VW Bug

Quite some time ago, I was at a Chinese restaurant that I really like, and at the end of the meal, my fortune cookie had a message that said something like “Something on four wheels will be a fun investment for you in the near future.”

I chuckled at it — I’d just gotten a new car a few months earlier, so there was no fear of me needing another one! — but stashed it away in my sunglasses case as being amusingly interesting.  I certainly didn’t plan on buying anything with four wheels…

VW 1

But then I saw this at the grocery store about a month later.  It’s five inches long, and the doors open.  And it was really cheap. 😛  More importantly, it’s a pink, classic VW bug, covered with hippie stickers!  How could I resist?!

VW 2

About a month or so later, the grocery store had this one on that same little shelf of goodness-only-knows-why-they’re-selling-these-here toy cars.  It’s not as cute as the bug, and only the door to the back seat opens, but…well, I did mention that they’re cheap, right?  (Seriously, the two of them combined were less than most Monster High dolls.)

Of course, I really have to fault these cars on one thing:  their editors missed a major error in the text.  The correct way to say that is…actually, can you help me out with this, Vash?

VW 5

Thank you, Mr. the Stampede.

Anyway, on a (kind of?) related note…

VW 4

Yup.  A hippie Breyer horse.  I couldn’t resist this, either.  (Yeah, part of me was really meant to have lived in the 1960s….but the rest of me is probably glad I didn’t, since I do kind of like me my high-tech toys. 😛  I’d enjoy visiting them, though.  If only that were possible…)

Y’know, I probably could have done this post for “H” and picked something else for “V”…

2 thoughts on “VW Bug

  1. Lissa Johnston (@Lissa_Johnston) April 26, 2016 / 9:18 am

    Whether VW admits it or not, ‘cute’ is def part of their brand. Have you seen the new redesign for the VW bus? Apparently they’re bringing it back and it looks pretty good IMO. If I still had young kids to carpool, I might give it a look.

    Like

  2. tvonzalez April 26, 2016 / 11:05 am

    Having been called a hippie more than once, I would have snagged all 3 of those items. I do have a Barbie VW I have been saving for just the right post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

