Gen-kun arrives!

😀  My very first resin BJD has arrived! 😀

Gen-kun arrives 1

So this purple box was all that was inside the shipping box when I got it open.  I couldn’t help wondering where all the other stuff I ordered was…

Gen-kun arrives 2

It was all inside the box, too. 😛  His clothes, wig, boots, spare eyes (free bonus deal when I ordered him), a pair of glasses (also free bonus deal), a little ID card with care instructions, and the white thing in the center which was labeled as a gift, but it’s just a little white square of foam.  Not sure what it’s for.  A cleaning sponge, maybe?

Anyway…

Gen-kun arrives 3

…this was what I saw when I opened the box.  (The additional items were actually inside this, so I skipped ahead a bit. 😛 )

Gen-kun arrives 4

And underneath the upper layer of padded cloth…we have a washed-out photo!  *ahem*  No, we have Gen-kun, of course.  Shipped wearing one of those little nappie-things that super-tiny kids in anime wear.  (I don’t know, off-hand, what they’re called…)  He’s also got on a face-up protector, since there was a bonus on to get a free face-up.

Technically, when he first arrived he also had styrofoam around his head, hands and feet, but I didn’t see any need to photograph him like that.

Gen-kun arrives 5

So here’s a shot of his super-adorable face.  I didn’t want to use a flash, so I had a bright LED lamp shining on him, but it created some pretty harsh shadows, and the color tends to be a little bit washed out with it on.

Gen-kun arrives 6

For this photo, I turned the lamp off and just used the light from the fixture on the ceiling.  (I was taking these pics in my bedroom, which doesn’t get a lot of natural light at any time of the day, and particularly not by the time I get home from work for the day.)  This photo is more representative of the actual colors, though it’s a tiny bit out of focus due to the reduced light.  It’s amazing to me how just a change in lighting has changed his expression from hyper-excited to merely (adorably) happy.

So, having taken these shots, it became time to remove his napkin and put him in his gear for some better photos.  (I don’t think it’s fair to call them real or proper photos, considering the poor lighting, lack of setting, inadequate posing, et cetera.)

Slight snag...
Slight snag…

The loop of the bow on the upper ribbon was caught up underneath his head!  (BTW, note the little plate on the back of his head.  That identifies him as being from Only Doll.  I thought that was pretty cool.)

Gen-kun arrives 8

Opening up his head (ack, that sounds awful!), I saw that the loop was firmly placed around the S-hook holding his body together.  I can’t figure out if that was intentional, or a really impressive mistake.  Either way, getting it unhooked was difficult.  It wasn’t hard to untie the bow, but then I had to use tweezers to ease the free end up into the head, and then (moderate) brute force to pull it free once it was un-looped.

But once that was done, I was free to get him all dressed up!

Gen-kun arrives 9

Getting his gear on him was easy, though I’m not sure about the shorts:  I might have gotten them back-to-front.  As they were apparently made for a slightly larger YO-SD sized doll, given the bagginess of the waist, it probably doesn’t matter. 😛

But wait, there’s more!

Gen-kun arrives 10

His shirt is a panda hoodie! 😀  Okay, it lacks the dignity of the stock outfit he could have come with, but I think it suits him anyway.

Gen-kun arrives 11

The point of this shot is to show you how part of his thick set of eyelashes is actual eyelashes, rather than being painted on.  (Like Lir, he has super-long eyelashes…)

Now, of course, one thing occurred to me as I was dressing him.  Resin is supposed to stain very easily, right?  And I went and ordered him black shorts.  Not to mention black boots.  And a hoodie with black-striped sleeves.  So he’s currently sitting in his box back in his little nappie, until I have a chance to stain-proof his clothes.  And order him some white socks to protect his feet from his boots.  However, I do figure that the part of my room he’s sitting in, being a spot that gets no sunlight, direct or otherwise, should be safe from general light damage, so his box is at least open so he can see and be seen.  (Um, more the latter, of course…)

Anyway, as to the two free bonus items…

Gen-kun arrives 15

I apparently selected the turquoise eyes.  (It was the end of April; I’d forgotten which color I’d ordered. 😛 )  They’re quite pretty, but I’m not yet ready to try switching his blue ones out for them.  Actually, maybe I’ll give him one blue and one turquoise eye?  Hmm…not sure how that’d look…

As to the glasses…

Gen-kun arrives 13

Gen wanted to try them on, but they’re a wee bit big for him! 😛

They’re supposed to be 1/3 scale glasses, so I thought Juliet might be able to wear them.  They’re too small for Pullips, though, so they might be too small for Juliet as well.  (I’ve yet to try them on her.)  They do fit Dals quite nicely, though, so even if they don’t fit Juliet, at least they fit someone.

I now need to go to Etsy and order Gen some white socks (though I probably could have ordered a pair from Alice’s Collections at the time if I’d been thinking about it), but I probably won’t do that for a few days.  I want to relish the “no more packages on their way in” state.  (That may sound silly, but after having gone overboard with the auction purchases, it’s a relief to know there’s nothing else on its way.)  Also if I wait I may get paid, which would be good. 😛

BTW, you know how I said earlier that I suspected Living Dead Dolls were the same size as YO-SD dolls?  I was spot-on. 🙂  Though it would probably be more accurate to say that they’re both borrowing their proportions and scale from vintage composition Madame Alexander dolls…  (Well, proportions definitely.  Scale…I’m not positive about that.  But I think so.)

Gen’s album (where all future pictures of him will go, in addition to these) is here.

Anyway, in closing, some general thoughts.  First, doll resin is amazingly smooth.  I mean, I know that sounds weird, but it really just has this silky texture that plastic doesn’t have.  It’s not as heavy as porcelain or silkstone, though, which is nice.  Second, I was having the worst trouble posing his arms.  There’s a knack to it that I’ll need to master, clearly.  I’m not terribly accustomed to that style of joint (though Freya’s knee joints are of a similar style, so I do have some experience) so hopefully as I get more used to it, I’ll be able to produce more natural poses for photos.  Third, I really should have gotten him some spare hands with other poses…though now that I think about it, I’m not positive that was an option.

I’m glad that I splurged on him (if you can call it splurging when he cost less than a Pullip or Blythe), so I can get used to resin dolls before my 1/4 scale fairies arrive in November.  (I don’t count them as being “on the way” since they won’t ship for months yet.)  I’m also glad because he’s super-cute! 😀

Not that I’m, like, smitten or anything.

Oh, no, not me!  I’d never be smitten for a doll just ’cause he’s totally adorable.

Who’d ever do that?

😛

Anyway, this has just been a brief(?) little squee of a post to show him off a bit in excitement that he’s arrived.  If he hadn’t arrived, I’d be working on my novel right now…which is what I’m about to go do. 😉

2 thoughts on “Gen-kun arrives!

  1. Olive June 5, 2016 / 7:16 pm

    He looks great! And so happy! Will you be developing a character for him?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Iphis of Scyros June 6, 2016 / 9:29 am

      I’m sure a personality will eventually form up in my mind for him — like what happened with Hayley — but I’m not going to consciously work on one.

      I *am* consciously working on characters for the fairies, though. But that’s kind of different, since they’re coming blank, and their personality’s likely to influence the face-up I give them. (And the kind of eyes I give them in the very likely event that I’m not satisfied with the standard acrylic ones they come with. I’m thinking of trying those new DIY-style blank eyes from the Junky Spot…)

      Like

Leave a Reply

