Dark Rabbit Hole Blythe

It took me the whole Thanksgiving break to write the first draft of that paper, so she spent all too long in her box, but she’s finally out now!

Still in the box here...
Still in the box here…

Her box is covered with card suits, and drawings of various Alice-themed things, like the ever-so-slightly eerie White Rabbit below the name of the doll on the front here.  Other things on the sides include tables and an “eat me” macaron.  (Pictures of the other sides of the box are in the gallery.)

Finally de-boxed!
Finally de-boxed!

Underneath her clothes, she’s entirely wrapped in protective plastic, so I don’t have to worry about her getting stained.  I did cut off most of the plastic that was sticking out of her sleeves.  (Unfortunately, it’s still showing…)  Now that I’m looking at the photo, I think I need to fix her bangs a bit; they look sort of helmetty.  (There’s no product in them, though.  They just look stiff.)

Back view
Back view

The back of her hair could be prettier; I’ll probably try and style it a bit over the break.  But it has a nicer feel to it than Romana’s, so that’s good. 🙂

Key-shaped necklace
Key-shaped necklace

In this close-up, you can see that the playing card motif from her box is also the print on her dress.  She has gold(-colored) accessories; the little gold cuff buttons are nice, but it’s the gold key on a delicate little gold chain that really catches the eye.  The top of her pinafore has black and white stripes to match her tights.

Decorative apron
Decorative apron

The card motif continues on the apron of the pinafore.  (Skirt of the pinafore?  I’m not terribly well versed in the terminology of 19th century children’s apparel…)  The cards look nice, but they feel stiff and plasticy.  Remember what T-shirt decorations felt like in the ’80s?  (Before you washed ’em a few times and started losing the design, I mean.)  That’s what these feel like.  (Presumably, it’s the same type of image transfer.)  That may be the reason the pinafore’s skirt seems to behaving a bit stiffly, poofing out.  (Or it could be because the plastic under her clothes make her just slightly too thick, making it hard to fit her in her stand, and thus goofing up her whole outfit.)

Checkerboard tights
Checkerboard tights

Or maybe I should call them super-tall socks?  They only go up to about the bottom of her bloomers.  (Bloomers not shown for reasons of delicacy.  Also ’cause I didn’t think of taking the picture.)  Anyway, I wasn’t able to get her socks/tights on very well, so there was a bit more fabric near the toes than there probably was supposed to be.  Net result, her cute little shoes don’t fit terribly well.  Combine that with the stand troubles I mentioned above, and it’s hard to keep her feet from turning outward.  😦  In any case, they’re nice shoes, with some gold paint to give them extra details.  Oh, speaking of the stand, you can see here that it’s black, with a gold shaft.  That’s a nice touch.  (I didn’t bother with the paper punch-out thing this time, given how it doesn’t like to cooperate on Romana’s stand.)

Earrings!
Earrings!

This is totally not a flattering shot of her face:  you can see all too much of the eye mechanism. 😦  I’m not a giant fan of these orange eye chips, either.  But I do like the little gold-colored, heart-shaped earrings!

Pink eyes
Pink eyes

She has a sweet face-up, with her lips painted a bit more smile-like than most.  Very thick eyelashes…and it occurs to me (while I’m writing this at school and can’t do a thing about it) that I never moved aside her bangs to look at her eyeshadow. *sigh*  That is just so me.  Well, I can’t add the Dropbox links from here anyway (rather, I’m not sure how to do that on the iPad) so I’ll check when I get home.  I have to say, though, that I’m not sure about the wisdom of pink eyechips on a doll whose outfit is mostly red.  This photo also unfortunately highlights the sole loose thread on the bow on her headband.  I need to cut that thread off.  (BTW, I’ve looked now, and her eyeshadow is a muted dark gray, more like an actual shadow than makeup, really.)

Those stray hairs!
Those stray hairs!

Alice isn’t pleased about those stray hairs that keep floating in front of her cheek.  These are nice eyechips, but I think the front-facing sky blue pair are my favorites.

Speaking of “Alice isn’t pleased,” I’m not so sure Pullip Alice du Jardin Mint is terribly pleased at the arrival of a new Alice.  There may just be a confrontation coming….

(Like, after I have time to write it and take the pictures…)

One thought on “Dark Rabbit Hole Blythe

  1. Olive December 4, 2015 / 1:37 am

    She’s really cute! I love her special chips, and I also am not a fan of stock orange and pink eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

