New Wigs

I finally got those photos taken! 😀  So before I get to the two new wigs, it occurs to me that I haven’t shown you Mei-lin’s new wig, which arrived at the same time as Sakura’s.  I still haven’t figured out how to style it, though. 😦

Mei-lin's ready to fight!
Mei-lin’s ready to fight!

It occurs to me that I forgot to credit the Etsy shop where I got Sakura’s wig, so let me fix that error now:  Sakura’s and Mei-lin’s wigs came from fatiao, and they’re very nice wigs.  A tiny bit large for these heads, but the ones from the Junky Spot were a tiny bit small, so…these heads are apparently exceptionally hard to wig correctly.  (Truthfully, the ideal solution would be to root them.  But that would require skill and patience, two things I have none of.  Well, no, I have some patience.  I just don’t have the time.)

Moving on, meet my Parabox/Azone hybrid Li Syaoran:

new wigs 1

Since Syaoran isn’t really a big smile kind of guy, I was going more for a shouting mouth than a smiling one.  (Not sure if that worked out too well or not…)  He’s got big, chunky eyebrows, ’cause Syaoran has big, chunky eyebrows in the manga/anime.  The wig is by evali905, and it looked a bit more Syaoran-like on the seller’s model doll…in part because it actually fit that doll. 😛  It’s slightly larger than the wigs on Sakura and Mei-lin, so it rolls around a bit on his head.  (Yeah, I’m going to do something to make it move around less.  I just haven’t decided what yet.  Velcro, maybe.)

If I’m not careful in dealing with his hat (which is now waaaaaay too small), his hair does this:

new wigs 2

Suddenly he’s gone from being Syaoran to being Ascot!  (Although, actually, I seem to recall my first reaction to Syaoran was to go “look out, it’s Ascot!”)  Anyway, I think the way to fix the hat issue is to cut it open at the back and widen it.  Though that’ll probably look pretty bad, too.  Technically, I think I need to have a new one made, but…no idea where, when or by whom, y’know?

Anyway, there was one more wig that winged its way here from the other side of the world:

new wigs 3

The wig is by FlowerZero, and it’s a nice wig (though a tiny bit thin in the bangs), but I misread the size:  I thought this was going to be big enough for Juliet to wear.  Instead it’s so small that just getting it on Hayley was a struggle.

Back view
Back view

Since this wig was too small for Juliet, I had to order her another wig. 😦  This time I hedged my bets and ordered two.  And they’re specifically Pullip-sized, so they will fit.  They just might not look good, because Pullip bangs might be too long for her.  We’ll just have to see what happens when they get here.

Tomorrow will be a Silent Sunday post (not sure what, yet, but I’ve got a few random photos stockpiled for such occasions) so Monday I’ll post about the stuff I found at Target the other day.

One thought on “New Wigs

  1. Olive January 23, 2016 / 10:14 pm

    I’m also struggling with wigging my obitsu/azone hybrid. I ordered a fur wig from etsy, and when that gets in, I’ll let you know how it fits!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

