Ghaleon

This one probably slipped under a lot of radars…

Ghaleon 1

I got him by pre-ordering Lunar 2, which came out about the same time as the Playstation 2.  I’m not sure if he was made for that purpose, or if he was an over-produced bonus for the first game or what.  Regardless of that, he’s pretty special.

Because Lunar:  Silver Star Story Complete was my very first console RPG.

I’d played a few board games with RPG elements, and a few early PC games with RPG elements, but I didn’t know what a JRPG was until I played Lunar.  And, naturally, I loved it.  (I haven’t revisited it in a very long time, however, and I don’t know if I’d still love it.  I mean, I might still love it if there was a Japanese language option, or if you could turn the voices off, or…no, Alex was played by Akira Ishida.  I would need the Japanese voices.  Like, chemically.  Although that’s nothing compared to the need I would feel for the Japanese voices in Lunar 2:  Hiro was played by Hikaru Midorikawa.)

Anyway, given how long I’ve had him, and how rare he (presumably) is, and all that, I was not about to de-box him.  So here’s a through-the-plastic shot of his face:

Ghaleon 2

I do have more to say, though.  Check out the back of the box:

No, I was not drunk at the time I took this picture.
No, I was not drunk at the time I took this picture.

I have no idea what you had to do to get that Alex puppet.  Pre-order the first one, I presume.  (I got the first one used, and I’m pretty sure I didn’t even have a Playstation at the time it came out, so…no clue.)

Ghaleon 5

I’ve actually seen a video of someone using one of these to attack one of their friends.  It was an Easter Egg video on the DVD of one of the seasons of Red vs Blue.  (Not sure which season, though.  I’ve only seen the first five seasons, so it couldn’t have been past that, and I’m pretty sure the first season (and maybe the second one?) didn’t have Easter Eggs, so there aren’t too many possibilities.)

Ghaleon 6

I think the sculpt on the Alex puppet looks better than the sculpt on Ghaleon here.  (Though maybe it doesn’t look as good in person?  Anyone know anyone who’s got one?)

Ghaleon 7

This, btw, is about what it was like to read one of Working Designs’ strategy guides.  I was very disappointed when I first read a non-Working Designs strategy guide, and found out they were entirely straight-forward and humorless.  (These days, of course, I don’t even bother with strategy guides.  It’s rare that I find a boss fight that challenging, and when I do, I just go to GameFAQs like everyone else. 😛  But back when I was first starting out…)

If you’d like to check out the “G for Ghaleon” gallery, it’s here.  If not (or even if so), I’ll be back tomorrow with “H is for [spoiler deleted]”. 😛

2 thoughts on “Ghaleon

  1. Ian Chamberlin (@The_9th_Sage) October 11, 2016 / 11:19 pm

    You know, I don’t think the Alex puppet ever was actually sold, not that I know of. He wasn’t a preorder for the first game, I can tell you that much.

    Like

    • Iphis of Scyros October 17, 2016 / 8:38 am

      I wonder where he comes from, then. Maybe he was a pre-order bonus in Japan, but never available in America?

      Like

Leave a Reply

