Ursula

Meet Ursula, one of my childhood dolls:

Ursula 1

I’m not sure where that staining on her face came from. 😦  She’s constructed in a really interesting manner:  inside her head, as far as I can tell, is a large styrofoam sphere, just covered over with cloth.  The rest of her body is a standard cloth doll, of course. 😛

Ursula 2

A second angle so you can see her eyelashes. 😀  It’s funny, though:  I always thought she and the two others like her I have (one of which was technically originally my mother’s) were local in some way, hand-made dolls exclusive to the shop in which we bought them.  Turns out she was made by Applause.  That’s actually pretty disappointing.  (The odd thing is that her tag identified her by some name that utterly didn’t fit her, like “Milicent” or something.  If I saw that tag at the time, I was wise to re-name her.  I checked my other doll, Gretchen, but she didn’t have a tag (as far as I could tell) so I can’t be sure if I even knew they came with names, or if I’d just named them because they were dolls and so they needed names.

???  Is something wrong?

Oh, I’m sorry.  Were you expecting something more like this?

Ursula 3

You know, I thought about using Ursula the Sea Witch for April A-to-Z last year.  (But then I went with something awesome I’d just gotten at an anime convention instead. 😀  )  I had even taken the photos of the supremely, incredibly cool collector’s Ursula doll that Mattel put out…uh…somewhere in the late 1990s?  (Wow, my recall is so complete!)  And then I put a link to a gallery including all my unused April A-to-Z shots at the end of the A-to-Z last year, so I’m assuming that means they’re all off limits by my ludicrous set of personal rules for this year. 😛  So that means I can’t put a picture of that doll in this post.

Ursula 4

Ugh, what was Ursula doing that caused her to smear her lipstick all over the plastic?  Trying to eat her way out of the package?!  (Between that and the horrible residue left by the Tuesday Mornings price tag, there’s not much point to leaving these dolls in the package…except to protect them from the rampant dust in this house.)

Ursula 5

A different angle so you can see more of her face and less of the smeared paint.

BTW, am I the only who thinks the Disney Store should do those cute little toddler dolls of their villainesses as well as their heroines?  (Just in the tiny Kelly-sized versions, though.  The super-sized ones aren’t as cute.)  A chibi baby Ursula would be adorable.  Or maybe that’s just me?  (And a baby Queen of Hearts?  It’s like “just take my money already” just thinking about it!)

Well, that got a bit weird there….but here we are at “U is for Ursula,” which means that April A-to-Z is almost finished!

That means I’ll be back to my own devices again soon.  I’ll hardly know what to post about…er, no, actually, that’s more true on my main blog than it is here. 😛

5 thoughts on “Ursula

    • Iphis of Scyros April 25, 2016 / 6:39 pm

      Wouldn’t it? Someone really needs to get Disney on board with this! I wonder if they have the Internet equivalent of a “suggestions” box…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Chrissy April 26, 2016 / 1:38 pm

    I think that’s a great idea. I would love a baby Queen of Hearts! I think Maleficent or Ursula could be pretty neat looking, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

