Back from the Doll Hospital

OMG, this post is literally two weeks late.  I got the dolls back from the doll hospital two weeks ago today, and yet somehow I’m only just now posting about it!  Ugh…what’s the matter with me lately?

dolly-hospital-2

We’ll start with Patsy, since she’s the reason I finally got off my kiester and got myself (and my dolls) to the doll hospital in the first place!  As you can see from the photo above, the hole in her foot is now filled in. 🙂

dolly-hospital-3

The harsh artificial light makes the match-up between the touch-up paint and Patsy’s original coloration look worse than it is.  Even with that, she still looks so much better than she did when she got here!  Here’s the before shot:

patsy-8

Until I saw her with eyebrows, I didn’t realize just how much she needed them.  (Or rather, until I saw her with eyebrows and then looked back at what she’d looked like without them.)  The eyelashes definitely help, too.

I doubt Patsy was terribly pleased at being left at the doll hospital for such a long time (the repairs finished on a Tuesday, and I couldn’t get in until the following Monday), and then she and the other two had to sit in my cold car for three+ hours while I was at the library and attending class, but…she’s safe and sound at home on one of my bedroom doll shelves now, and that’s what’s important. 😀  I’ve found someone on Etsy who makes little dolly bloomers for 8″ Vogue Ginnies, and I think those should fit her to replace those bright red undies, too. 🙂

dolly-hospital-1

My mom’s Little Miss Revlon doll, perfectly re-strung.  (And standing on one of my more chaotic doll shelves…)  These dolls were constructed in a way that makes re-stringing them painfully difficult, a job for a real professional.

Tonner’s Betsy McCall dolls are strung in a more standard fashion, so I should have been able to re-string her myself.  And I was, partially.  The head and one of the legs was no problem.  But the other leg!  Someone — before selling her to me — had tried to re-string her already, and had bent the interior hook out of shape, making it almost impossible to re-string her.  Even the woman at the doll hospital had trouble with it.  But she did manage it!

dolly-hospital-5

YoYoCottage on Etsy made the dress for her.  (I’ve found a pair of black shoes on Etsy that should fit her, and some frilly white socks, but I haven’t ordered them yet.  Until I got her dressed, I didn’t stop to think about how she really needed shoes.)  Unfortunately, Betsy (like a number of other dolls with her child-like proportions) can’t really sit in a ladylike manner, and ends up with rather splayed legs, which I find both unattractive and spatially inconvenient.  So she needed a stand.

dolly-hospital-6

This photo highlights two things about the dress.  One, the bodice has a white lining!  No need to worry about staining!  Yay! 😀  (Though Betsy’s tummy is already a bit stained from the dress she came in…)  Two, her headband is on backwards.  There’s a definite front and back to the way the bow is constructed, but the front side had only a tiny band of purple and a huge band of yellow, plus it was a little on the other side of her face; I like purple best, and I preferred the bow on this side of her face, so…the headband is just gonna have to stay backwards. 😛

Now, if I’d posted this in a timely manner, I’d have nothing else to say, but because I’m so late, I have two things.  I’ll start with the brain-hurt, so the other will be a soothing balm.  Yes, brain-hurt.  Because now you must witness…

Snackception!

dolly-hospital-4

Yup.  That is what you think it is.

dolly-hospital-4a

del cute 7

I had to buy the cookie in order to photograph it as proof that we’re deep inside some layers-upon-layers digital world.  (The question is, can we get out, and would that be better or worse?)

Anyhoo, on a more sane note, for a long time I’ve been saying I wanted a translucent Blythe, and that I wanted a Middie Blythe.  Takara decided to oblige me on both counts simultaneously. 😀

Photo from Junie Moon site.  Click for link.
Photo from Junie Moon site. Click for link.

Bubbly Bliss here is being released next month, as a little sister to last year’s anniversary Blythe Allegra Champagne.  I didn’t even contemplate signing up for the lottery for Allegra, because she was so much more expensive than the usual Neo Blythes, but Bubbly Bliss here is the same price as a regular Middie, and required no lottery.  I was so eager that I pre-ordered her during my lunchbreak on Thursday.  (Since her Friday release date had already arrived by then in Japan…)  Of course, Middies don’t sell out as quickly as Neos, so it turns out I didn’t have to be in that much of a rush.  (As of right now, she’s still not sold out yet.  Er, pre-ordered out?)

They also got Devi Delacour — the Halloween-release translucent Neo — back in stock, but she’s so freakin’ expensive!  I’m still tempted (I was tempted when she was first released, too) but…based on the standard “assuming that 100 yen are one dollar” I was taught by manga almost twenty years ago, she’s about $260.  That’s a lot.  (Especially considering the premium on space around here.)  And yes, I realize the exact exchange rate fluctuates, and I haven’t checked it lately, but I’d expect that the dollar’s dropped pretty significantly of late, so if anything, she’s probably currently more than $260, rather than less.  (I know I should have checked the exchange rate before I went ahead and pre-ordered Bubbly Bliss, but…yeah, didn’t.)  Given various other things I’ve been buying lately that I shouldn’t have (many of which I plan on sharing eventually, if I can ever get my life (by which I mean house) picked up enough to get my butt back into the habit of taking photos regularly) I think I’ll likely be letting Devi slip through my fingers again.  ‘Cause I am not made of money or space, no matter how much my profligate spending habits want to think I am.

*sigh*

Okay, blathering over.  Must eat lunch.  And write a two page paper.  (Due tomorrow morning.  But I’m really not procrastinating — much — on account of I had a 400 page book due today.  For the same class.  Um, when I say “a 400 page book due” I mean I had to read it, not write it.  I realize you probably understood that right away, but…like I said.  Blathering.  And procrastinating.  And stuff.  Plus this paper is a two page essay explaining what our final project is going to be about.  With bibliography and everything.  Of sources we haven’t actually read yet.  Ack.  Just ack.)

2 thoughts on “Back from the Doll Hospital

  1. Ms.Bunns February 28, 2017 / 1:44 am

    Yay! Patsy and Betsy look so great!
    Congratulations on pre-ordering bubbly bliss, she’s so cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

