Quetzalcolor Doll Trio

These three are the backer rewards I got from a Kickstarter from last year.  I’ve had them for a while now, but it took me a while to get them stands that work for them.  (In fact, I had to make the stands!)

But what are they?  Well, the people behind the Kickstarter describe their work thusly:

QUETZALCOLOR creates HANDMADE TOYS inspired by popular legends, emblematic characters and cultural wealth of Mexico. Each toy, made and hand painted, tell a story. This project seeks to celebrate our folklore and cultural richness, to promote a sense of identity and mainly to rescue our ancestral stories from falling into oblivion. We want to continue telling this stories and legends from generation to generation.

Beyond that, they’re cloth dolls with yarn hair and unusual proportions.  (Which was a large part of why I had to make stands for them myself!)  Being entirely hand-made, they were a bit too expensive to get all the ones I’d have wanted all at once!  Check out their Kickstarter page to see how many cool dolls there were.  (I’m sorry; I really should have plugged them at the time, but for some reason I only seem to do that on projects that are still struggling to meet their goal, and this one had no trouble doing that.  I need to start plugging all the doll and doll-like projects while they’re still going, whether they need the help or not.  Anyone interested in enamel pins?  I seem to have gotten into a sudden spurt of backing a lot of enamel pin projects in the last three or four days…and one with a cute limited amigurumi…)  Passing up the Jaguar Warrior was painful, though. 😦  I was hoping they’d be available after the Kickstarter (and I’m sure they are) but they haven’t made any updates about an online shop or anything.

Anyway, enough introduction.  Allow me to introduce my three Quetzalcolor dolls:

I could have sworn that the Kickstarter page had little explanations of each character, but now I don’t see them.  *sigh*  I know I found explanations somewhere…but I don’t remember where.  So I’ll just scrounge up what I can.

This is Nahuala.  I’ve got two bits from Wikipedia to explain who she is.  (OMG, have I really stooped to doing research on Wikipedia?  I suck…)  The first is about the town of Nahualá:

Local residents translate the name Nahualá roughly as “enchanted waters,” “water of the spirits,” and “water of the shamans,” and they often object to the common Spanish translation of the name as agua de los brujos (“water of the shamans”).

So, obviously, the little bottle of glitter is that enchanted water.  I could have sworn the Kickstarter page said that at the time.  Anyway, the other is about a 2007 Mexican animated picture called La Leyenda de la Nahuala, set in Puebla (where Quetzalcolor is based), in which a young boy in 1807 has to face off against a witch known as “La Nahuala”.  So, presumably that’s who this doll is representing.  (One of the other dolls in the series is la Llorona, after all.)

This is Iztacchíhuatl, and

…this rather stunned-looking bloke is Popocatépetl.  According to Wikipedia,

In Aztec mythology, Iztaccíhuatl was a princess who fell in love with one of her father’s warriors, Popocatépetl. The emperor sent Popocatépetl to war in Oaxaca, promising him Iztaccíhuatl as his wife when he returned (which Iztaccíhuatl’s father presumed he would not). Iztaccíhuatl was falsely told Popocatépetl had died in battle, and believing the news, she died of grief. When Popocatépetl returned to find his love dead, he took her body to a spot outside Tenochtitlan and kneeled by her grave. The gods covered them with snow and changed them into mountains. Iztaccíhuatl’s mountain is called “White Woman” (from the nahuatl iztac “white” and cihuatl “woman”) because it resembles a woman lying on her back, and is often covered with snow. (The peak is sometimes nicknamed La Mujer Dormida (“The Sleeping Woman”.) Popocatépetl became an active volcano, raining fire on Earth in blind rage at the loss of his beloved.

So of course I had to get those two in a set. 😉  I really goofed up in making their stand-for-two, though.  I put the holes too close together (even though I had measured, but I didn’t account for my tools slipping in my hands), and I went with a fancier base than I really should have, so it takes up extra space.

Aaaaaaanyway, that’s about all I have to say about these three, really.  They’re really cute and I adore them, but there’s not much to say about them, since they can’t be posed or anything.  (I suppose one could, technically, change their clothes, but only if you wanted to cut off the wonderful clothes they came in, and that’s totally not happening.)  The gallery for this post is here.


So, tomorrow is another Blind Box Monday (which I’ve already scheduled, for reasons), and there will probably be another post soon after that, because on Friday I finally got the call I’ve been waiting for since April, that my Princess Elizabeth is ready to come home from the doll hospital.  (Annoyingly, a Princess Elizabeth crown appeared — and got sold — on Rubylane just like the day before I got the message about my doll.  So now I’ll have to find her a crown that isn’t a real Madame Alexander one.  Then again, she won’t be wearing her proper dress, either, so that’s probably not a big thing.)  And I still haven’t tried out the photography backdrops from the Tiny Frock Shop, so maybe I’ll do that at the same time that I take the royal pictures, so maybe there are two non-weekly feature posts on the way.

Leave a Reply

