Body Swapping

Fixing Pyrrha’s eye mechanism is still on hold until I can go look for plastic-sticked cotton swabs, but I finally got around to some re-bodying.

So I’ve been wanting to give my Dal Len a male Obitsu body pretty much since the day he arrived here, right?  I’d seen this lovely tutorial on re-bodying Pullips with Obitsu bodies, so I thought I knew just what I’d have to do in order to make the swap from Dal body to 23 cm male Obitsu body.  Then I got a look at the 23 cm body’s neck:

Obitsu 23 cm boy body

And, as a reminder, this is the neck on the Dal body:

body swaps 1

In the conventional Pullip swap, you just need to get the two plugs compatible, right?  But this one has an added challenge above and beyond reducing the size of the plug:

Screwed!
Screwed!

Apparently, the larger body sizes (or maybe it’s the female bodies?) have the screw below the plug.  But here it’s at the top.  And this is the plug that goes on top, viewed from the underside:

body swaps 5

See the lip at the far end?  That would be the first thing to go if I was to simply sand the plug down, but that’s also the part that holds it in place on the stick below.  So sanding really wasn’t an option here, and I had to find another solution.

My solution, in the rough.
My solution, in the rough.

I made a mold of the plug on the Dal body neck, and cast a rough plug in opaque resin.  (Which I haven’t worked with since learning I couldn’t add paint to color it, and I had the unpleasant surprise discovery that a bit of partially catalyzed resin had gotten on the interior of the lid of one of the bottles, so I had to cut a hole in the side and transfer the rest into an empty water bottle.  Fortunately, it was the yellow stuff, so I won’t mistake it for water later on. 😛  )

Of course, then I had to cut off the excess, sand it down to a more-or-less flat surface and drill a hole through it, then sand down the stick it connects to, and use the drill to extend the screw hole further than it originally went.  But eventually, I got it to this point:

body swaps 7

Honestly, I should have kept going; there’s a lot more gap there than there is on the Dal body, but I was afraid to sand any further down.  I think what I need to do is to widen the hole on the resin so that it’ll pass down around the stick a bit.  But I’ll have to take poor Len apart again to do that, because he’s now re-assembled on his new, male body:

Tada!
Tada!

His head is way wobbly, and his clothes fit awkwardly, but at least he no longer has breasts.  (His head should get less wobbly after I adjust the resin plug a bit more.  But I’ll want to figure out where the heck my set of jeweler’s files disappeared to yesterday before I can do that…)

body swaps 13

He can now look like he’s really playing his…um…keytar?  (What the heck is that thing called?)  I do love the changeable hands, but I wish he came with a V-for-Victory set of hands.  That would have made that earlier picture perfect. 😛

body swaps 14

I sorta want to get Rin an Obitsu body now, too.  After I figure out how to fix the problems with Len’s wobbly head, anyway. 😛  (I also really need to figure out a good way to re-style his hair, ’cause that is so not what it’s supposed to look like.)

Anyway, not being the type who likes to have dolly parts lying around unused, I had to find a new head for the old Dal body, and that was easily accomplished:

Yay!
Yay!

Technically, the Licca clothes are a bit baggy on the Dal body — and the shoes are laughably large for tiny Dal feet — but they don’t look too bad…except for one tiny problem:

"Hee hee...don't tell!"
“Hee hee…don’t tell!”

Miku now has the wrong number on her arm. 😛  (Maybe she’s getting ready to perform “Rin-chan Now!“?)  Anyway, my Licca Miku is now just as poseable as my Pullip Luka:

body swaps 10

(Yeah, it’s been a while since I posted anything that crazy/creepy, right?)

Anyway, the Licca body has moved over to another Miku:

body swaps 11

The reason I wanted to give Yuki Miku the Licca body was because of those black tights.  They didn’t fit the Azone body properly.  And so instead of giving the Dal body to Yuki Miku here and leaving regular Miku as she was, I thought I’d do this swap, so that the tights would actually fit.  The Azone body now belongs to Sakura…not that I’ve actually started applying her face or anything yet.  (Syaoran’s face is almost done, though!  And both of their wigs are on the way.)

Speaking of black tights, though, I need to get some in Pure Neemo XS size.  ‘Cause I ordered one of the bendy Sakura dolls’ outfits off of Etsy, but it didn’t have its black tights or its kitty-ear headband.  I can make the headband (eventually), but the tights…I’ll need to buy those.  I didn’t find any Pure Neemo XS sized clothes on Etsy, though.  Not any black tights, at least.  I should probably check AmiAmi before I order black tights in another doll size, huh?  (Only just thought of that…)

The headbands are going to be another question entirely, of course.  I tested the one headband I already had on Mei-lin’s head, and it didn’t fit her.  So I’ll need to make a mold of a headband blank, I suppose, and then make resin copies of the wings off the headband I have, and add those on to one blank headband, and add kitty ears on to another blank headband.  I just have to figure out the size of headband to use for the mold first.  (Monster High will be a bit big, but I think Barbie will be a bit small…and I’m not sure I can find a blank Barbie headband anyway.)

One thought on “Body Swapping

  1. Olive January 11, 2016 / 1:44 pm

    That’s so crafty! Making your own pieces out of resin!

    Like

Leave a Reply

