Sharing Another Kickstarter – Royelles

Just came across this on Kickstarter, and I wanted to share this with you right away, because they still need a lot more pledges.  (Admittedly, they’ve got 24 days, but the sooner the better, yeah?)

(Not actually a video; screen capture from Kickstarter. Click for source.)

The Kickstarter is to get a new line of dolls called Royelles, to help combat the negative body image that current fashion dolls can contribute to.  (Let’s be honest, though:  Hollywood plays an enormous role in the negative body issues plaguing young girls.  I didn’t need a Barbie to teach me my body wasn’t acceptable to the people around me, because I watched television and went to see movies.  By the time my mother relented and let me have a Barbie, all my issues were already set in stone.)

These are some really great-looking dolls, very different from anything available on the affordable side of the market (some OOAK artist dolls do have a similar aesthetic, though), and I’d love to see these succeed and reach children.  The photos are all of their 3D printed prototypes, and it looks like the prototypes should make a smooth transition to their finished material.  (Some sort of plastic, I’m assuming, but if they said which type, I missed it.)  From the photos of people holding the prototypes, I’d say they’re probably about 18″ tall, rather than the more typical 12″ for playline fashion dolls, but the extra height gives them a lot of room for added personality.

So, please check them out, and support them if you like what you see. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sharing Another Kickstarter – Royelles

  1. Taswegian1957 August 7, 2017 / 12:40 am

    These are rather interesting dolls and i hope they are successful. On a side note I’ve said many times I don’t think that Barbie is soley responsible for poor body image although she always gets a lot of the blame. I always wonder why nobody ever comments about Monster High and similar dolls with large heads and anorexic limbs and bodies. They look far more unnatural to me.

    Like

    • Iphis of Scyros August 7, 2017 / 10:24 am

      It’s probably the extremely unnatural look of Monster High that keeps people from placing the same blame on it as they do on Barbie; no one could try to look like a Monster High doll, because their heads are gigantic, whereas a little kid might not recognize the impossibility of Barbie’s proportions. Or that’s their logic, I assume. I dunno; mass media involving actual humans has always struck me as being the real source of the problem, not dolls. That and the cruelty of other children.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

