Little Pullips, Pull Strings and a Name for Hangry

A bunch of small stuff tonight, nothing that feels quite like a whole post by itself.  I’ve been too depressed the past few days to get anything done, really, so there’s no news on Pyrrha, and Sakura’s face still isn’t finished.  (Her wig and Mei-lin’s new wig have both arrived, though.  But I still can’t style Mei-lin’s wig, ’cause the style is too hard for me to accomplish on those little wigs.  I need to figure that out somehow…)

We’ll start with the pull strings.  I had wanted to wait until all three of my girls had their pull strings prettied up, but given Pyrrha’s situation, there’s no point in doing anything to her string until her eye mechanism is fixed up.

Alice's pull string
Alice’s pull string

Obviously, I wanted her pull string to reflect her theme.  So instead of a ring, she’s got a jumbo red heart, and in addition there’s a rose that’s in the midst of being painted red, and a mushroom for the caterpillar.  I also got some neat black metal locks and a key, but there was no room.  I’ll use them on the second string if I ever decide to give her sleep eyes.

Romana's pull string
Romana’s pull string

Obviously, the theme here was TARDIS blue, with some gears thrown in to go with the gear-themed eye chips I’m going to give her eventually.  I think my homemade TARDIS charm worked out pretty well. 🙂  Sadly, though, three of the types of beads I got to use for her pull string had such tiny holes that I couldn’t get them on the string. 😦

The beads that didn't make it...
The beads that didn’t make it…

The blue crystals were supposed to represent the crystals from Metabilis III.  The black pearls just looked cool (like asteroids or something?) and the sparkly black cubes had a nice starfield-like look to them.  But none of them could fit on the string. 😦

Anyway, speaking of space-type stuff:

Little Cosmic Jupi
Little Cosmic Jupi

Yup, I finally opened the two original Little Pullip dolls.

Little R
Little R

So now that I’ve opened them, I can give some comparison notes between Little and Little+.  The stands are a bit different (so naturally I forgot to take a picture of the empty stands), but I can’t compare how well they work, because the outfits on both Littles prevented me from using their stands.  (Naturally.)  The hair in R’s wig is of a decidedly lower quality than any other Pullip wig — of any size — in my collection, but Cosmic Jupi’s wig is more normal, so I think it’s just that R got odd hair.  The main difference is in the face.  The plastic has a different texture, and feels a bit less refined in the original Littles, and the face-ups on the Little+ dolls are much more advanced.  Also, some of the Little+ dolls have nicer eyes, though many have eyes that are basically identical to the ones on the original Littles.  As far as I can tell (without undressing the dolls) the bodies are pretty much unchanged.

And finally, I’ve come up with a name for Dal Hangry:

"Yeah, me?  I'm Hayley."
“Yeah, me? I’m Hayley.”

I’ve been trying to put together collection pages, with accompanying photo galleries, and as I was doing that this morning, I realized I couldn’t get any further on the Dal page until this girl had a name of her own.  And — just after I shut down the computer to come back to it later — I looked up at her in her Doctor Who-themed outfit, and remembered what my brother had told me about how Hayley Atwell wants to be the next Doctor, and I thought “hey, that’s not a bad name!”  I had wanted her to have an H-name, since Angry got named Aiko, and…I dunno, it just felt right, even though it doesn’t particularly fit the personality she’s developing.

2 thoughts on “Little Pullips, Pull Strings and a Name for Hangry

  1. Olive January 15, 2016 / 9:35 pm

    I kind of really want to watch the older doctor who episodes now! Romana’s pull string is really neat, especially the resin made pieces.

    Like

    • Iphis of Scyros January 17, 2016 / 8:41 am

      There are a few stories available streaming on Netflix. I think “City of Death” may be the only Romana II story, but it’s also one of the best ones ever, so that’s always good. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

