo York stands.  The stands themselves are silver, apart from the clear doll-grips, and there’s a raw rock motif to the sides of the stands.  I don’t know if there’s any reason for that, but they look cool, in any event.

Well, that’s the end of my photos, though I definitely should have taken more of them.  Whenever I next have time for a photo shoot, I’ll grab a few more of these two.

Meanwhile, I need to go hunt down some measurements on 1/3 scale dolls, because I finally have a little money again, and so I’m going to go to Etsy and order new clothes and a new wig for Clara Marie…who actually has a new name now, but I’m going to wait to reveal it along with her new look. 😀  I’ve got my eye on a few dresses, but I need to check the measurements for the dolls they were made for, to see if they’re likely to fit her.

Leave a Reply

