Blind Box Monday

Rather than keep going through the rest of the Tokidoki Barbie Blind Box figures, I thought a little change of pace.  I came across these at a local store quite a while ago and immediately had to get one.

Yup, they come in an actual metal can.  The word you can’t quite read because of the curve is “Lil,” btw, making them the “Lil DC Comics Bombshells”…which sort of defeats the original purpose of the ’40s-style pinup art, but I’m not complaining! 😀

Anyway, here’s the back, showing the various figures in the line.

I think right off the bat the first one I was like “ooh, I want that one!” was Hawkgirl, because I hate the fact that her full-size statuette is blowing a bubble with bubblegum.  (Seriously, what’s up with that?  I mean, I wouldn’t buy it anyway, because way too expensive, but the bubblegum really ruins the look.)

Anyway, here’s what was in the first one I bought:

The mysterious, black silhouetted, alternate color version of Poison Ivy…which is half black and white and half color.  Um, wtf?  First of all, what are the odds?  And second, who in the world thought this was a good look?!

*sigh*

I mean, it’s not a bad item as such, but…the gray skin and hair looks even more bizarre with clothes that have color.  If it was all black and white, I’d get it, but half and half?

There’s more to this story, of course, but you’ll have to wait for next week. 😉

(BTW, I have a total of five of these, but I’ll probably not do more than two weeks in a row of the same type of blind box figure, because I don’t want this to become even more boring than it already is.)

Blind box figure gallery is here.

2 thoughts on “Blind Box Monday

  1. Ms.Bunns August 9, 2017 / 9:31 am

    What a weird alternate color scheme :S she’s still pretty cute though, and if you really don’t like her I’m sure because she’s variant she’d be easy to trade or sell.
    Really enjoying these blind box mondays!

    Like

    • Iphis of Scyros August 13, 2017 / 8:24 pm

      Yeah, if I decide to sell her, hopefully I’ll get a decent amount for her. For the moment, I’m holding on to her, just because lazy. 😛

      I’m glad you’re enjoying them. 🙂 I’m having fun doing them, especially since they don’t require going all-out on the photography like a more proper post does.

      Like

Leave a Reply

