Pyrrha update

Well, Pyrrha is finally put back together, for the moment.  Unfortunately, I seem to have damaged her eye mechanism, so I’m going to have to buy a new one. 😦  Anyway, please forgive the lousy picture quality (this room is not good for late night photography) but here’s her current appearance:

Pyrrha update 1

Being taken apart and stored in a box for more than a week did not do her bangs any favors. 😦  Anyway, as to her face-up, I did the black eyeliner for two reasons.  1) I’ve been playing Hatsune Miku Project Mirai DX lately, and that’s how the Vocaloids all look.  2) I was really impressed by how good that looked on Rory.  (Sorry if it feels like I’m copying you, Olive.)  I never did manage to get them to quite match up, though.  Her lips look better at a distance than close-up, and her cheeks aren’t quite evenly matched,  but I think they look acceptable.  Anyway, what you’re seeing right now is just paper eyes with no eyechips in front of them.  These were the chips that were to get the heart-pupil chips, but one of those was a bit too thick, and my attempt to make it thinner proved disastrous, so I need to make new ones.  Well, technically I only need to make one new one, but since the not-ruined one is the one with the damaged bead, making two new ones makes more sense.  In any case, I can’t actually switch her eyes to have other eyes facing out because of the damage I did to the mechanism.  Three of the four sides swap just fine, but this one won’t swap out unless I’m inside her head moving it by hand.  I think that’s because the next set of eyes is this one:

Pyrrha update 2

They look really cool there, right?  And they fit under the eyelids in the front-facing slot, so I was like “Yessss!” and put them in place here, and tried to use them.  Only they didn’t fit so well under the eyelids in a side slot, and consequently I damaged the eye mechanism.  Obviously, I’ve taken these back out again, but the damage is already done. 😦

Anyway, I also gave her sleep eyes and painted her eyelids:

Pyrrha update 3

Plain bronze eyelids seemed a bit over the top, so I added some metallic plum.  I would have liked to do a gradient, but those are for people with skill and/or airbrushes.  So I did a stripe at the base, and then painted a thin layer of plum above that, and wiped most of it off, to leave only an (inconsistent) hint of the additional color.  I probably should have replaced her eyelashes with ones that looked a bit nicer, but…that seemed awfully fiddly.  (Maybe I’ll do it when I have to take her apart again to replace her eye mechanism.)

Anyway, I have to get ready to go to the museum, so I’ll sign off here.  (Ugh, I don’t want to go!  It’s 40 and raining out, and the temperature is going to drop all day, and the rain’s supposed to turn to snow by afternoon.  This is an ideal day not to leave the house, so why am I driving ten+ miles to sit in a basement doing work I’m not being paid for?)

EDIT — I found a trick online while at the museum that may let me fix her eye mechanism.  I’m going to experiment with it later tonight and/or tomorrow, and I’ll let you know how it goes.  (And if it works, I’ll be sure to share it, in case anyone else has the same problem!)  Also, the storm mostly passed us by, so I didn’t get caught in any snow.  (But tomorrow’s still supposed to have a high of 19 degrees Fahrenheit, and I still have to go back down to the museum again.  Bleah.)

2nd EDIT — My first attempt to fix the mechanism failed.  The instructions I found said to use the stick from a cotton swab, but specifically the plastic stick, and the only ones I have are the kind with the cardboard stick, which looks a bit thinner than the plastic one in the photo.  That didn’t work (and I decided it’s way too cold outside to go downtown, plus I was feeling sort of woozy at the time I would have needed to leave, so I’m staying home today where it’s less cold, and can’t get the right kind today) but I’m going to try again whenever I can find some cotton swabs with plastic sticks.  (Assuming I can find some.  I know I’ve bought some like that in the past, but what if they don’t make them anymore?  Then I’ll have to figure out something else that might be the right size.)

2 thoughts on “Pyrrha update

  1. Olive January 9, 2016 / 2:19 pm

    She’s coming together well! And also it took me atleast thirty minutes of drawing on and then rubbing off the eyeliner on Rory to get them to match. They’re not completely symmetrical, but I cut myself some slack because I can’t even do winged liner on my own eyes symmetrically. It’s a shame about the eye mech. I had a few issues in the past too, once was because Finley’s chips weren’t in the socket all the way (also on a side facing set of eyes), and the other time I hadn’t assembled the mech correctly (that dang white plastic curved piece). Customizing is definitely a lot of work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Iphis of Scyros January 9, 2016 / 6:26 pm

      Definitely a lot of work, all right, but it’s *fun* work, even with all the frustrations of errors.

      And I was searching online during the hour of down time after we finished all the available tasks at the museum today, and I may have found a way to get the mechanism to work again! It’s a little iffy, and I don’t quite have the right item for the task — a cotton swab with a plastic stick instead of a cardboard one — but I’m going to give it a try, because it turns out new eye mechanisms are not all that cheap, and I’d rather spend that money on dolly wigs or doll dresses, or saving towards a whole new doll, y’know? (Or, for that matter, paying for Tomoyo-chan’s body. I still haven’t gotten a Pure Neemo for her yet…)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

