BJD Fairies and Centaurs

Okay, mostly this post is about the Light and Dark Fairy Ball Jointed Dolls that I mentioned backing on Kickstarter earlier.  According to their latest update, the company they’re working with is going to require them to order at least 20 dolls, so the fewer full-doll Kickstarter backers they have, the more they’re going to be out-of-pocket.  So I thought I’d post an advertisement for them here, in the hopes that maybe someone would see it who’d want to back them.

(No, it's not actually a video.  It's a screen-cap of a video.  Click for source.)
(No, it’s not actually a video. It’s a screen-cap of a video. Click for source.)

So, those are the dolls I backed.  Aren’t they cool?  Anyway, at present they’ve actually pre-sold fewer dolls through Kickstarter than they had earlier:  the other person who had picked the “Super Early Bird Special” backed out.  (So that’s now got one opening, for anyone who happens to know they’ll have $500 available nine days from now.  Ack.  $500.  Did I really promise them $500?  Ohmigod…what’s wrong with me…?)

You may be wondering, though, why the mention of centaurs?

Well, I came across this site selling all sorts of BJDs, and they were offering this deer centaur.  Given my recent sub-collection of deer dolls, I of course fell in love with the doll instantly.

But the thing is…based on the prices…I think it’s a knock-off.  I think the whole site is selling nothing but knock-offs.  So, the site is here.  Does anyone know it?  Is there any chance in heck that it’s legit?  (I fear there isn’t.  Such an awesome doll at such an affordable price is too good to be true…)

One last question.  If that site is selling knock-offs, can anyone direct me as to where to look to find the real thing of that doll?  ‘Cause she’s too freakin’ cute.  I so want one!

3 thoughts on “BJD Fairies and Centaurs

  1. Chrissy March 23, 2016 / 1:12 pm

    You’re right about that website. The original doll was sold by Soom and isn’t available anymore. http://dollsoom.com/eng/shop/item.php?it_id=1349349764 Your best bet is the Den of Angels marketplace or facebook groups that sell BJD to look for it secondhand.

    Have you seen this little guy/gal? http://www.acbjd.com/lulu-normalmakeup-in-stock-p-9418.html?cPath=170&zenid=f955b73e5f9a531bad6c59ca01aed805 There’s a blank one available, too. When you said that you liked deer dolls I immediately thought of this guy because I’ve been eyeing him up myself, so I thought I would share.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Iphis of Scyros March 24, 2016 / 8:42 am

      Thanks for the confirmation about that site; I was pretty sure it had to be selling fakes, but it’s nice to be certain. This summer, when I (hopefully) have more time, I’ll have to sign up at Den of Angels so I can look for the real doll secondhand.

      That little deer is adorable! 😀 Thanks so much for the link! (I’m totally going to have to check out the rest of the site, too…)

      Like

      • Chrissy March 24, 2016 / 11:04 am

        You’re welcome! Good luck finding it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

