New Year’s first blather post

Or something like that.  First I want to talk about the preceding two posts, the New Year’s Eve and New Year’s day special posts.

New Year's Eve 1

Barbara’s dress (and shoes) are from the Barbie Look collection.  Neither fits her perfectly, but…they look all right.  (But it’s killing the shoes; the stiletto heels keep bending and warping.)  Ironically, if I had waited until the mail came in (and had checked it before 10 p.m.), I could have put her in her beautiful new red dress from Etsy.  But I didn’t, so she’s still wearing this.  (I’ll show her new dress soon.)

The table came with my sole Ever After High doll, Madeline du Jardin.  (Formerly Madeline Dupres, formerly Maddy Hatter.)  However, I re-painted the roses to be darker, and the table to be sparkly black, so it would look more Monster High.  The food and stuff is totally random, in a variety of scales. *shame*  The cupcakes are Moxie Girls (I think), the stack of cups is Liv (I think), cake slice and the crepe are erasers that I thought might be good for Kaiko (to take the place of KAITO’s signature ice cream bar), the tea pot is Monster High (though I think it might actually be a watering can), and I have no idea where the little pink wine glass came from.

New Year's Eve 2

Yeloume’s dress is Only Hearts Club, but her shoes are…uh…whichever little sister of Barbie those shoes came from.  (Stacie, I think?  Or is her name Courtney?  I know the doll they came with, I just can’t remember her name…)  I think the shoes match the dress better than the shoes that actually came with the dress.  I totally want to re-body Yeolume, btw.  Not only does she have minimal posing ability, but her joints are all quite loose, particularly her hip joints.  I want her to have a body that doesn’t flop around so much, even if it’s not much more posable than the one she’s already got.  (I was thinking a Licca body might be good for her.  I’m going to compare the sizes when I do the body swapping for the Licca Miku duo.)

New Year's Eve 3

No, she did not come in that dress.  She came in a green dress.  (She’s a collector’s doll, as you might guess by the jewelry (which is original to her), the face-up and the eyelashes.)  I found her at Tuesday Mornings cheaply enough that I actually bought two, this one and one to leave in the box.

Pyrrha's party dress 1

I know I’ve previously mentioned that I had bought Pyrrha a new dress, which I had to give a colorfasting treatment before she could wear it, just in case, but somehow I hadn’t actually gotten around to showing it yet.  So here it is.  In an older photo, because Pyrrha is still in pieces, with a blank face. 😦  (But at least I’ve gotten glue sticks, so now her eye chips are also out, and I’ve been able to test the ones I’ve made.  I’ll post photos tomorrow or so.)  The dress is by NinaBella9, who also made her “main” outfit, the whitish two piece with the reddish paisley and the black hat.  (I still don’t know where those shoes came from, though…)  Anyway, the feather boa she was wearing in the New Year’s Eve photo came from Jo-Ann’s…or was it Michael’s?  It’s just an untreated crafting product. 😛  (And may have stained the interior of her kneecap, strangely…)

New Year's Eve 6

I got this little guy at Michael’s.  I know there’s no reason to think of Falcor as flying overhead to herald the new year (even in the book, that never happens), but I’ve been looking for an excuse to do something with him ever since I got him. 😛  (Naturally, the tag called him a “good luck dragon” so they wouldn’t infringe copyright.  But he is so totally Falcor.)

"Akemashite omedito gozaimasu!"
“Akemashite omedito gozaimasu!”

The new Made to Move body is amazing.  (And the $15 price tag is sweet!)  It’s actually better for posing than that Obitsu body I got for Len.  (You know, the one that was too small!)  I’m totally going to get more of these.  Definitely Teresa will be next, but I just had to start with this one, because having her kneel in that kimono was going to look so awesome.  I meant to do something nicer with her hair than the simple ponytail she came with, but…time prevented me from actually doing so.  (Next year, for sure.)

New Year 1

Since this doll had the same face mold as the Barbie from the New Year’s Eve party, I thought I’d just go with the joke(?) that it was really the same doll.  (The pink hair is not, however, a wig.)  This is my favorite Barbie face mold, btw. 😀  (Oh, and this box is where I got the spelling for the Japanese greeting, so if I got it wrong, I apologize.)

New Year 7

And this is the reason this Bratz doll is still in the box:  the box is too cool to open. 😛

New Year 10

Yeah, this one was random.  I had brought the mini Lalaloopsy in to photograph her, then forgot to give her to any of the dolls who could hold her, and…well, Mulan was the next closest I could find to a doll in a kimono.  (If I’d thought about doing this more than a few days before actually doing it, I could have ordered some Pullip, Blythe or Monster High-sized kimonos from Etsy.  But as it is, the one I put on Lea was the only one to spare.)  The reason Mulan’s face looks a slightly different color than her body is that it’s got a color-change treatment on it:  it turns white, so you can give her the half-painted, half-unpainted face like during that one song.  (Yes, this is a doll I bought back at the time the movie came out.)

Okay, so before I finish talking about these posts, the album for the party is here, and the album for New Year’s day is here.  (But the Pyrrha photos aren’t in those albums, only in Pyrrha’s own album.)

Now, other stuff.  I had wanted my last toy purchase of 2015 to be She-Ra related, since it was her 30th anniversary, but since Mattel stubbornly refused to admit that She-Ra was a doll line that had been aimed at girls, all they’re making these days is those hideous action figures that look nothing like the dolls, so I couldn’t buy anything new.  And I hit all the used places around here that reliably carry used/vintage toys on the 30th, but couldn’t find any that I didn’t already have.  (And I didn’t have time to scour the antique malls on the off chance of finding one.)  So I was going to go on Etsy and buy a vintage one there (even though I wouldn’t have gotten her until this year) but the Perfuma I had favorited was “unavailable” when I clicked on her listing, even though it didn’t say “Sold” on my favorites menu. 😦  And I didn’t want to buy one of the wave 2 dolls, since their 30th anniversary would be this year.  (Well, not like there were a lot of them on offer, of course, but I could have gotten an Entrapta…)  Besides, I wanted to recapture a part of my own childhood, not to get a doll I’d never had before.  So I had to content myself with some fan art instead.  Well, “content” is not quite the word, but…it was something I wanted to get, so…yeah.

Moving on, I’m disappointed by the early shots of the new look Mattel is going to give Monster High later this year, but I’ll wait until I see them in person to give a final opinion.  However, this has all the earmarks of executive meddling, by making the dolls simpler, and thus less costly to make, in order to increase the profit margin on each unit.  (Not only was each successive wave getting more elaborate, many of the new characters had entirely new and unique bodies on top of the unique facial sculpts each character had always had.)

Anyway, before I made that Etsy purchase, I let myself into yet another way to drain away my money:  I made my first pledge on Kickstarter.  The project is called Dream Big Friends, for an articulated 10 inch doll called Yuna.  The doll is very cute, and as of about 10:30 this morning, they still needed to raise $100,000 more by January 3rd if the doll was to go into production.  So if you see this before then, check it out and maybe help them out, okay?  (Fortunately, at the moment there don’t seem to be any other doll projects looking for funding, so I may be safe there for the time being…but this morning I already upped my pledge from the “one doll” rewards level to the “two dolls” level, to help out more.)

Anyway, the next few days will hopefully feature a number of posts.  I’ve got a number of photos of Pyrrha’s (unpainted) face “testing out” eye chips, and Mei-lin is nearly finished (once her hair gets here), as is the all-Obitsu male doll.  (Whose name is still uncertain, but I know his epithet already.)  Plus once the other Pullip wig arrives, there’ll be a wig-swapping post.  (Said wig is coming from Quebec, so it shouldn’t take too long.)  Oh, and there’s Hangry’s new outfit (which I actually bought for a different doll) and Barbara’s new dress, so I’ll probably show those in a single post, too.

Leave a Reply

