A Big Day for Deliveries (Unexpectedly)

I wasn’t expecting anything today.

Well, no.  I was hoping to get that package from Amazon.  The one I ordered on the 14th, which got lost in the mail, got refunded, and then I had to re-order it and today was supposed to be the first day of the delivery window.  (But when I checked this morning, they still hadn’t even shipped the bloody thing. 😦 Boooo!)  But I wasn’t expecting anything else to arrive today.

So then I was surprised when I got a package this morning.  Inside it…

big delivery 1

A tiny, non-windowed box, like Wonder Woman came in.  I haven’t actually de-boxed her yet, but here’s what she looks like still in the package:

big delivery 4

I’ll give her a proper photo shoot and review when I have a chance.  (Maybe work will be light this weekend and I can take her to work with me and take her picture there.  That’d be cool.)  I gotta say, I love the glittery eye chips (they were one of the big selling points for me, in fact), and her face-up is really sweet.

Anyway, if Amelia was the only package that arrived, I wouldn’t be doing this post; I’d just wait until I had her full photo shoot ready.  But when I was starting my dinner, I checked the porch again (because it occurred to me I forgot to actually look in the mail box to see if there was, you know, actual mail) and found two tall cardboard mailers taped together.  Inside…

big delivery 5 big delivery 8

I didn’t even know they had shipped yet!  I thought it said they were going to ship the 15th.  Maybe it said the 1st and I mis-remembered, but either way, I wasn’t expecting them to get here today!  I hadn’t even gotten an e-mail telling me they were shipping!  (Though I guess I didn’t check my e-mail this morning, but I know I checked it last night.)

Anyhoo, I’ll have to beg your indulgence here.  ‘Cause the few photos are terrible (taken after dark in poor light in my bedroom) and I haven’t actually de-boxed the Snow Queen yet, and I don’t have a review or proper photo shoot for Arthur — er, “Nutcracker Prince Nicholas”.  (Again, maybe I can take one or both of them to work this weekend and do it there.  That’d be sweet.  Won’t happen, but it’d be sweet.)

So, getting back to Arthur, I was pretty shocked when I got his box out of the mailer and saw that Nutcracker face staring out at me.  I mean, realistically, of course they were gonna mail him that way, but for some reason I just wasn’t expecting it.  (Oh, if you’re wondering why he’s named Arthur, I explained that in an earlier post.)

big delivery 10

So here’s a shot of his full outfit, with Nutcracker head.  Though I have de-boxed him, I haven’t spent too much time examining him yet, so — again — the full review will wait until I have more time.  But the outfit looks nice enough so far.  I’m sorry to say that he has the same problem “Clara-Marie” has, with the wrists not rotating.  (Naturally, the Snow Queen does, too.)  It’s not a huge concern, but it does limit their posability somewhat.

big delivery 11

Juliet stepped in to rescue her handsome prince from his horrific headgear. 😉

big delivery 12

Here’s a shot of his face.  As you can see, his wig’s a bit limp, without any real body to it, unlike the promotional shots, which had a bit more volume.  That’s something that can be pretty easily fixed, though, either by styling the wig or just by replacing it. 😛  The face itself is quite lovely, though. 😀  I’ll have to do a detailed comparison of his eyes and Juliet’s (and the Snow Queen’s) to be sure, but I think the eyes have improved a bit since Juliet was released.

big delivery 13

And here’s a full shot of the Snow Queen.  I have to say, I’m disappointed in her footgear.  Those shoes weren’t terribly flattering even on “Clara-Marie,” but at least in her case they matched her dress.  But powder pink shoes with a blue, white and silver outfit?  Not good.  I’d been wanting to get Juliet some silver shoes already.  Now I guess I need to get two pairs.  Or maybe a really pale blue pair, but it’ll be difficult to find a pair that’s going to match correctly.  Maybe white would work…

big delivery 14

Here’s a close-up of her face.  Now, the Snow Queen is still in her box as of this writing, so I can say even less about her than about Arthur, fair warning.  (This is, after all, just a preliminary “whoa!” of a post.)  But as you can see in this photo, her face is beautiful; much prettier than “Clara-Marie,” in my opinion.  (No offense, Juliet!)  I wouldn’t have picked reddish-brown eyes, personally.  But they don’t look bad, so it’s all right.  (Though it’d be better if we could change out the eyes as well as the wigs.)  Really, the biggest drawback I see to the Snow Queen is that her stock outfit looks so nice (apart from the shoes) that I’m probably going to be reluctant to re-dress her!

I still need to come up with a name for the Snow Queen, of course.  I tend to think in terms of yuki-onna when it comes to female spirits of snow and winter, but I wonder if it’s inappropriate to give her a Japanese name?  (Since she neither looks the least bit Asian nor is the product of an Asian company.)  Some of the yuki-onna names I know are perhaps a bit too on the nose (like Oyuki, the alien yuki-onna from Urusei Yatsura) and at least one of them is a bit unwieldy (Shirahime-syo) so…hmm, maybe Saeko, after the Snow Queen storyline from Persona.  Hmm.  That’s one to add to the list of possibilities, at any rate.

I actually had another delivery come in yesterday, from Etsy, containing a vintage toy identical to one I had as a girl, but I never got the photo taken, so that’ll have to wait for later, too.  (That one, at least, only requires one, maybe two pictures.)  Ooh, speaking of Etsy, I must head over there at the first convenient opportunity to try and find those shoes for Juliet and the Snow Queen…

One last thing.  There is currently no gallery for this post, and you may have noticed that none of the photos have links to larger versions.  That’s because for some reason Dropbox is refusing to admit that I’ve put the photos in the photo directory.  It’s claiming that it’s up to date, even though it’s not.  (I think this was caused by me putting them in the Dropbox photo directory while I was downloading a massive game demo for a Kickstarter project I’m contemplating backing, but now that the demo’s done downloading, it really should have noticed it wasn’t up to date, right?  I dunno; maybe it’s having an off night.)  So I’ll come back online tomorrow (hopefully) and see if I can get the whole gallery issue dealt with, and (more importantly) provide links to the full size photos.

All right, Dropbox is all cleared up, so everything above has its links now, and the gallery is here.  Due to crazytime going on in my life, I still haven’t de-boxed the Snow Queen or done anything further with Arthur.  I did debox Amelia, anyway, and she’s quite adorable.  I’ll try and get some proper photos taken when I can.  (Goodness only knows when that’ll be!)

8 thoughts on “A Big Day for Deliveries (Unexpectedly)

  1. Chrissy September 2, 2016 / 9:30 am

    Wow, that’s a lot of dolls to arrive in one day! They’re all very beautiful/handsome. 😀

    Like

  2. sandybyrne September 2, 2016 / 1:20 pm

    Congratulations on your dollies arrival! That Pullip doll is definitely a true beauty, I was thinking to get her too but I chose isul over her ^^”

    Like

  3. JM September 3, 2016 / 4:07 pm

    I also rec’d both of mine on 8-31 I recall they stated it would ship 9-1 WoW! what a surprise, I too was disappointed in the pink lace ups-what size shoe would she wear? I almost did not order The Snow Queen becuz I was more impressed with Nicholas-but I’m glad I did-she is beautiful. Too bad they did not include stands.

    Like

    • Iphis of Scyros September 5, 2016 / 9:16 am

      Most SD13 or Dollfie Dream shoes fit them, I suspect. (Probably Smart Doll as well.) I’ve actually only bought one pair so far for the first doll, but it was a standard SD13 size bought on Etsy. (Though the seller seems to have closed up shop. 😦 Just when I was gonna order some more from them, too.) When in doubt, you can ask for the shoe measurements (if the seller doesn’t provide them outright, which many do), and compare the measurements of the doll’s feet. That’s what I’m going to have to do with the prince, though I’m hoping he, too, conforms to standard BJD sizing.

      I wasn’t having much luck finding shoes on Etsy — most of them are high heeled — so I’m thinking of ordering them some shoes from Alice’s Collections, a BJD site. If I had more time, I’d invest in some leather and shiny cloth and learn how to make my own shoes for them.

      The dolls stand on their own pretty well, so I don’t think stands are really needed. Though I’ve generally got them sitting. (I recently got my hands on some cheap furniture about the right scale…)

      Like

      • JM September 6, 2016 / 1:44 am

        Thank you for the info, I am new to the bjd hobby & want to make sure when looking for shoes using the info-this comes up:
        1/3 BJD Shoes/ Boots Supper dollfie SD13/17 Black#7
        What is 1/3?
        Would this fit Clara Marie?
        Any & all info is appreciated-Thank you so much
        JM

        Like

      • Iphis of Scyros September 6, 2016 / 4:19 pm

        1/3 means 1/3 scale, which is the scale used for the “My Ballerina Dolls” line. So anything labeled 1/3 BJD or SD13 should probably fit. Without measurements, it’s hard to be certain, though. If the shoes were made generically to fit the majority of 1/3 scale dolls, then they should fit. If they were made very precisely for one particular doll model, then they might not. Most are made more generically. What material are the shoes made of? A material with some give, like cloth, will be a safer bet than a material with little give, like resin, hard plastic or leather.

        Like

      • JM September 7, 2016 / 1:04 am

        Thank you so much, that really helps in my search. I truly appreciate your help.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

