Lonely the Makie Elf

The last of my Black Friday purchases arrived yesterday.

Due to the intense need to focus on my final paper, I hadn’t checked my e-mail in, I dunno, four or five days.  So when I went into my e-mail to e-mail in my paper (even though I was on campus, lol) I was surprised to see Monday’s e-mail from Makielabs to tell me that my doll had shipped.  And when I ran the tracking number, I was even more surprised to be told it had been delivered some ten minutes earlier!  Now that’s some fast shipping!

So I got home and found a yellow plastic shipping bag on the porch.  I had been expecting a box, so that was kind of surprising.  Inside the bag was this:

Groovy!
Groovy!

Now, before I show you my Makie, let me first show you roughly what I told them to make her look like.  For those who aren’t familiar with Makies, they let you design the doll’s face, and then they 3D print it.  They used to 3D print the bodies as well, but now they’re plastic, which is why the price dropped.  Anyway, the first time I designed this doll face, this is what I came up with:

Screen-cap from early November
Screen-cap from early November

Because I wasn’t buying her at the time I first designed her, I did an extensive set of screen captures so I could re-input her design when I was ready to buy.  (Extensive in that I wanted to capture each control input so I’d know where each slider was.)  The one thing that really changed was that I decided to make the mouth smaller, which I think was a good call.  I think I did the eyebrows slightly differently, too.

Anyway, the reason I picked that particular skin tone was because I’d heard that it was the one where the plastic body and the 3D printed head matched best.  Okay, now I’ll get back to the real doll!

Not the most pre-possessing first impression.
Not the most pre-possessing first impression.

The waving “hello” thing didn’t work as well for Lonely, for some reason.  And the wig was all scrunched up inside that hair net….

That's better!
That’s better!

Lonely’s body is somewhat child-like, so it’s going to be difficult to find her clothing.  Uh, wait, actually, Makies are pretty popular among the collector-customizer crowd.  There’s probably a lot of clothes specifically made for them on Etsy.  Never mind what I just said.  However, it’s a certainty that she can’t share clothes with my other dolls.

The, uh, wig is still a bit…um…not how it looked on the interface.  It’s also kind of rough and scratchy.  I mean, it looks all right, apart from the curls being wrecked right in front of her face, but…yeah, overall I should have gone with a different wig.  (Fortunately, it’s going to be super easy to remove, so I can get her a new wig from Etsy.  Or lots of new wigs…)

Lonely 4

The important thing is that I think her face worked out very well.  I mean, okay, maybe it was weird to spend $75 to make a sad-looking doll, but…do you have any idea how many smiling dolls I already have?  If you do know, please don’t tell me, ’cause I’m terrified to think of the number.  (Seriously, I have a ludicrous number of Barbies, and a lot of Monster High, and…)  While I’ve also got a number of pouty Dals and a couple of gasping Byuls, I didn’t have any who look sad.  (Except for my Sadness from the Disney Store, but that’s different.)  So…now I do. 😛  I find her face quite pleasing to look at though, which is obviously important!

Wig and ear
Wig and ear

The wig’s very visible cap is a little less than thrilling, but considering the wig hides her elf ears…yeah.  Problem is, I don’t have any other dolls with heads her size (at least, I don’t think I do) so I don’t know what I’ll do with her wig when I replace it.

Don't look at it!
Don’t look at it!

This photo is supposed to show two things.  One, the difference in skin tone between the plastic body and the 3D printed head.  And two, the fact that when her lips were being painted, a bit of excess paint ended up on her upper lip.  I’m thinking the skin tone difference isn’t too bad, but the shine difference is annoying.  After I’ve sanded the shine off of Pyrrha’s face, I may try to sand the shine off of Lonely’s body.  (I’ll test it first on someplace normally hidden, of course.)

Long lost sisters?
Long lost sisters?

Since Lonely’s got a frowny face and Dal has a pouty face, I thought I’d do a shot of Lonely together with Aiko.  She could be Aiko’s little sister, almost.  (The thing Lonely is holding is a little 3D printed bear that came with her.  Not sure why, exactly, but it’s cute, so I’m not complaining!)

Of course, if Lonely is Dal’s little sister, then…

Taeyang's even littler sister?
Taeyang’s even littler sister?

I thought Mad Hatter du Jardin was the Taeyang to use for the shot, given his hair color, but he has a darker skin tone than Lonely, so it’s still a bit off.  But she actually looks rather like him!  The face shape is pretty similar.  So I guess Lonely’s Mad Hatter du Jardin’s little sister.  No idea why she’s an elf, but…hey, Wonderland is supposed to be crazy, right?

Her body is nicely poseable, but it’s hard to get her to balance on her feet, because of the scale difference between head and body.  (Though compared to trying to get a Blythe to balance, that’s nothing!)  Right now, she’s borrowing Pyrrha’s chair to sit in, because if I sit her on the edge of a shelf she tilts over backwards.  I can see why people liked the old 3D printed bodies, though; the texture of her head is very pleasant, and having them actually match is always nice.  Plus apparently if you got them with pure white skin you could use cloth dye to dye them any color you wanted, which is freakin’ awesome.  (If I’d known about that in time, I’d have gotten some that way before they switched over to the plastic bodies!)  But maybe they’ll bring back the dyeable, white 3d printed bodies someday…

Anyway, there you have what little you have.  (Wait, what?)

I know I should have taken more pictures, but it was late(ish) and I was still somewhat stressed from that final paper.  I did take a couple more pictures, though, somewhat repetitive ones, which are in the gallery for the post.

I’ll take more (and hopefully better) pictures of Lonely later.  Especially once she has her new wig.  Whenever that’ll be.  (Haven’t even gone to Etsy to look for Makie-related stuff yet…)

3 thoughts on “Lonely the Makie Elf

  1. Olive December 17, 2015 / 10:07 pm

    Your makie is so neat! I think I will try making one on the website – I love how super customized the dolls are (one of my favorite aspect of video games)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Iphis of Scyros December 18, 2015 / 6:35 pm

      I’m trying to avoid going back to design more (yet) for fear I’m going to end up wanting to get them all made, too, like I did for Lonely. 😛

      Of course, once they start making male dolls again (temporarily discontinued because of the new plastic bodies, I think), I’m probably going to have to get one of *those*, too… 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

