Make it Pop – Doll Review

Er, mini review, really, as I’ve only got an hour to get this written and posted before it’ll be April 1 and impinge on April A-to-Z.

But before I get to the review, I just want to share a bit of an amazing find.  As I was leaving lunch today, I couldn’t make a left turn because of traffic, and had to make a right instead.  As I was looking for a spot to turn around, I realized I was almost at an antique mall I hadn’t been to in a very long time.  So I decided “what the heck” and went in.  I found a couple of things I wanted to get (including one of those cool metal dollhouses made by Marx Toys back in the ’50s or ’60s or whenever that was) but which were just a tiny bit too expensive considering I’ll probably spend a lot at the con this weekend.  But I also found something I couldn’t pass up.  The tag said “Vintage Ideal Miss Revlon Doll” and she was in pretty sweet condition…and only $20.  I’m no longer 100% sure she’s a real Miss Revlon doll, ’cause I thought Ideal put a maker’s mark on those — unlike the Little Miss Revlon doll, which is what I think this one doll of my mother’s is — but she sure looks like one.  I’ll do some research when I have more time.  Anyway, she’s really big:  about 22 inches (56 cm), and thus she makes my second 1/3 scale doll.  Obviously, she’s a very different kind of 1/3 scale doll — very little articulation, sleep eyes, older than I am — but I’m still pretty blown away by the realization.  (Yes, I bought her thinking she was about the same size as the “Frightfully Tall Ghouls” Monster High dolls…even though I had her in my hands, and I have three of the Frightfully Tall Ghouls, and yet I was not able to process that she was much larger than they were.  My visual senses are entirely lacking, apparently.)  I had planned on waiting to post pictures of her in a post on dolls in my collection that are older than I am, but now I’m thinking maybe she merits her own post.  And I’m totally going to try those 28″ Barbie clothes on her.  I’m thinking they may fit her better than they fit Juliet.

Okay, now that that’s over with, on with the review!

Make it Pop 1

So, when I hit Toys R Us or Target, new doll lines always catch my eye, and I usually want to pick one up to give it a look-see.  Because I’m like that.  And I’ve been seeing this line in Toys R Us for a while, but I was waiting to get one on sale, since they’re lacking in articulation points and accessories.  A few weeks ago, Toys R Us did a rather unusual sale where every doll and action figure in the store priced between $10 and $15 was “Buy One Get One 40% Off” and I figured that was probably the best I was going to do for some time.  Of the $15 ones (there are also $20 ones that feature slightly fancier outfits) I liked this one the best.

Make it Pop 2

Based on all the pictures of actual girls on the packaging, I’m assuming this doll line is tying in to some kind of television program or something.  I know zilch about it, but looking at the three girls in the pictures, I’m impressed:  there doesn’t seem to be a single Caucasian among them.  So here’s a fashion doll line in which none of the dolls represent a white girl.

Too bad they still all look like white girls in doll form.

Now, I normally don’t say much about packaging.  But this one gave me some considerable annoyance.  Like many dolls, she had universal annoyances in her head, right?  But one of them hadn’t gone all the way in, and so it started pulling out as I tried to remove her from the packaging…

Make it Pop 3

And this is what it did to her hair as a result. 😦

Make it Pop 4

Looks even worse from the side, doesn’t it?

I couldn’t smooth it back into place, so I had to pull it the rest of the way out.

Make it Pop 5

But I couldn’t just lift the blue part and slide that loose brown hair back under.  Because there’s brown hair from above and below the blue tucked into that ponytail holder.  And not front brown hair:  hair from the back of her head.  Now, I get that this was to hold the hairstyle in place without using glue.  And I’m cool with that.  But what I’m not cool with is the fact that the packaging ruined a hairstyle that would be between difficult and impossible to reproduce.

But that’s probably not a common situation.  In all the playline dolls I’ve gotten over the years, the universal annoyances usually are inside the head like they’re supposed to be.  And most little girls probably take the hair down anyway.

Make it Pop 6

So, here she is out of her package.   Cute, right?  No articulation in the elbows or the knees, but still cute.  But maybe you’re thinking her face looks familiar — and certainly nothing like the actress whose image is featured on the box.  Maybe you’ve already placed who she looks like (goodness knows I pegged them the first time I saw them) but maybe you’re not familiar enough with playline dolls to recognize her face.

Make it Pop 10

Does that help?

Make it Pop 12

I’m sure you can see it now! 😉  (And yes, both Make it Pop and Winx are Jakks Pacific.)

Make it Pop 13

So, the Make it Pop head isn’t quite the same head as the Winx head:  it’s a tiny bit larger, the mouth is a tiny bit different, the eyes are a tiny bit larger….but it’s basically the same head.  They mostly just scaled it up a little.

Of course, seeing that I was right that these new dolls were basically recycling the Winx head made me wonder how similar their bodies were.

But before I get into that, this is probably a good spot to talk about the dress that Corki here was wearing.

Make it Pop 14

A bit frilly, cute little bunny print on the skirt, lots of pink and lavender…a deceptively cute dress.  Deceptively because it draws your attention away from the problem areas.  Namely the edges.  The unfinished edges.  No hems, no surging.  Now, in Jakks Pacific’s defense, I do think the cloth was at least treated with something to stop it from fraying, so it could be worse.  But this dress is not constructed as well as a Winx Club outfit.

Make it Pop 15

And then there’s this.  Why did she come with paper wrapped around her hips?  What was that in aid of?  (I seriously doubt it’s to protect her from staining.  Among other things, that skirt didn’t look dark enough to stain.)

Make it Pop 16

So the main thing you can see here is that Winx dolls have much longer legs. 😛  Also, they have knee joints.

Make it Pop 18

So, taking advantage of the knee joints, I was able to put their torsos at more or less the same level.  And they look pretty darned similar.  Not identical, but similar.  (And yes, those are Project MC² stands holding them up.  Turns out those stands actually can be useful…)

I seem not to have taken any pictures of the side view of their unclad torsos.  But it basically showed the same thing as the front view.  That the Make it Pop body is similar to Winx, but not quite identical.  It was a starting point, I guess you’d say.

As an experiment, I decided to see if they could share clothes.

Basically.
Basically.

The pants are obviously way too long on Corki, but otherwise, they can wear the same clothes.  In fact, I kind of like the outfits better in this arrangement.  (They’re still wearing them, actually…)

Oops, forgot about the gallery!  It’s here.

3 thoughts on “Make it Pop – Doll Review

  1. aikifox85 April 1, 2016 / 1:47 am

    Make It Pop is actually a pretty decent show. It’s geared toward the Jr High-ish age range. It’s about three Korean American girls and it features a lot of musical numbers in a K-Pop style. It’s cute.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Iphis of Scyros April 1, 2016 / 8:42 am

      That does sound cute. Pity they didn’t try to make the dolls represent the actresses at least a little, instead of just slightly modifying Winx dolls.

      Like

      • aikifox85 April 1, 2016 / 8:45 am

        Yeah. If they made the face actually look like the girls from the show, I might have had to look into them.

        Like

Leave a Reply

