I guess I know the reason now.

The reason I love dolls so much, that is.

Because dolls do not hold incredibly loud parties in the middle of the street until 3 a.m.

Dolls don’t make any noise at all.  (Unless they’re the kind with a built-in speaker of some sort, but even then they don’t make noise until you tell them to.)

Seriously, though, street party with blaring loud music, which they turned up at midnight.  That’s when I called the cops.  When the police arrived, the partiers turned the music off…

…for ten minutes.

I probably should have called the police again, but what was the point?  It would have just gone on all night:  the police come, the music turns off, ten minutes later the music turns on again, the police come back, the music turns off, ten minutes later the music turns on again….I was afraid the police would arrest me for wasting their time.  (And/or the people holding the party would have held a witch-hunt looking for me, planning to punish me for trying to ruin their inebriated “fun.”)

I wasn’t able to go to bed until 3:30, but I woke up at my usual time of 7ish, because my body has become hard-wired that way.  Obviously, I’ve been sort of bleary and tired all day as a result.

Dolls would never do this to me.  (Apart, perhaps, from fretting over where I’ll get the money to pay for my doll-collecting habit.  I really need to start buying lottery tickets…)

Oh, speaking of lotteries, I entered Junie Moon’s lottery for a chance to buy the new Alice-themed Neo Blythe.  I’ll doubtless not win (though I admit to having no idea how many dolls they’ve got to sell, so I have no idea what the odds are) but…well, a new Alice-themed Middie was also released, and there’s no lottery on that one, so I’ll buy her instead if I don’t win.  (Technically, I was only haunting the site in order to get in on the ground floor, as it were, on a Middie release, since I don’t have a Middie, and I love adding variety to my collection, but the new Neo is a much cooler doll than the new Middie, in my opinion.  Based on the promo photos, anyway.)

So by the time NaNo is over, whichever Blythe I get might have arrived (uh, assuming that when I check my bank balance I still feel I can afford one), and I’ll have that to talk about, as well as displaying the new persona of “Clara Marie“:  her clothes just arrived, and they’re wonderful, too.  😀  Also, I may want to do a post on the marvelousness of Romana’s hat:  I’ve put it on a couple of other dolls, just to do something with it (I need a doll-sized hat rack, I suppose, because I don’t want to store it with the clothes, for fear of it getting crushed and ruined) and in both cases it turned out to look wonderful on them.  Is it the miracle hat that looks good on every head?  (Okay, actually, I can definitely think of some dolls it would not look good on.  Oscar, for example; straw hat and ancien regime were not meant to mix.)  There’s also various other orders on the way; my two Little+ dolls from JPGroove (and I keep haunting the sample sale, hoping for something good to be added, but it sounds like I missed out on one of the precious vampire dolls this afternoon 😦  so who knows if that’ll ever come to anything for me), and then there’s the Licca head-with-costume and Pure Neemo XS body on the way, and Romana’s new coat.  Also Romana has a pair of shoes still on the way, and I’m starting to get worried that they haven’t arrived yet.  (I wouldn’t think it would take that much longer for things to arrive from Australia than from Taiwan or Hong Kong.)  Oh, and Pyrrha’s new dress arrived, but since it’s mostly black, I thought I better give it a colorfasting treatment, lest it stain her.  (Her hat was touching a bit of her neck in her Halloween costume, and it left a small stain there. 😦  And since her new outfit was sewn by the same person who made the hat, I think it’s safe to assume that it’s just as stain-prone.)  The dress looks great, though, so once I remember to buy some vinegar for the treatment, it’ll be good to go.

BTW, what do people usually do with doll wigs when the dolls aren’t wearing them?  I’ve got Tangkou’s wig hanging from the post-thing on the top of a shelving unit, which looks weird and is actually quite hard to reach (it’s a very tall shelf, and I’m short) but I wasn’t sure what else to do with it without wrecking it.  (Not, actually, that her wig was all that great to begin with, but…)

*sigh*

Okay, fun’s over.

Back to the grind.  I have a presentation to write for Tuesday, and a paper to write for Thursday.  (For different classes, of course.)  Plus I need to keep cranking out words for NaNo.  (Well, maybe need is an overstatement…)

5 thoughts on “I guess I know the reason now.

  1. Olive November 8, 2015 / 10:15 pm

    NaNo looks rigorous! Good luck!! Ahh you’re thinking of getting Dark rabbit hole? Her silver hair is really unique I think, and her stock is very pretty. I agree she’s more interesting than the middie Mary Ann. Do you have a character in mind for either the middie or the neo?

    Like

    • Iphis of Scyros November 9, 2015 / 1:10 pm

      NaNo is definitely rigorous, but I tend to be verbose in my writing, so for me it’s the challenge to find the time, rather than the words. (Though at present the challenge is to force myself to do my homework instead of my NaNo writing. I really don’t want to write this week’s paper…)

      I usually only give characters to dolls I’m going to remove from their stock, and the Alice theme pretty much guarantees I won’t be doing that. 😛 (I might have more to say on this subject, but actually I’m–surprisingly enough–about to write a post which will say most, if not all, of it…)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Olive November 8, 2015 / 10:15 pm

    Also, noisy people are the worst.

    Like

  3. dannyscotland November 9, 2015 / 8:44 pm

    I totally would have called the police again. And I would have told them to hang around in case it started back up. It’s their job, and you have a right to your sleep. The partiers may feel they have a right to be loud, but only to the point that it begins to infringe on the rights of others. I once called because I was awakened from a sound sleep at 1am by music so loud it could be heard over the hum of my window AC unit. It was coming from 2 streets over. No joke. How did their neighbors manage that? I hope you get better sleep tonight.

    Like

    • Iphis of Scyros November 12, 2015 / 1:44 pm

      Yeah, I probably should have called them back. (That was certainly what my family told me when I related the tale to them. My mother even pointed out that the son (who I have never met) of her neighbors (who I also have never met) was one of the police in my neighborhood, as if that was somehow going to help.) I guess it’s just that there were so many people out there, and I was afraid it was going to turn into a “one vs many” thing, with the obvious conclusion that the “one” loses. (Which, granted, is what happened anyway.)

      The problem was that the street they were on is partially closed off; I live in a little subdivision, and the first road that leads out of the subdivision again must have been used as a shortcut to get around the stoplight a lot, because at some point (long before I moved in) permanent barricades were put up, so that foot traffic could get past, but no vehicle larger than a bicycle (or maybe a scooter) could pass. So they were in that closed off section, and therefore weren’t disturbing any traffic, so long as the four houses on that part of the street were all involved. (Which I presume they were.) I know exactly which house had to be the ringleader, though; they’re always having noisy parties. Well, I say “always” but it’s more like once every three months. (Still, I wish they would move away. Or that *I* could afford to move away. Either way works for me…)

      Like

Leave a Reply

