Xenosaga, Episode I

Yup, another video game themed post.  But no screen shots this time. 😛

Xenosaga 1

I’ve been wanting to pick up some KOS-MOS merchandise ever since I found out there was such merchandise, but it’s hard to find any that I find appealing.  Because the visual aesthetic in Xenosaga Episode I was entirely different from the aesthetic in the other two games.  And since the first one is the one that’s actually good, I wanted one that matched the original, more anime-like aesthetic.  (Okay, to be fair, Episode II is still a pretty decent game.  Not great, like Episode I, but decent.  It’s Episode III that’s horrible.  Seriously, having both played the game given the subtitle Also Sprach Zarathustra and read the original book by Nietzsche, I can without question say that you will absolutely be served better to read the book.  Sure, it won’t tell you how the story of the first two games ends, but you can make something up that’ll be better than what Namco came up with.  (It really shows that they fired the series creator during Episode II…)  More importantly, the book is actually entertaining, and it will take far less time.)  The one exception to my “only Episode I merchandise” policy for KOS-MOS is that I would totally love to have the Dollfie Dream of her, even though that’s from the horrible Episode III.  (But I’d still rather have the Dollfie Dream of Miku…though any talk of Dollfie Dreams is just idle, because I cannot afford to spend roughly a thousand dollars on a single doll.)

Xenosaga 2

Here’s the back of the package, which helpfully shows how you can use/attach some of the pieces she comes with.  I call this “helpful” because it lets me know what it would look like, as I don’t intend to open her. 😛  Anyway, interesting thing about this figure:  as far as I could tell from the Mandarake page (of course that’s where I got her! 😛 ) she would seem to have been a pre-order bonus for the original game.  I am so jealous of that!  You know what I got for pre-ordering the first game?

Nothing.

There was a pre-order bonus for the second game, though:

Xenosaga 4

That’s a DVD containing all the CG cutscenes from the first episode.  With the wonderful-yet-unfair feature of being able to select the original Japanese language.  “Unfair,” of course, because the games themselves don’t have that option.  So if you watch the DVD in the original, and get used to what the characters are supposed to sound like, then you’re crushed by returning to the game and being forced back into the English voices.  (Though, honestly, the dub isn’t that bad.  It’s…okay, actually, I haven’t revisited any of the games since being disgusted by the final one (first major RPG I ever sold back immediately on completing it) but I recall it being serviceable.  Certainly there were no characters whose voices made me want to stab myself in the eardrums, and I can’t say that about all dubbed games…)

Ahem.

Okay, this post seems to have devolved into me soap-boxing my views on certain subjects, when it’s supposed to be about the figure.  So I’ll just shut up now, and present one last photo:

Xenosaga 3

Not the greatest sculpt in the world, but I’ve seen worse.  (Okay, yes, I know I said I’d shut up!)

BTW, if you’d like to see the gallery — though the only additional photo in it is a shot with the game’s soundtrack in front of the package — it’s here.

Leave a Reply

