Zootopia

If you’ve been following my blog long, I’m sure you already knew that Z would be for Zootopia. 😀

Zootopia 1

A gazelle isn’t quite a deer, but…I’d have wanted to add her to my collection anyway, ’cause just look at her!  (No, btw, I have never tried the “try me” singing function.  And there’s a little on-off switch, so…ooh, I need to remember to remove the batteries!  If I leave them in there indefinitely they could corrode.)  Oh, wait, it’s not so easy to see her in the box…

Zootopia 5

So here she is out of the box…and it’s still pretty hard to see her.  Gazelle is a very hard doll to photograph.  😦  Anyway, as you can see — or not see — her shoes are just glittery paint (heaven forfend the Disney Store sell a doll without glitter!) but her skirt and shirt are actual clothes…though I guess the picture makes her shirt look like more glitter paint.

Zootopia 10

She has elbow and knee joints, but the extreme thinness of her arms (forelegs?) makes the elbow joints a little bit tenuous, and every time I try to move them I feel like I’m going to break her.  (Though I’m sure it would actually be quite difficult to do so; the Disney Store usually releases pretty sturdy products.)  Oh, and yes, that is a Pullip stand.  With such flimsy limbs, I figured there was absolutely no way I was ever going to get Gazelle to stand up on her own, and I had this spare Pullip stand handy, so…wait, why do I have a spare Pullip stand?  That’s weird.  Most of my seated Pullips were samples who didn’t have them, so…oh, wait, maybe it belongs to — oh, crap.  It’s not a spare stand; it’s Selina’s stand.  Well, I guess Gazelle will have to get a new stand once I get Selina put back together again.

Zootopia 9

There’s one problem with the hand that holds her microphone, however.  (Aside from the fact that no matter how they evolved, gazelles should never have fingers.  But I’ll let that slide, ’cause the movie was awesome. 😀 )  As you can see here, when you bend her elbow up to bring the microphone towards her face, it’s facing away from her.  *ahem*  The elbow turns in its socket, which I didn’t notice until it came time to actually write this.  Because I am, apparently, an utter moron.  I’m pre-writing this on the 26th, so if I have time I’ll get another photo of her holding her microphone up the right way…but given everything going on around here, I likely won’t have the time.

Zootopia new

EDIT — Okay, I didn’t get it up anywhere near in time for the original post, but just in case anyone reads this post belatedly, here’s a new photo of Gazelle holding her microphone the right way.  Though that’s about as close to her face as I could get it.

Zootopia 11

So, one last attempt to get a good shot of her face.  Like Manny Taur, it’s really hard to get a decent photograph of her face.  Though at least Gazelle isn’t trapped in a box. 😛  (Once again, the strong shadow makes it look like she’s in a ’50s horror movie…)

Anyway, let’s move on!  There’s someone I’d like you to meet.  He’s one of the nicest folk on the river…

Zootopia 12

So, Zootopia featured a lot of character designs that were…how do I put this?  To call them “homages” to earlier movies seems to be understating it.  Well, whatever you want to call it, a lot of the character designs seemed to be updating and 3Difying the character designs of earlier Disney anthropomorphic animal characters, particularly ones from Robin Hood and the animated section of Bedknobs and Broomsticks.  (Which was, of course, the reason why the lion mayor was named Lionheart, ’cause he was based on the design for King Richard.)  I’m not sure if this was just tribute to the earlier movies, or if it was to make Zootopia fit more neatly into the Disney visual aesthetic, or what.  Probably the former, really.  Anyway, regardless of that, I imagine that at some point there was a production meeting discussing these character designs, and the subject of the weasel came up, and a conversation along the following lines took place:

“You know what I’d like the weasel to look like?  I mean, it’s not one of ours, but remember those weasels in “Who Framed Roger Rabbit”?”
“Yeah, the ones who looked like that weasel from the Riverbottom Nightmare Band?”
“Dude!  That’s it!  We have GOT to name our otter Emmett!”

Lol, okay, yeah, that’s probably not how it happened.

Zootopia 13

But it can’t be a coincidence that Mr. Otterton’s name is Emmett.  Not since Disney now owns all the Muppet properties.  Besides, look at his shirt here.  It’s totally saying “Kermit”.  (It didn’t in the movie because it was a sweater vest.  But when it’s all made out of this felt-like cloth?  Then it becomes pure Kermit.)  Anyway, even though he doesn’t really look much like Emmett Otter, I just had to get this when I saw it. 😀  So far, I’ve been resisting the lure of the sloth…but I totally want that one, too.  😛

Zootopia 14

I could not, however, resist getting a few Tsum Tsums. 😛  This stacking is pretty wrong, I know, but…seriously, that hair!  She can’t go on the bottom.

"I am a real cop. I am a real cop."
“I am a real cop. I am a real cop.”

So cute!  Though her ears won’t behave…

"It's called a hustle, sweetheart."
“It’s called a hustle, sweetheart.”

The first time I saw the movie, I had to fight not to laugh in the scene where he brings out his “son” to convince the elephant to let him buy the jumbo pop.  But I didn’t want to allow myself to laugh, because I couldn’t be sure everyone else in the audience knew a fennec fox when they saw one…

"Us little guys have to stick together."
“Us little guys have to stick together.”

Normally, I wouldn’t get merchandise of a character like Bellweather, but…this was just too darned cute to pass up!  I gotta say, when I saw the movie the second time, I was really struck by how amazing her wool looked.  All the fur textures were amazing, of course, but her wool and Lionheart’s mane were the two that really stood out to me.  The amount of time and effort that had to have gone in to making the textures and the algorithms to make the fur move properly…it must be staggering, but the end result was incredible, so I’m sure the people who worked on it felt it was worth all the time they put into it.

Okay, well, that’s all I have for you today.  If you want to see the gallery for this post, it’s here.

And that makes the successful conclusion to April A-to-Z!  Yay! 😀

7 thoughts on “Zootopia

    • Iphis of Scyros May 1, 2016 / 8:10 am

      Wow, thanks! I’ve been so busy this April that I haven’t had time to look at everyone else’s A-to-Z posts, but I’m going to do so as soon as classes are over in mid-May, starting with everyone who’s been kind enough to leave comments on my posts. I’ll definitely have to hit yours first!

      Like

  1. Chrissy April 30, 2016 / 5:32 pm

    Congrats on getting through the whole challenge!

    Like

  2. melkary May 1, 2016 / 1:03 am

    Great job on the A-Z! I came here for Z and enjoyed it so much, I read almost the whole alphabet. Both my mom and aunt collect dolls, and I have a small collection as well. Happy A-Z, stop by if you like. http://songtailorstitchery.blogspot.com/

    Like

  3. Lissa Johnston (@Lissa_Johnston) May 11, 2016 / 8:54 am

    I am woefully uninformed about dolls, but it looks like I’ve found the right place to ramp up 🙂 To your point about characters being very derivative – apparently this is not restricted to the human cast members. Perhaps not in name or look, but I see the same situations and outcomes repeated. I’m thinking of the new Star Wars movie in particular here, but it’s widespread. I think the producers are telling themselves it’s an homage, but I think it’s more a factor of them wanting to repeat what has worked in the past/not wanting to gamble on something new.

    Like

    • Iphis of Scyros May 11, 2016 / 12:45 pm

      I was only talking about their character design. Personality is a completely different issue, and cinema has always — by necessity — depended on certain tropes. They only have a short span of time to set up the characters *and* tell a story, after all.

      Of course, in recent years, there has definitely been a trend of more literal repetition: new movies in old franchises trying to present both a “new” story and a “Greatest Hits” of the earlier movies. “Jurassic World” is a prime example, but I’m told the new Star Wars movie did the same thing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

