A worrisome urge…

I need to resist, but the urge to spend is growing.  There’s a doll on Amazon that wants me to buy her.  This is her:

(Photo from Amazon.com)
(Photo from Amazon.com)

For a Blythe, she’s inexpensive.  Actually, she’s about Pullip-priced.  (Well, upper-range Pullip-priced.  About what I paid for Andre when I bought him straight from Groove.)  So she’s twice what a naked factory girl would cost.  But she’s real.  And that gorgeous purple hair!

Have I mentioned that I have a thing for purple hair?

‘Cause I totally do.

Always have.

But she’s still really expensive for a single doll.  Especially factoring in that there’s two new lines of Monster High that just came out, and although they’re cheap individually, I’ll end up getting almost all of the dolls in them, and at about $20 per, that does add up.  (Though I try to wait for sales and coupons and such as much as possible, trying to drive it down more towards $10-15 per…but when there’s about a dozen of them, that still doesn’t help that much.)  And there’s the usual incidental costs of living, which are always higher than I expect.

It’s like “can I please win the lottery so I can support my toy habit?”

Oh, and, of course, there’s the fact that PullipStyle has the MIO kits in stock again, so I kind of want to order one ASAP so I can make that Kagamine Rin Pullip that I wasn’t able to make out of Brand New Purezza, only I’m not about to do that if I’m going to spend a huge amount of money on a Blythe (or even a lesser amount on a factory girl) and…ack.  I definitely have money issues…

Anyway, speaking of Brand New Purezza, I’ve decided on her name.  It’s Rena.

"My name is Rena.  Hajimemashte."
“My name is Rena. Hajimemashte.”

I probably brutally misspelled that….but since she’s a miko, I thought she should introduce herself properly.

Anyway, for the moment, I’m still fighting the urge to buy that Blythe–which the seller calls “Blythe Prima Dolly Villa Tina fluorescens”–but who knows how long I can fight the good fight.  (The biggest problem with living alone is that I have no allies to aid me.  Uh, okay, actually, that’s about number three on the list, really.  But in this context, it’s the biggest problem.)  It doesn’t help that I’m on some new medication right now and a little bit off my head, reducing my willpower to almost nothing.

6 thoughts on “A worrisome urge…

  1. Olive July 3, 2015 / 3:25 am

    That’s prima dolly violetina! I also struggle with wanting all the dolls :(. My family has grown from 0 to 8 this year alone (3 are ever after high girls who i bought on sale and one was a gift, so I rationalize to myself that I only spent a ton of money on four of my girls).

    Like

    • 39yearslame July 3, 2015 / 9:16 pm

      Before I started buying dolls online, my dolly family was mostly just dolls I could get locally: Barbies and Monster High, and a few Pullips and J-Dolls I’d been lucky enough to find at Tuesday Mornings at severely reduced prices. But since taking the gamble of using my debit card online…I’ve added…oh my god…eleven…I think I’m seriously sick in the head. (Then again, I’m turning forty this year, have no love life, and lost both my cats in a six month period. It’s hard not to want something to distract myself from my horrible reality.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Olive July 4, 2015 / 1:12 am

        Oh no… I’m so sorry for your loss of your cats. I think only other cat owners get how much of a presence our feline companions have in our lives… I think dolls, even though they’re an expensive hobby, they’re a creative outlet which can be good for you emotionally. Other than buying dolls, I think it helps to become invested in dolly related activities like outdoor photo shoots, crocheting, or blogging about dolls. I find even the related doll stuff is addicting and distracting.

        Like

      • 39yearslame July 4, 2015 / 8:40 am

        I want to do more outdoor photo shoots, but the weather around here is not cooperating. It’s either raining or hideously hot and sticky. 😦 Midwestern summers are not my friends, apparently. (Actually, I already knew that, but I’ve developed medical issues lately that have given me more trouble dealing with them, unfortunately.)

        I really need to learn how to crochet. That would help me make new clothes for my dolls, since I don’t really know how to sew, apart from very clumsy hand-sewing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Olive July 4, 2015 / 8:44 am

        You should definitely take up crocheting!! I like it better than knitting because I think it’s more forgiving. I’m also not good at seeing (too many small stitches and needle eyes). I taught myself to crochet using YouTube videos. And there are a lot of free crochet patterns on ravelry (including some for Blythe!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • 39yearslame July 4, 2015 / 8:58 am

        I should look into those videos sometime. Thanks. 🙂

        Like

Comments are closed.