Monster High Minis

I had hoped that week three of the April Alternative Challenge could be Princess Elizabeth.  (Which would have been especially appropriate today, since it’s the Queen’s birthday.)  Alas, she’s still at the dolly hospital. 😦  And if I’d had more time, I could have put up a really freakin’ awesome Princess of Power post (it will be coming eventually, I hope) but I have two major projects due on Monday, so I’ve been freaking out trying to get them done.  (And they still aren’t done, either.  I have to go back to the library on Sunday (skipping work!) and possibly on Monday, too.)

So this post is sort of slap-dash.  For which I apologize.

Anyway, so maybe you’ve seen the tiny, ragdoll-like Monster High Minis in stores, if you frequent the Monster High aisle.  (I know many don’t, especially since the reboot.)  They’re about as tall as the distance from the knuckle of my thumb to the tip (wow, that’s a precise measurement!) and super-cute, but Mattel’s sort of tricksy about them:  they sell some in sets where you can see what you’re getting, and the rest in blind boxes.  The visible sets get you hooked on the cuteness, and include little fliers to show you all the other ones you’re missing out on, and then you end up buying the blind box ones….and I’ve been kind of hooked on blind box figures lately anyway.  (Though that’s another post entirely. 😛 )

So I was trying to resist the lure of getting anything other than the packaged sets.  Then I was at Walmart looking for various stuff I didn’t find, and found an 8-figure set of Season 2 of the Monster High Minis (why do blind box figures get “Seasons” instead of something more normal?) and I just had to get it.  Mainly for these two:

Pineapple Deuce.  Pineapple.  Deuce.

How could I resist?

There were some other really cool ones in the set, too:

These two were exclusive to the set.  (Actually, I think the two fruity ones may have been, too…not that “fruity” is what they call them…) They’re also the only “gem” ghouls in the season.

So, a werewolf mermaid…is a weremaid?  Merwolf?   Yeah, I think I like that one…

 

Anyway, the background on the set had super-adorable illustrations of a strawberry Draculaura and a lemon Rochelle, so I found myself studying the little flier inside for the whole contents of Season 2, and there are so many of them that I just need, in that awful doll-collecting itchy way.  (Or maybe Clawdeen’s fleas feared the ocean water and jumped onto me?)

And then I had a look at the flier for Season 1 out of one of the packaged sets, and found that it actually had some pretty cool stuff, especially the space ghouls:

Though, honestly, I didn’t get this Frankie from a blind box.  I got her with the carrying case…

Most of those 28 minis came from sets of 3 (and the set of 8), but there have been a few blind box purchases, too…just enough that there’s actually one more mini than can fit in the case.  (I’m hoping Season 2 when it gets fully released will have a different case, maybe with more room, a more transparent cover, and a new mini to go with it.  But I’d settle for just a different mini…)

I guess this one’s supposed to be the new ghost, but to me she’s Spectra.  Because they have the same color scheme and all.  Anyway, she’s the odd one out, but she still has a home to live in, ’cause most of the blind box minis come in nice, interlocking lockers…

See?  She’s got a nice flat in a small high-rise.

But it seemed a bit lonely this way…

…so I let some of my other blind box figs move in, at least for the time being. 😛


Well, I realize that’s not been much of a post, but I have to go make dinner and then finally get to work on my school work for the day.  (I had to go to work today, so I didn’t have much time to work on my projects.)


Oh, I almost forgot!  There’s a project on Kickstarter right now to start a Fashion Doll Museum.  If anyone out there is interested, check it out — and pass it along to anyone else who might be interested, too!

Leave a Reply

