I am criminally stupid!

Ugh, after all that talk yesterday about trying to reign in my spending, and how much I’d already spent and so I needed to stop…why did I look at Kickstarter this morning?!?

*sigh*

What’s done is done, of course.  (Well, technically not.  The pledge won’t be collected for 29 days, that’s plenty of time to chicken out and cancel it.)

Okay, let me back up.  I went to Kickstarter to see if there were any new doll or toy related projects, because I am a glutton for punishment.

And there it was, Light & Dark Fairy Ball Jointed Dolls.

I have a thing for fairies.

I love dolls.

I’ve been wanting a 1/4 scale doll, and these are 1/4 scale.

And the “Super Early Bird Special” pledge level still had one opening, allowing one to get both dolls at a discounted price.

And I am a freakin’ moron.

*sigh*

So, yeah, I just pledged more to them than the Claudette pledge would be.  And yet I still want to get Claudette, too.  (Although in defense of my actions, getting clothes for these fairy dolls would be a lot easier than for Claudette, since their proportions are more standard for BJD dolls in their scale.  And this was two dolls instead of just one.)

And because my pledge moved the project from about 86% funded to about 107% funded, I would feel like an extra cad if I were to cancel the pledge.  (Like I’d cancel it.  Those dolls are incredibly cool!)

Even with $40 shipping (yes, seriously), it’s a pretty decent price for two 1/4 scale BJDs.  (I looked around at prices on the Junky Spot, and while some were cheaper, there were some that were actually more expensive, and almost none of them also came with resin wings.  (There was one Bobobie dude that came with wings and a tail, but no others did.))  The listing said they’d refund shipping to people attending the Atlanta BJD show in November, because they could deliver the dolls in person in that case, but that doesn’t help me much, since I live in Missouri, not Georgia.  (And I doubtless won’t have the time to go to Atlanta for a convention, between class and museum work.  Whether or not I could afford it would depend on various factors like my spending over the summer and how much the museum is going to pay me.)  Of course, since attending a convention would cost a lot more than $40, that wouldn’t really be any savings anyway. 😛  (For people who would be going regardless, then it’s a savings.  In my case, not so much.)

I think I need a roommate, someone to hover behind me and slap my hands away every time I try to order something online.

Or maybe that’s more of a babysitter.

Or one of those little things that sits on your shoulder and tells you to stop doing things you shouldn’t do.

A, uh, what’re those called?

Oh, yeah, they’re called Jiminy Cricket.  Yeah, I need one of those. 😛

3 thoughts on “I am criminally stupid!

  1. Olive March 2, 2016 / 11:56 am

    But that price for two full bjds in that scale is a good price I think! Very excited to see them when you get them

    Like

    • Iphis of Scyros March 2, 2016 / 2:52 pm

      It’s definitely a good price, but I still shouldn’t have done it, particularly not on such an impulse. (Then again, the very fact that I COULD impulse “buy” them proves that it wasn’t the kind of mistake buying MEIKO would have been; no agonizing “should I or shouldn’t I?” even crossed my mind.)

      The really agonizing part, though, is that I still really want the curvy 1/3 scale doll, too. I’m hoping I’ll get paid in between now and her final pledge date, to give me some excuse…but that seems unlikely…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

