Mandarake and AmiAmi

Yeah, normally today would be a “Silent Sunday” post but…I actually have a lot of things I want to post about between now and April 1, so I didn’t want to waste a day on that.  (Given all the days of utter silence since I last posted anything, I realize that sounds a bit insane.  But that’s just how things have been going over here lately.)

Anyway, I know at some point I mentioned another Mandarake order, but I don’t think I even got around to mentioning the AmiAmi order.  I’ll get to that later, though.  First, I want to show you what came from Mandarake.  Minus two items because one is being saved for April A-to-Z and the other might go into April A-to-Z as well as a sort of a side item and if it doesn’t, I’ll stick it in another post later.

Um.

Right, so let’s start with the Nendoroids.

Big Shipment 13

I already have a fair number of these Nendoroid Petit Vocaloids — Miku, KAITO, Rin and Len, Luka, Kimono Luka, Crystal Miku (the latter two being from a different collection) — but since Mandarake was selling a few of them opened and identified, and they weren’t very expensive, I figured “why not?”

Big Shipment 17
Yowane Haku

Poor Haku doesn’t look very happy!  She should be happy, though:  despite being a mere fanloid, she was an extra character in Project Diva f and Project Diva f 2nd!

Sakine Meiko
Sakine Meiko

Sakine Meiko is also a fanloid/pitchloid, but an unusual one:  she’s a variant on an official Vocaloid (MEIKO) who also is that Vocaloid.  She is, technically, supposed to be a younger version of MEIKO.  Which means a slightly cuter outfit and a slightly higher voice, and not much else, really.  (Well, maybe her breasts are supposed to be slightly smaller, too, but since this is a Nendoroid, that’s not really an issue.)

Big Shipment 23

She’s perched on one of Rena’s chairs because she has a problem that plagues most of the Nendoroid Petits in my collection:  the stand’s prongy-thing will not go into the little hole in the back of her head.  😦  Haku is about the only one I’ve got where it went in easily.  (Of course, she then countered that by giving me a lot of trouble when I tried to get her ponytail to attach!)

And, because I ended up with an all-Vocaloid Nendo order…

Gakupo!
Gakupo!

I love Gakupo.  They need to add him to the next Project Diva game.  He’s got a fantastic voice, and he’s super-cute.  (Though he’ll never be as attractive as his voice provider.  Gackt is totally hot.)

However, because things have been so crazy around here — and because opening a Nendoroid involves a lot of time spent on “ooh, which part do I like best?” — I haven’t actually opened him yet.  *deep shame*

Changing gears a bit…

Big Shipment 6

This is from a line called “Blythe Belle”…which seems to just be cute little plastic figurines of Blythe in various attires and so on.  They were inexpensive and adorable, so I got this mermaid one, and…

Big Shipment 8

…of course I had to get the Alice-themed one! 😀  Whenever I get around to opening these, I’ll take a picture of this one with my Alice Blythe to show you the scale differential.  But these are tiny.  Actually not that different in size from the Nendoroid Petits, really.

Now, for a serious divergence…

Big Shipment 1

I love the Dragon Quest series.  (I was crushed that they went with the title Dragon Quest Heroes instead of Dragon Quest Warriors, though.  What with the first few Dragon Quest games to come over here having been called Dragon Warrior instead.  Also I’m a bit crushed that it’s next-gen only, as I won’t be getting a PS4 anytime soon…)  And these golems have had a special place in my heart for a long time, ever since the time when I was falling asleep and suddenly had my head filled with half-remembered, half-forgotten game images, of one of these (and I think it was, in fact, golden) hiding in a ruin, so that you could only see it if you rotated the camera.  Took me forever to remember what game it was from, and by the time I did, every bit of it was seared permanently onto my brain.  (It was, of course, from Dragon Quest VIII.)

Big Shipment 38

I was actually pretty surprised:  he’s not metallic-colored plastic, or plastic covered with a thin layer of metal.  He is, in fact, solid metal.  That’s pretty cool. 🙂

Big Shipment 41
The last sight of many an unwary adventurer…

 

Okay, so let’s move on to the one big ticket item in the order!

Big Shipment 24

Yup, I now have a Momoko doll! 😀  And a slightly Alice-themed one, to boot! 😉

I get the feeling she’s a fairly old one, but I don’t know for sure, since there’s no date on her box, and I don’t want to spend the time on Google looking for a release list or something.  (At some point, I’ll do that, but right now I have other things I wanna do with my time.)

Big Shipment 34

To be honest, I’m a little disappointed in Momoko.  Sure, she’s pretty.  But her limbs are hollow plastic.  And I mean you can feel that they’re hollow.  It’s not as bad as the super-cheap dolls you find in the $1 bin at K-Mart or something, but…it’s annoying that a doll this expensive has a body that was made on the cheap.  She doesn’t even have as many articulation points as Pullip.

But, like I said above, I’m pretty sure she’s an older model.  So I’m hoping the newer models have better bodies.  (Okay…that sounded like I was talking about something else altogether…)

Anyway, I didn’t spend much time messing around with her, between time constraints and the disappointingly constructed body.

So let’s move on to the AmiAmi order.  A while back, I checked and saw that they had gotten in more Pure Neemo XS bodies, and naturally I added one to my cart so I could finally make Tomoyo-chan.  And while I was at it…

Big Shipment 29

I’ve wanted to get a Picco Neemo for quite a while now.  And since it seemed like they were a popular choice to rebody Little Pullip+ dolls, I didn’t bothering looking around to see what kind of head would work.

But let’s make it clear just how small Picco Neemo really is!

Big Shipment 30Here’s a comparison with the body I ordered for Tomoyo-chan…

Big Shipment 31

And here’s both bodies with Pyrrha and her Azone-like body.  (Not sure which Pure Neemo size her body is like.  M, maybe?)

Big Shipment 32

My first thought was just to do a side-by-side size comparison, so I took this shot of Rovam with the Picco Neemo body, but then I realized something:

Big Shipment 33

I only had one Little Pullip+ that seemed like a really good candidate for re-bodying, and that was Miss Green here.  (Most of my Little+ dolls are actually Dal, and Little Dal+ looks a lot better as-is than Little Pullip+.  To my eyes, anyway.)

And that would have been the end of the post.  (It was originally going to be the end.)

Big Shipment 42

But then I de-boxed Miss Green while I was on the phone, and I was certainly glad I hadn’t intended to keep her stock, given that the faux leather on her belt stuck to the packaging and half of it stayed with the packaging!

Big Shipment 43

While I was at it, I also opened the Picco Neemo dress, just to see how it fit her stock body.  It turned a short dress into a long one, but otherwise it fit pretty nicely, if a bit loose in places.

Then, as my dinner was cooking, I started messing around and trying to get her wig off so I could see how (in)compatible the Little Pullip+ neckplug and the Picco Neemo one was.

Well, it turned out that they were both very incompatible, and supremely compatible, all at the same time.  The Picco Neemo plug had no hope of fitting without my doing massive work…but it could be pulled out, and the end of the neck fit beautifully into the neckhole at the base of the head…

Big Shipment 45

The result’s not perfect, of course.  She’s got almost no neck now, and can only turn her head side to side, unlike the range of motion the plug might have given.  (On the other hand, she could only turn her head side to side on her original body.)  And that little blue dress is so short that if she sits down it’s indecent.  (Actually, once I order her a dress from Etsy, I’m probably just going to give that blue dress to some other Little+ doll.)  Also now her wig slips around a lot, but some double-stick tape (or something) should fix that. 😛

When her new clothes get here, I’ll do some shots of her with other dolls, to give more perspective on her size.  (Of course, I haven’t even ordered the new clothes yet, so who knows when that’ll be.  But I did favorite some shops that sold Picco Neemo clothes at the same time that I ordered this body, so at least finding her something to wear shouldn’t take too long.)

All right, so that’s all I wanted to share right now about these two orders.  The gallery is here.

Tomorrow or the next day, I want to post about my surprising haul on Friday, which was totally unintentional, and became quite expensive…though actually I probably won’t be posting about the stuff from GameStop, at least not right now anyway.  (I only went in to pick up my pre-order for Hyrule Warriors Legends, but there was other stuff, and a used game, and…yeah, it goes that way sometimes.)  But the other two shops are more in sync with this blog, so…yep, I wanna share.  And, of course, I have a doll review still waiting to be written.  *sigh*

Also, by tomorrow, I should know if something very, very exciting is happening this weekend.  Or rather, I know something very exciting is happening this weekend, I just don’t know if I’m going to get to take part in it.  It’ll depend on what happens at my doctor’s appointment tomorrow.  (Hopefully, it’ll go the way I want, and I’ll get to take part.  If not, I just know I’m going to buy something sinful to get over the hurt.  Despite that I just spent all this money.  *sigh*  My dolly urge apparently does not have the much needed “off” switch.)

6 thoughts on “Mandarake and AmiAmi

  1. Olive March 27, 2016 / 9:36 pm

    Ooh I didn’t realize how small the picco neemo body is! I’m not sure what the inside of a little pullip’s head looks like, so I’m curious to see how you mod the body.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Iphis of Scyros March 28, 2016 / 8:35 pm

      Next time I’m taking pictures, I’ll do some comparison shots and show how delightfully simple the Little Pullip+ head is inside. (So much simpler than the inside of Selina’s head! I’m still scared to try putting her back together again…) I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to try to do something to the neck, or just leave her as-is in the nearly-neckless state. I *should* do something to give her her neck back, but on the other hand I’m kind of lazy. 😛 (Also a bit pressed for time these days…but that should be solved by May.)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. aikifox85 March 27, 2016 / 11:26 pm

    Oh that’s disappointing about the Momoko. I haven’t bought one because I haven’t wanted to spend that much for one doll, but, if they’re made with cheap material, I don’t know that I would now. 😦

    Like

    • Iphis of Scyros March 28, 2016 / 8:44 pm

      It’s not that the material is cheap, just that there isn’t enough of it. They saved money by leaving everything hollow, and it’s so hollow that you can really tell it’s hollow. Rather, they didn’t take the density of the plastic into account when they decided the thickness, and didn’t make it thick enough to make up for the give of the plastic. (Dang, I feel like if I could find the right combination of words, I could make my point without sounding like a moron and constantly repeating myself. Unfortunately, I don’t think I’m finding that combination of words. Sorry for the repetition…)

      Anyway, like I said, I’m *hoping* this one is old and that newer ones are better constructed. I need to look into that once I have more time, because it’d be a shame if such a pretty doll is always this disappointingly constructed. (Then again, I seem to recall seeing someone else complain about the Momoko body, so I wasn’t entirely surprised…which is why I waited to find a used one on Mandarake, instead of buying a new one. Technically, she was still new, since she was unopened, but she was either a bought-but-never-opened kind of used, or really old store stock.) I fear the best way to enjoy a Momoko is to find just the head and put it on a Pullip stock body, or better still an Obitsu body. But even the *heads* are expensive! (Seriously, the solitary heads on Mandarake cost just as much as the full dolls. Maybe no one likes the bodies?)

      Liked by 1 person

      • aikifox85 March 29, 2016 / 1:46 am

        I can certainly believe the heads are worth as much as the bodies. Hell, I can’t remember how many dolls I’ve purchased just because I wanted their heads. Just to give me something different so my dollies aren’t all clones of each other. (Sudden thought – a handful of old Barbies found in thrift stores re-made as Borg drones. Someone needs to do that, hopefully me if laziness doesn’t win out)
        I don’t have as much experience yet with Pullip or Obitsu.

        Like

      • Iphis of Scyros March 31, 2016 / 8:19 am

        Borg drone Barbies? Sounds cool! (I actually tried to make a cyborg Barbie once (just a generic cyborg) but it didn’t really go anywhere: I was kind of half-assing it…)

        Pullip has a very similar body to Momoko (except more joints, in this case) which is why I thought of it, but a lot of people scrap their Pullip bodies and put Obitsu bodies on them. Since Obitsu bodies are sold just as bodies, it does seem like the way to go in this sort of thing. They’re pretty nice bodies, but nothing terribly special, either; it’s the head you choose to put on them that makes them special (or not). I’ve got lots of Pullips, but I’ve only once tried to re-body one (and even then I kept the body and put a spare Licca head on it, to keep from wasting it), but so far I only have two Obitsu bodies, so I have less I can say about those…

        Like

Leave a Reply

